Greetings from Kiwirrkurra

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 21:31
ThreadID: 59625 Views:2534 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
Gee there's nothing like having a shower and watching the shower turn a shade of dark red.......

Been in the bush for a while now (since 28th I think) with dad.

Up the Great Central, Hunt Oil, Gunbarrel, Gary Highway.

Turned off and headed bush at Patience Well area. Stayed there a few days. Headed up that shotline NNE from the Oil Well, came out this morning on the Gary Junction Road.

200 kilometres of bush bashing so far - only one shredding, and two punctures.

Gee I love the bush - I was listening to Figaro. Figaro la la la la lalalalalalalal.

I tell you what theres heaps of camels near Mt Worsnop - over 150 of them. No Aliens - I reckon there's another waterhole there somewhere judging by the animal tracks coming out of the plateau. Found Mick O's camp near the spring.

Tomorrow I'm either heading north then west or west then north east then west.

Some pictures

No probs with the cruiser yet - I'm hoping (really really hoping) that it holds together for another couple of weeks.

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:01

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:01
Hey Alan, it sounds great and the enthusiasm comes through loud and clear. It's great country out there! Good wishes for the rest of your journey.

Viv
AnswerID: 314628

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:44

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:44
Thanks for the good wishes Viv. Will do a full report when I get back

FollowupID: 580673

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 22:10
G'day Alan, my favourite neck of the woods. How's the dog population there ?
AnswerID: 314631

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:47
Hi Footy,

One of them sneaked into the cab and ate the rest of my peanuts

FollowupID: 580674

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 13:22

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 13:22
LOL. I'm just glad I'm not a vet...I would have to put most of them down :((
Exciting news from the Patience area eh? Is it the obvious I wonder ? Do be sure to let us know eventually, you lucky buggar :))
I don't say this very often, but I'm jealous of your trip in that area. Stay safe.
FollowupID: 580697

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:40

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 07:40
Hi Alan
Enjoy your trip look forward to bearing more when you get back. Shredded tyre - you've got to expect that out there.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 314644

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:53

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:53
Hi Phil,

I have some very very exciting information from the Patience Area (if you know what I mean) - I'm not quite sure what to do with the info.

I will sort it out when I get back to Perth.

FollowupID: 580676

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:09

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:09
Hi Alan
Glad you are having ball out there. Sounds as though you have achieved some of the goals of your trip - well done.
Look forward to catching up when you get back - when it that??

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 580678

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:18

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 09:18
I have to start work again on the 28 th so a few days before that

FollowupID: 580681

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:07

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:07
Hi Alan
Sounds Like you are having a ball. We have just returned from tracks to the east of where you are. I agree with your reports on camels. We have seen more camels in this one trip that 8 Simpson Trips. Did you get to log any confluences? We were able to do 7, 1 not logged before and 1 we found out when we got back had been logged only one month before our visit on the Abandoned Section of the Old Gunbarrel.
Looking forward to see you full details when you get back home.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 314646

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:58

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 08:58
Hi Stephen,

I'm loving it out here.

I visited 23 126 but haven't logged it yet. There was a rusty picket with no markings 150 metres from the confluence.

FollowupID: 580677