Tim - Stratford (VIC)
G'day all,
Just got back from a day in the snow with the family. We headed up through
Licola, stopping for the mandatory sausage roll, then up Tamboritha Road.
Heaps of roadworks being done to fix all the road problems caused by the floods last year.
The first
sign of snow was just below
Bennison Lookout at 1000m. As we kept gaining altitude there was heaps of snow around for the kids to tabboggan themselves silly.
I would say Mt Skene would have a great covering given its altitude.
Attached is pic from Kellys Lane where we stopped for lunch at the
gate.
Tim.
Reply By: DIO - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:56
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 22:56
Yeah - but where's your chains?
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 03:48
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 03:48
Dio,
I suppose with your little front wheel drive buzz box, you put them on the rear
wheels because that's what it says in the brochure.
Did you buy them at 'Drop'kicks'r'us?
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:38
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:38
For years I drove all over Europe in various family cars often in snow and ice conditions far worse than we get in Oz. I never owned a set of chains and didn't know anyone who did.
A good, simple, tip for snow driving: use a gear one higher than you need.
Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:49
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:49
Chains weren't required - fresh dry snow with no ice. But they're always in the back over winter.
Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:38
Friday, Jul 11, 2008 at 23:38
Ignore above, Tim.
Looks like nice driving conditions in the fresh stuff.
Getting itchy 'feet' to get up there again for a ski.......
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:41
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 07:41
I was just imagining
clearing the snow from that table, setting up the kitchen and laying out my swag alongside.... :)
Maybe I should take a couple of days off...?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:13
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:13
A friend of
mine was camped in that spot until last Wednesday, it was snowing while he was there.
Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 08:30
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 08:30
Looks great Tim,
We went to Armidale Tuesday and it slightly Snowed Wednesday after lunch. Nothing like whats in your picture. None the less the kids had a ball, they've never been in it before or been that cold. The wife commented on how beautiful it looks, but 'Gee It's cold' she said. Or words to that effect ;-)
Funny how the kids don't feel the cold.
Top picture.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 08:52
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 08:52
HAIRS, DID THAT OLD JIGGA OF YOURS MAKE IT UP THE RANGE DID IT, :-)))))))))))
Follow Up By: Hairs (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:05
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:05
Not only did it make it up.
It also got us home too. :-O
Ya gotta be happy about that. :))
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:15
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:15
was that you out my way earlier?
Follow Up By: Hairs (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 21:11
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 21:11
Yeah it was Mate.
Sorry couldn't drop in.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:06
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:06
Hi Tim,
I came over the top (
Omeo Hwy) on the way back from Dart on Thursday too. Drove over in snow on Tuesday. Beautiful day fishing Wednesday and drove back in the snow on Thurs.
Got nearly down to Sunnyside and found a 4wd stopped at a tree across the road. They weren't sure if they'd get back up Mt Wills on their HT tyres - they probably wouldn't have either. They were very happy when I pulled out the chainsaw. Should have seen the smile on his wife's face.
They even bought me lunch in
Omeo to say thanks. There are still some nice people left in the world.
Looks even deeper where you are.
Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 16:52
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 16:52
Dave,
Good photo! Nice to know you had the saw in the back - we always carry ours in the High Country.
Also good to hear you got a 'free lunch' for helping - excellent.
If it happens again - try and con them to buy the Mars Bar slice at
Swifts Creek bakery - MAGNIFICENT!!!
All the best,
Tim
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:48
Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:48
Thanks Tim,
Omeo Hwy might as
well be a 4wd track for the number of trees that fall across it.
The grader driver had already cleared one near 73 before I went through too. So that would be 2 in 48 hrs. I wouldn't travel over to Mitta without the saw.
I'll have to keep the MB slice in mind. I go through Swifts a bit.
Go through Stratty a bit too...