Fishing

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:30
ThreadID: 59648 Views:4295 Replies:13 FollowUps:14
hI,When fishing does one allow the gelignite to sink to the bottom before detonation???Cheers Snake

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:35
Won't the fuse go out????????????

;-))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 314728

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:36

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:36
Have another drink young fella

Kim
AnswerID: 314729

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:41
WTF????????????
AnswerID: 314731

Reply By: landed eagle - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:50

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:50
try this approach!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C2c2e7JdWk
AnswerID: 314734

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:51

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:51
I think Snake is doing some fishing of his own. No bites from me though.
Cheers pete
AnswerID: 314735

Follow Up By: Member - SNAKE QLD - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:44

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:44
You are the only one to pick it so far. Cheers mate. Snake
FollowupID: 580807

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:51

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:51
You bored to mate.lol. You nearly got me going you buggar
FollowupID: 580812

Reply By: landed eagle - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:51

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 21:51
oops try again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C2c2e7JdWk
AnswerID: 314736

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:20

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:20
Snake,

If you still have Gelignite, I would strongly suggest that you contact your nearest Dept. of Mines inspector, who will come and collect it and dispose of it no questions asked.

Any Gelignite is now well over 10 years old, and considering that it only had a shelf life of 2 years, is now very deteriorated and could be unstable.

Apart from that, when dealing with explosives,
DISTANCE IS YOUR FRIEND!!!!

AnswerID: 314743

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:48

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:48
LOL stu and Bob, I think Snake is bored because the forum is soooo quite, and is looking for a few nibbles.
FollowupID: 580810

Follow Up By: Member - SNAKE QLD - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:01

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:01
Stu&Bob, As Madfisher suggests things are a little s.....l...o......w.
I thank you for your caring reply,my only fishing is done with a rod apart from the odd troll here.Cheers and thanks. Snake & Josie.
FollowupID: 580816

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:05

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:05
Pete,

He shouldn't joke about that sort of thing, especially about old deteriorated explosives.

I have been called out to destroy some gelignite that some idiot had left on their workbench for 30+ years, I have never been more worried about accidental detonation, and I have been involved with explosives for 25 years.

Your friendly ex-Inspector of Explosives.
FollowupID: 580818

Follow Up By: Member - SNAKE QLD - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:44

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:44
Stu & Bob, You completely missed it didnt you. Cheers Snake
FollowupID: 580823

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:54

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 23:54
G'day Snake,

Yep, I got it mate, it's just that if you had seen the way that some people treat explosives, you would be horrified.

I normally have a great sense of humour, but when it comes to
explosives, I don't.

No offense intended

FollowupID: 580825

Follow Up By: Member - SNAKE QLD - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:01

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:01
Stu & Bob, None taken mate.By the wayIhave a shot firers cert.so Ive fractured the odd rock. Cheers Snake.
FollowupID: 580826

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:20

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:20
Just out of interest, what type of explosives are currently being used on mine sites these days ?

Lionel.
FollowupID: 580907

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:51

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:51
G'day Lionel,
Depends a lot on the mine's geology, and whether the holes are dry or wet.

Dry holes mainly using ANFO or ANFO blends, around 2 tonnes per hole in the Bowen Basin coal mines.

Wet holes mainly using a heavy ANFO or gassed bulk emulsion or watergel.

All products are either pumped or augered into the blastholes. One truck that I know of augers ANFO into blastholes at 25Kg/sec.

A mine that I was blasting on in the Pilbara region had big problems with dynamic water, had to pump at 1600 litres/sec just to keep up with the inflow. We used a bulk watergel explosive, which was crosslinked to turn it from a liquid to a semi-solid. This helped to keep it in the hole until we could fill it with gravel.

AN60 gelignite went out of production around 15 years ago.

All packaged explosives are either glass microballon sensitised emulsions or watergels. There is no nitroglycerine in modern blasting explosives.

HTH
FollowupID: 580932

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:03

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:03
Thanks Stu.........I Think.

ANFO ????????????
Gassed bulk emulsion ?????????????
Watergel ??????????

I take it that those little wooden casks of gun powder are history as well.....lol.

Cheers mate,

Lionel.
FollowupID: 580937

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:17

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:17
Sorry Lionel,

should have said that all modern blasting explosives are ammonium nitrate based.

Other products are then added to achieve the required finished product.

Sorry, but I'm not going to elaborate any further on components of various blends etc, sufficent to say that they make the "little wooden cask of gunpowder" look like a sparkler.

HTH
FollowupID: 580942

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:53

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:53
BITE........

Hold stick light then retain in hand until loud noise.

Watch for headache. he he he he.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 314753

Reply By: jomah - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:49

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:49
Yes Snake,thats correct. Put it in a big powdered milk can(Without the powdered milk); add a rock ; light fuse; clamp on lid; toss can in among fish (hopefully) and then duck. Have campfire going and scoop net ready. Works every time.
regards & good fishing
AnswerID: 314764

Follow Up By: Member - SNAKE QLD - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:56

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 00:56
Jomah, Id probably be better just eating the duck and give the fishing a miss .Cheers Snake
FollowupID: 580830

Reply By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 11:02

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 11:02
be careful with the dog around ------- a good any day funny read -----henry lawson's ---- the dynamite dog----if you can read that without laughing your dead
AnswerID: 314801

Follow Up By: austastar - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 14:39

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 14:39
8<--------------------------------------------------------

A guy buys a new Lincoln Navigator for $42,500.00 (with monthly payments of $560.00).

He and a friend go duck hunting in upper Wisconsin. It's mid-winter; and of course all of the lakes are frozen. These two guys go out on the ice with their GUNS, a DOG, and of course the new NAVIGATOR.
They decide they want to make a natural looking open water area for the ducks to focus on, something for the decoys to float on.
Now making a hole in the ice large enough to invite a passing duck, is going to take a little more power than the average drill auger can produce.
So, out of the back of the new Navigator comes a stick of dynamite with a short 40 second-fuse. Now our two Rocket Scientists, afraid they might slip on the ice while trying to run away after lighting the fuse (and becoming toast, along with the Navigator), decide on the following course of action: they light the 40 second fuse; then, with a mighty thrust, they throw the stick of dynamite as far away as possible.
Remember a couple of paragraphs back when I mentioned the NAVIGATOR, the GUNS, and the DOG....???
Let's talk about the dog: A highly trained Black Lab used for RETRIEVING; especially things thrown by the owner. You guessed it: the dog takes off across the ice at a high rate of speed and grabs the stick of dynamite, with the burning 40-second fuse, just as it hits the ice.
The two men swallow, blink, start waving their arms and, with veins in their necks swelling to resemble stalks of rhubarb, scream and holler at the dog to stop. The dog, now apparently cheered on by his master, keeps coming.
One hunter panics, grabs the shotgun and shoots the dog. The shotgun is loaded with #8 bird shot, hardly big enough to stop a Black Lab.The dog stops for a moment, slightly confused, then continues on. Another shot, and this time the dog, still standing, becomes really confused and of course
terrified, thinks these two geniuses have gone insane. The dog takes off to find cover, UNDER the brand new Navigator.
The men continue to scream as they run. The red hot exhaust pipe on the truck touches the dog's rear end, he yelps, drops the dynamite under the truck and takes off after his master.

Then " "" "" "" "" " BOOOOOOOOOOOOM "" "" "" "" "" ! ! ! !

The truck is blown to bits and sinks to the bottom of the lake, leaving the two idiots standing there with "I can't believe this just happened" looks on their faces.
The insurance company says that sinking a vehicle in a lake by illegal use of explosives is NOT COVERED by the policy. And he still had yet to make the first of those $560.00 a month payments. The dog is okay. . .doing fine.

8<------------------------------------------
FollowupID: 580868

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:59

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:59
Wanker!
AnswerID: 314872

Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:48

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:48
In 1981/2 when I worked in Manus Island Papua New Guinea I got to see all kinds of trauma.

One day they brought a guy in who had been using 'expanding bait'. This consisted of propellant from old WW2 ordnance packed into an aluminium soft drink can with a fuse. The idea was to light the fuse and drop the can over the side of the canoe, let the device sink before it explodes, then gather the fish (having also destroyed the reef).

This guy had problems with the fuse so had to blow it to make sure it was alight - VOOMPA!!!

So when he arrived at the hospital he was fully conscious but missing his R hand completely, the gas had got into his mouth and split his face open from the bridge of his nose to under his chin. He was lying on his back and the two sides of his face were laying back over his ears. His teeth were bent backwards into his mouth. The lid of the can had been driven into the L maxillary sinus below his eye. One of his eyes had deflated due to loss of the jelly.

All in all it wasn't looking good.

My first instinct was to give him enough morphine for a comfortable departure. However, when I removed the can and pulled the pieces of his face back together he started to look a bit less horrific. His teeth straightened up, I left the eye there as I had no previous eye surgery experience (what am I saying? - I had no previous experience of anything), tidied up the wrist stump and filled him with antibiotics.

He survived, and actually regained some vision in the eye that I considered removing.

So Snake, I hope you have a better days fishing than my mate in PNG.
AnswerID: 314958

Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:30

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:30
In Bolivia they tie it in a plastic bag.

AnswerID: 314965