Savannah Way NT - Roper Bar to Booroola?

Submitted: Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 17:16
ThreadID: 59679 Views:5407 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
Can you get a standard caravan from Roper River to Booroola with out too much trouble, just taking it easy? Travelling this August.
We are travelling with an off road CT, but friend has a prado and a standard 15' van with standard hitch.

Wondering if it is worth considering?

We will be continuing on to Burketown, but friend most probably will detour on to the Barkley highway from Booroola, since I hear that section of the Savannah Way south of Booroola is a bit rougher.

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 17:47

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 17:47
John, I'm at King Ash Bay (near Borroloola) at the moment. Have not been up to Roper Bar this year, but a number of travellers through here have.

Plenty of 'higher end' standard vans are comming through (Roadstar, Evernew, Traveller, etc) without any trouble.

One bloke though did lose both wheels from his boat trailer on the road (but it was a pretty light weight trailer).

I suspect it will be just a matter of driving to the conditions. If he has small van wheels, it would be worth getting direct info from someone who knows the current conditions. i believe theBorroloola Police get up there a bit (and Roper Bar down to Borroloola). If all else fails, a call to them should get the info you are after.

Have a good trip.

Norm C
AnswerID: 314837

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:14

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:14
In my experience, when asked for advice on road conditions, the police tend to err on the side of caution - which is fair enough - although having been down that road a few times my approach is to take a look at it and make one's own decision.

FollowupID: 580906

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:15

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:15
G'day Norm,

See you are still there - having trouble catching that meter barra or not liking the cool weather in SE QLD?

All the best with your fishing.

Theo
FollowupID: 581372

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 13:40

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 13:40
Hi Theo,
Just having a good time. But we are heading home in about 2 weeks.
Haven't got a metre plus yet, but got one at 95cm off the bank in front of our camp at about 8.00PM a couple of weeks back.

That was fun.

Norm C
FollowupID: 581542

Reply By: David Jje - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:48

Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 19:48
Gday Oldplodder,

I just come of that road yesterday with a 23 foot roadstar and a mate had a 20 foot windsor rapid. some of the crossings were approached by him on a 45degree angle and did not bottom out once. we even got them up to lorella springs. Drive as slow as you have the patience for and you will be fine. We varied our speeds between 10kmh and 70kmh. Any faster and you Will do damage. Enjoy it, better than the alternative route.

cheers David
AnswerID: 314856

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 08:07

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 08:07
Thanks Dave & Norm,

Reports I am hearing say the same thing. Not too bad with caution.

Sounds like it is worth checking when we get there and ask the locals.

Reckon together we might do it, if I run ahead and scout for the bad spots and we take it steady.
AnswerID: 315202