4WD Magazine

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 00:03
ThreadID: 59692 Views:3522 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Is this mag a waste of time or not?

I have looked at the bush winch a number of times - it is light and would probably suite me but is to expensive

$800 for basic kit + $400 for a guide so you can spool on to the wheel at an angle. This guide should be included in the basic package in my opinion - if so may consider purchasing.

Any way I am getting off the point.

I see on the front cover of this mag that the bush winch is tested, being interested I bought the mag as could not read the article as it was in a plastic bag - no why now.

What a crappy article. There is bugger all info in there and it is just a glorified ad.

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 01:34

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 01:34
"There is bugger all info in there and it is just a glorified ad"

Yeah well I think you got it in one, the whole magazine is a paid advertisement.

AnswerID: 314909

Reply By: Kroozer - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 01:38

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 01:38
What magazine are you talking about?
AnswerID: 314910

Reply By: richard - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:22

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:22
Title says Australian 4WD Action
AnswerID: 314924

Follow Up By: cityslicker - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:32

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 09:32
Not anywhere I can see?
FollowupID: 580983

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:12

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:12
Seems the way all media is going these days.

Picked up a copy of the West Australian yesterday and had to fight my way trough endless full page ads just to find little bits of news dotted here and there.

And TV !!!!!! After a hard days yakka its nice to kick back and relax in front of the box, but I do find it annoying when they disrupt the ads with little snippets of movie.......hehehe.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 314930

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:34

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:34
You only just discovered about the West? LOL!!
Basically, it went downhill when Paul Armstrong took the helm, and it closely resembles a London tabloid now (that's where he came from).
Stopped getting it about 4 yrs ago and rely on the Australian and the internet for news.
Only thing I miss are the local death notices, as I'm now entering that demographic! (come to think of it, who wants to see their own death notice?)
Geez, I hope David doesn't pull this!
Gerry
FollowupID: 581008

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:17

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:17

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/

will get you there

AnswerID: 314931

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:35

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:35
Yes I must agree. All commercial media must consider their advertisers first and then their readers and viewers. I have stopped buying newspapers here in W.A because of the cost, the adverts and the invirement.
As far as TV is concerned I try to watch the ABC or SBS although SBS do have advertising they are not nearly as bad as the other stations.
When I do watch commercial television I have my hand permanently on the mute button. It is a proven fact that TV advertising is the least effective form of advertising you can have because people's brains turn off when the adds are on.
I also wonder at times if the companies that are paying for the adds realise what crap they are paying for.
Too many commercial TV stations and too many American programs.
THAT'S MY SAY FOR THE DAY
AnswerID: 314932

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:51

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:51
Hi Richard, i have been a subscriber to this mag for the last four years. the kids usually give me a subscription for fathers day each year. this year i will not be renewing it, its become a load of crap, just ad after ad. i look back at some of the early mags some times and wonder why it all has gone pear shaped, the advertising dollar i suppose. this is the main reason for becoming a member of this forum, you get a laugh, you get information and sometimes you get someone with SOL.
cheers Shane.
AnswerID: 314948

Reply By: Kroozer - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:31

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:31
Have to disagree with ya's there, i reckon its the best 4wd mag out there. Doesnt focus on the rich (with there flash brand new 4wds with all the accesories that dont even get used or know how to use) but more at the middle folk. Plenty of good tips and excellent subscription offers, good website with plenty of info and a decent forum. Plus the DVDs that come with them are the best you can ask for and would take a lot of money to make. Best magazine that is made in Australia if ya ask me. Really is down to earth and there comparisons on anything are unbiased and as close to the truth as you can get.
AnswerID: 314966

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:03

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:03
Kroozer,
Agree with you 100%, some good tips and some good offers. Not all of the content I agree with won't, overall I am happy with the mag, except I just received my Straun deflators 6mths after the offer and I could have killed for them 3 days eariler. BUGGER
FollowupID: 581049

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:45

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:45
Yeh i am also a subscriber to that mag and i have enjoyed the trip stories and some of the tips over the years.
I think it has dropped a bit in quality since pat callinan left the editor's job. The articles seem rushed and a bit shallow in information. They seem to gloss over the topic a bit and I always feel a part has been left out. They seem to focus on how big the mag is in page numbers but the fact is that there are many ads that fill those pages.
I know the reality is that ads pay the lion's share of the cost of the mag and it wouldn't be so annoying for me if i felt the articles were giving me total value for money.
I have about 18 issues left and i will have to think seriously about renewing or not.
That was also a part of subscribing that annoyed me, when you have renewed and received your prize they would be on the phone or in the mail asking you to purchase more subcriptions I had to tell one guy over the phone that i was already 30 mags ahead, call again when i am down to 5 mags. At least the calls stopped but the mail still comes.

I was a subscriber with another mag prior to 4WD Action until they gave the first BMW x5 the 4WDOTY without the same testing that they exposed the nissan and cruiser to. Seemed to co-incide with a heavy BMW ad campaign in that mag for the previous 2 months.
FollowupID: 581102

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:26

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:26
The subject of the worth (or otherwise) of this particular mag, has come up on this forum a few times over the years.

I subscribe too and usually renew my subscription when I get an offer that is just too good to be true.

Last couple of renewals have been for 12 mags (I think) for $99- and I've got a "free" gift of a very good quality LED head-light/torch thingo...(I now have 2 of these in case I ever decide to move to Tasmania!!!! hahahaha). These particular head-lights retail for $90 odd so I've virtually got the mag for nothing and, yes, I did "need" the head-lights...hahaha

Anyway, I've had my rig featured in the past (December 2004 issue and on the cover etc) as well as having just done a photo shoot recently with them on my current rig; so hopefully they will publish it one of these days....

Like all things, there is stuff in this mag that I don't read or bother with etc.

However, living in a small country town with no 4x4 shop, actually enjoy reading the ad's so I can see what "must have" new gear has been placed on the market, about which I would have no other way of finding out about.

FollowupID: 581108

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:40

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:40
Yeh well i could use some stauns i guess, that's what gets me in too. the last one was the tyre repair kit....so i guess the value is there from that perspective.....
thanks Roachie i feel better now
FollowupID: 581113

Reply By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:50

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:50
I subscribe to that mag , and overall its worth the dollars to keep in touch.

Richard at that price I believe you would be better off with a $499 adli winch like some of my friends use.

Not the best product but value for money.
AnswerID: 314967

Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:15

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:15
I agree,
I think it would be a good product and would buy one if the overall price was $4-600 including the bracket that helps spool the rope as it would suit me.

They want effectively $1200 fro the above and yes I would by an aldi or other before doing that.

I had been interested in them and when saw they were tested by the magazine I bought the mag to see what they said. I was just very disappointed with the very brief article.

There was no info on what testing they did - just "it works"

Rich
FollowupID: 581044

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:26

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:26
Hi Richard,

I was in the Aldi store in Maitland last week and they are selling
9000 lb 4WD winches for around $450 to $500. they appeared to me to be complete with the Fairlead and cable and hook. Cant recall if they had a wireless remote or not. I picked it up and it sure felt like a bit of quality.

Now I am not an expert in these matters but you might like to check them out for yourself. They were listed in their catalogue so it may be a country wide sale item.

Gazal
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 315000

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:31

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:31
Sorry guys I didn't read all the posts before adding my 2 bobs worth

I only open my mouth to change feet.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 581075

Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:52

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:52
Gazal,
No worries mate - your comments are appreciated.

I like the idea of the Bush Winch but not at the price they ask.

I ended up buying a hand winch any way which gives me the peace of mind for the few times I am in a situation where I would need a winch. Just have to work out how to use it as it did not have any instructions (Magnum from ARB).

FollowupID: 581080

Reply By: Skinnydog - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 16:23

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 16:23
I read the article about the Bush winch at work and agree that it was a fairly shallow infomercial. they don't even mention the fact that the winch is only good for moving the vehicle, not shfting fallen logs or other vehicles. It is a good bit of kit, however it is over priced and has limited uses. Just my opinion though.
AnswerID: 315113

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:39

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:39
Skinnydog,
I came across the product a couple of years ago and thought it would be a good option until I saw the price.

It would be adequate for many people.

One initial draw back people highlighted was that the car had to be in line with the rope else it would not spool on to the hub correctly.

To their credit the company came up with a option to overcome this problem by adding another bracket on the wheel in front. The thing is they want $400 for this bracket. Something I believe should be in the basic kit as I reckon (and I am no expert by any means) that it is an essential item for the kit to be useful.

So to buy the whole kit it is at least $1200 WAY to much. I am not sure how many have bought one - I have asked about this a few times on this forum and have not heard from any one who has. If they priced it accordingly they would get a few more purchases I believe as it would be light and easier to carry than other winches and would satisfy many peoples requirements.

They have a fairly good web site and have some good demos of it being used.

It would be good if a magazine did a proper test of it and documented the results - this may hlep sales or perhaps may harm them depending on the results.

What got up my goat with this magazine is it stated it had tested it on the cover page and as the mag was in a bag I had to buy it to read it - no problems if it was a decent test.

Sorry about the rant,

FollowupID: 581265