Grubby Workshops!.
Submitted: Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:11
Member - Axle
Have always been one to support the" local bloke", as far as businesses go but some of our local mechanics workshops are a absolute disgrace! as far as appearances go( eg oil saturated items including floor,In other words Chit every where} Things are tough at the present time, but FIRST impressions are something that always count, i reckon!.
Reply By: GREENDOG ! - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:56
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:56
If the work place looks clean and respected at least there is a chance they might look after your car the same way,just speaking from experiance,can't fault my machanic .cheer's GREENDOG
Reply By: Member - Mal B - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:57
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 20:57
with you all the way if the workshop is neat and tidy every chance his work will be the same safe driveing mal b
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:11
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:11
Mmmmm.... Maybe?
Some mechanics spend your money working on your car,not cleaning their workshop????
I personaly prefer a clean workshop but at the end of the day... the job done on your car is the thing that counts for me.
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:19
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:19
I agree with Hairy...sometimes one doesnt get the chance to clean up...depending on how busy one is i suppose
Cheers.....Borgy
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:31
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:31
Its a catch 22 i know!, Just a bit P@@ED off after the missus suby came back with blobs of grease on the engine pipes, hand marks on the bonnet (grease) after a cv joint change, The receipt for payment was a tad on the black side as
well! Maybe i'm not used to that colour, i dunno!....:)))
Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:06
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:06
Borgy, this is especially true if you work by yourself. You don't make money while cleaning up. Mind you, I keep telling the guys at work to keep the place clean as they go. Customer has to foot some of that bill. After all, the mess comes from his job. But shyte lying around is a different story.
Axel's experience tells a bit about the repairer, me thinks.
Reply By: RustyHelen - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:40
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:40
My view.
Would we pay $100 or so for a meal in a dirty restaurant/cafe/roadhouse, would we pay $30 for a night in a dodgy caravan
park, would we pay $300++ in a dirty mechanics
shop to look after our $50k++ vehicle???
No jolly way.
If they cannot look after their own work space they will not look after my vehicle.
Rusty
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:00
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:00
Rusty, my thoughts exactly. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:07
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:07
A tidy worshop shows an organised mind,, and vice versa.My mechanics are middle of the road in this regard, but their are no apprentices , and they know Jacks better than most. I have never had any nasty surprises when I got the bill either.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:24
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:24
Would we pay $100 or so for a meal in a dirty restaurant/cafe/roadhouse?
Have more than once and the food was bloody great...didnt plan on eating off the floor.
would we pay $30 for a night in a dodgy caravan
park, Mmmmm...Yep. Id go back there again too, they were down to earth and very helpful mob too.
"If they cannot look after their own work space they will not look after my vehicle."
Judgeing a book by its cover a bit arent we?
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:12
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:12
Hi Hairy, "Judgeing a book by its cover a bit arent we?" Possibly I am/do, but if you come to my house and I had the kitchen sink full of crap, scraps left on the table, cat sitting up on the breakfast bench would you want me to make you a bit of toast ???? My house is spottless and when people walk in I would hope that if I offered them a bit of toast and they rejected it would be because they weren't hungry (I would hope thats the reason). Im the same with a resturant, if theres crap everywhere and I see cock roaches running up the walls Im outa there I dont car how good the meal looks. If it was $30 or $100 I wouldnt care. Would I stay in a place that was $30, yep and I have as long as its clean and tidy and its want I needed. (country folk are excellent hosts in my opinion)I would rather eat at the RSL club or the pub for $20/$30 then pay $100 for some lardy dar place and get a bit of meat the size of a 20c piece in the middle of my plate. Do I judge a workshop the same ?? Yes I do to a certain extent. I expect grease on there hands, But what I would expect is for that same bloke to be washing them prior to jumping in my car and grabbing hold of my steering wheel or putting his hand up around the passengers head rest while hes turning to look behind him. Fussy ?? Yep. But I dont do it to
mine, Im not paying some one to do it for me. Just my opinion and hope no one is offended by it. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:02
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:02
People do judge a book by its cover rightly or wrongly. Thats why car yards do to great lenghts on a cars appearance and ignore the mechanicals.
Recently I was asked by the family to find a cheap car for a cousin who had gone bankrupt(in the trucking game) Made a list of cars to look at. First one held out the most promise, good model, one owner etc. Got their and it was putrid inside and out. Did not even take it for a drive because what chance would their be that it had been maintained.
The other side of the coin their is a workshop in town that is spotless, but expect big bills. I left their when I got a quote by my currant mechanics that was one third.
I guess at the end of the day you should go where you feel comfortable and relate to the owners.
Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:59
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 21:59
The place I have booked the prado in for to get the valve clearances done I couldn't believe,was getting done Tuesday gone and had dropped it off there Monday arvo but had to go and pick up Tuesday morning due to my wife's car off the road (refer to post "check your nuts") Recommended by my mate who use to work for Toyota. Usually only three people touch any of my cars. My mate, A workshop at 7 hills (Jason) and myself, but my mate doesn't have time to do the prado and led me to this bloke as my mate knows how fussy I am and he's close to home. The workshop which is quit big had about 8 hoists plus about the same on the other side of workshop without hoists. There were bits of carpet the average length of a car in every bay. There was yellow tape on the floor where all the trolley jacks should be. The vinyl mat thingys they use on your guards were hanging in the empty bays the ones with cars in them had them on either guard, no radios blaring, air hoses dropping down from the roof on each bay retractable ones. I also saw allot of those plastic gloves on the benches bit like the ones doctors use.There were also rolls of plastic
seat covers in front of roughly every second bay.I had never met the bloke before but my mate had spoke to him about me coming in. He said to me " I only like to use genuine parts. He said he would ring me and tell me when he had checked the clearances and if it required any shims and how much they would be. He also said that any thing his apprentices do is checked over by himself before during and after working on the vehicle. I will find out I suppose I will find out the outcome when I rebook it. Also he was the cheapest rough quote I had. Bit hard to get a firm price depending on if and how many shims he needs. He straight away told me he will replace the rocker cover gaskets. I know another place that I use to work with the bloke at Toyota and is a brilliant mechanic but I don't like his workshop. Filthy, cars on hoists above the car under neath !!! mmm brake fluid,battery acid comes to mind on the roof of the vehicle underneath. To me a workshop is bit like a restaurant. If its clean Ill eat there, if its not Ill walk. I have the same opinion of workshops, clean workshop hopefully clean car minus the grease etc on your trim. regards steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:14
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:14
Stephen, This is my third effort to reply,( Bloody site) has big probs!!, You are a man of many words!..LOL..LOL.
But you did hit the nail on the head.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:47
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:47
LOL exactly what my wife said the other night reading some of my posts. She said bloody hell every body else puts in 3 or 4 liners yours are bloody A4 page reply's. I said to her I like to explain myself, she said yes but they don't need a bloody life long story LOL. I just type away and don't realize how long some actually are LOL. Will have to heed her advice. God I hate it when shes write. Regards Steve M
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:48
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:48
not quite the same but,
Guy I get my tyres from, his place is a dump no eftpos or card facilitys BUT he is ultra helpful, treats your car as his own and because his overheads are low so is his prices.
I got my maxxis big horns $360 cheaper than anyone else. I guess you play it by ear, this guy came has excellent word of mouth advertising. If I didn't know him I would have driven straight past as the place does look like bleep !!!!
Stefan
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:01
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:01
Stefan!!! You can't judge a book by its cover!!!.
NOW !! i'm a hipocrit., Thanks.
Reply By: DIO - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:00
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:00
A clean, organised workshop always indicates to me that the worker(s) have pride in themselves, their work environment and therefore the vehicle(s) they might be working on.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:10
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:10
O God, for once I am in agreement with you DIO
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 12:56
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 12:56
HOLY $HIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Even though it goes against every thing Ive said......Im going to agree just because its about the smartest thing youve ever said!!!!
Reply By: puttputt - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 00:53
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 00:53
After suffering blown head gasket in
Perth, thought I would get complete motor done due to high k's, phoned around and got a great qoute, when I dropped ute off, I noticed workshop was grubby, but in the rush did'nt register until later, turned out to be my worst nightmare, price doubled after motor was stripped down, got it back $4000 later and it was worse than before, still got oily radiator.
If the workshop is'nt immaculate, run for your life!!!!!!!
Reply By: Member - V8Diesel (WA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:49
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:49
Have a look at TLC (Toyota Landcruiser) in O'Connor WA. (No affiliation BTW)
I think they must rent their workshop out as an operating theatre on the weekends. It is that immaculate.
Their workmanship and even their paprwork is just as thorough and professional as
well.
A conicidence?.......I think not.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:50
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:50
You can eat your dinner off of the floor in some workshops - old sandwich over there, bannana skin by the door, part of a pie and wrapper under
the bench etc. :-))