Strange Behaviour whilst camping

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:20
ThreadID: 59697 Views:5833 Replies:15 FollowUps:28
Greetings all - have just returned from a week away camping and have to vent my frustration at the clown without and camping etiquette.

I know a lot of you don't believe in using generators at all , I use one but ONLY during daylight hours - AND FOR maybe only 1 hour tops . I know understand why.

Well this clown had his generator running almost all NIGHT - or as soon as the sun went down. He built a HUGE fire that produced lots of light - but it was not enough - he then set up large spot lights to completely en golf his camp site in light -- I am sure he probably could have got a tan under the lights - his gen was a little one so was screaming its head of trying to power these massive lights. could hardly see the lovely glow of the fire, the light was so strong -

So why go camping in a very quiet spot away from town when all your going to do is to have a generator screaming all night - massive spotlights that you can see from space and music blaring .... we can get this at any night club ......

Boc

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:39

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:39
It's an Ozzie thing.

Probably also had three fridges :-))

AnswerID: 314935

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:49

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:49
Kiwi,
I've got Two fridges & 4 batteries, I only have to run the genny for a couple of hours during daylight every third or fourth day.
Even then I still wait until everyone else has gone out for the day!

There is just no excuse for ignorance!
FollowupID: 580992

Follow Up By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:12

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:12
The campers I love are the ones with the screaming ferals who let them loose at 5am to ride their bikes around the campground.

I can handle a generator. If it annoys me too much a cup of water in the fuel tank normally shuts it up after a while. Not too many punters will strip down the carby and drain a fuel tank in the dark. Untraceable and generally not devastating to the genny.

Can't do much with a feral though.

Craig
FollowupID: 580995

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 21:16

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 21:16
Craig, surely a pleasant request would get better results.

FollowupID: 581131

Follow Up By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:42

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:42
Occasionally, but once the offending party is full of fighting juice discretion is the better part of valour.

Craig
FollowupID: 581180

Follow Up By: MP - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:31

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 10:31
Craig, I take it that the ferals you refer to are children?
FollowupID: 581203

Follow Up By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:17

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:17
Correct.
In the days that I took my kids camping the rule was that there was no leaving the tent to run amuck until after 7.30. Now it seems to be that you pack the kids off to bed early so the parents can get on the silly sauce and drink themselves unconscious whilst their kids having had a good nights sleep are raring to go at 5am. Parents don't notice because they only went to bed 2 hours before and are still out of it. It is no fun having to get up at 6am and untangle some kid from a bike wreck outside your tent, patch them up and wipe away the blood whilst their parents sleep away blissfully unable to be woken. Then later on the parent comes over and tells you that you had no right to administer first aid to their kid as it was only a scratch and I should have come and got them. Sorry, didn;'t have a nuclear bomb handy to wake them.

Now, before I get the 'my kids don't do that' from you all, I am speaking from experience here. I have camped with some very well behaved kids and I must admit that they are in the majority rather than the minority. The worst offenders seem to be 'work groups' who go camping with all and sundry with little regard for those of us who have spent considerable time under canvas. The worst thing is when you have set up camp and then get invaded at about lunch time by 50-60 twits who have little or no regard for others. The worst case I have experienced was a golf club who went camping for a weekend and spent the weekend driving golf balls around the camp ground. I won't even go into what happened after it got dark and the booze started to flow. Lets say the back nine was played under very trying conditions!
For those of you who are considerate to your fellow campers you are welcome to camp near me anytime. But, I don't see why I should have to pull up stumps in the middle of the night just to get some sleep.

Craig
FollowupID: 581209

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:42

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:42
Did you ask him what his problem was??

AnswerID: 314937

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:35

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:35
What makes u think HE has a problem hahahaha, its us what look on and shake our heads that have a problem.

FollowupID: 581149

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:43

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:43
Etiquette ???????

A lot of younger people don't understand that term......but worse is the older people who know what it means but think they have earned the right to do as they please ..

When camping, I love nothing more than sitting around the fire with a stubbie in hand ( two if I could drink faster ) talking jibberish..

But when you see others that have gone to bed, you tend to quiten things down and try to fit in with others...

But the morons ?? No, they don't care about anyone else.......it's their right to have a good time and stuff everybody else........sad fact of life these days........only way to educate them would be a lesson with a piece of 4 x 2..
AnswerID: 314939

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:00

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:00
Hi Gronk,

I am 33 and MY wife and I are the last of the Yes please, No thank you, generation. Let ladies have the seats open the door etc etc, i agree with you whole-heartedly i run a solar panel and leads if i need light, usaully its of the powerstation i bought from deals direct, and fully charged it looks after one cfl running thru a 300 watt inverter for 3 nights without a hassel!!!
Currently i am looking at making LED light panels that will have a a battery and solar charger that will charge it fully! Might make it with a high and low!!!

I also have a coleman retro cfl light that lasts for three nights on low power!!!

Yes some people are ignorant tossers!!!

FollowupID: 581062

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:37

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:37
Gronk you idiot, this is a 4x4 website, you have erroneously suggested the problem be educated with a piece of 4 x 2, 4 x 4 would work much better!!!

And I dont really mean the bit about the idiot hehehe

FollowupID: 581152

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 07:49

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 07:49
Hey Bonz, 4x4 lumps are heavy and hurt the hand, can't we just shoot the silly buggers and put them out of our misery for there stupidity? Would be easier????

:op

FollowupID: 581175

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:27

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:27
Chris, In the light of your wisdom I too join the ranks of IDIOT, you have indeed nailed the solution. In keeping with the 4x4 intention of this website, may I humbly suggest to your omnipotence that we undertake your suggestion in groups of 16.

FollowupID: 581179

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:46

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:46
Bonz, they are spoiling the whole reason why we go bush! So quid pro quo, they make noise and disturb the peace we should be allowed to hunt them down in packs of sixteen and nail there noisy stinking hides to the nearest tree!!!!

Now that would be a sport!!! Shoot ferals!!!LOL

I got the lead!!!

lmao bigtime.

Just goes to show how the truly dedicated 4wd's who like to rough it and are setup don't need all of that garbage!!! We take what we need and a few luxuries and the truly enjoy nature's beauty and surrounds for maxium pleasure!!!

Have a good one Bonz
FollowupID: 581195

Reply By: Ozrover - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:44

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:44
Yep! We had this happen to us at King Fisher Camp on the Nicolson river last year.
Bloke turned up right on dark o'clock, first thing he did was to turn on his genny then promptly went inside his van??
The thing ran until about 2.00 am, then stopped, blissful silence.
For about five minutes so he could re fuel it, then on it goes again.
He then gets up at the crack & leaves??? Why???
What made it worse, we got blamed for it because no one else saw him! GRRR.
AnswerID: 314940

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:52

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 10:52
Sorry to hear your camping trip didn't turn out as expected.
It sounds to me you need a camp "moon dog"......A moon dog is a rather large creature we take camping for occasions like these.
Generaly we try to camp away from other people as we can some times be those rowdy ones with the music blaring and drunken laughter till early hours.
But every know and then you do have campers that go over board!
This is where the "Moon Dog" comes in to play........
You stand him up, shine a light on him, (so your neighbours know what is coming) and yell out "MOON DOG, GO MEET THE NEIGHBOURS!)
Generaly they all shut up and go to bed....but there has been occasions where they have decided to pack up camp and bolt!

We have other tricks like "THe Long Hiared Piece of $hit" the galloping rinos" and many more, but this is by far the most popular.

AnswerID: 314942

Reply By: Louie the fly - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:26

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:26
Not defending the guy's actions, but I know there was someone on here a while back who has a medical condition that required some apparatus run from a genny when camping. But from what I remember he was fairly responsible about it. Not saying it's that particular person, just using that as an example. Maybe this guy is in a similar boat. As for all the light, maybe he normally camps at the MCG.

I understand your frustration - may as well stay home sometimes.
AnswerID: 314947

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:34

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:34
If you have a medical condition that needs a gennie....and you want to go camping ...then I'm sorry but you will need to go some where on your pat malone !!! Or get enough battery power to last the night !!
FollowupID: 580998

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:40

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:40
I think that's a fair call. You do need to be considerate to your neighbors, no matter where you are. After all,as much as anything else, it's the peace and quiet that we go camping for.
FollowupID: 580999

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:48

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 11:48
Yes SOME people go camping for piece and quiet...some go to get out of town, catch up with mates and let the kids off the leash.
I dont like generators either but you also come across some winging old farts that set up camp next to you and then dictate the camping rules.
I reckon if you dont like what other people do, dont camp next to them...if they camp next to you tell them.
Not evryone's idea of a good camp is the next blokes.

FollowupID: 581001

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:17

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:17
G'day Hairy, that's fair comment mate. Agree with all of that.
Camping is a bit like beach fishing...there you are enjoying the peace and quiet, and then some clown wants to set up right next to you, even though there are acres of camp or miles of beach available, and then dictate their right to be there.
Unavoidable to crowd up at times, but then we need to be bit more tolerant and need to respect each others personal space...unfortunately there are those that just don't give a stuff about anyone or anything.
As for them winging old farts LOL.....they give the rest of us old farts a bad name :-))

FollowupID: 581012

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:24

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:24
Gday fred,
Hahahaha...sorry about the old fart thing.
But while Im still it my "THIRTIES!!!!" Im going to make the most of it!
Here that your OLD FARTS....THIRTIES!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 581013

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:37

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:37
Funny thing about old it's all relative. My 19yo son thinks he'll be over the hill at 25 so to him Hairy you are almost extinct....LOL welcome to the old farts brigade sonny

FollowupID: 581014

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:12

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:12
Hairy,

Thirties ....... LOL have you started counting backwards. You do more whinging than any old fart on here hahahaha

FollowupID: 581028

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 13:08

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 13:08
Probably right Gramps, but just think, when they put a 4 in front of my age, they will put a great in fromt of your name!!!!!

Hahahahahahahaha!!!!!!

Waynepd ......extinct!!! Youve got a 19 year old son!! ..........Im suprised we even speak the same language

FollowupID: 581222

Reply By: garryk - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:47

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:47
G'day
On the subject of generators at camp sites do you find as we have that people who have spent the big $$$$ and purchased something quiet like a Honda or Yamaha Inverter job tend to be considerate when and where they use them for

BUT
the people who have bought the cheap , noisy excuses for a generator are the ones who set up in the middle of other campers and then run them constantly

as far as we are concerned there's very different generators out there , some are not a problem and others should be banned
Garry
AnswerID: 314950

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:52

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:52
Yep there are good and bad gennies but don't know of any that can't be heard at 10pm at night..
FollowupID: 581010

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:22

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:22
Its amazing how much louder they get when you are trying to get to sleep.
FollowupID: 581045

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:26

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:26

When we go camping up the beach when its busy, we string out
a couple of Blue Tarps, we space them out either side of the main
camp site, to make it look like they are camps, if any body enquires
about them we tell them they are reserved sites for our family who
are comming up later, its plenty of distance away from the next
annoying neighbours, some times I will run out some Orange Barrier
Tape to mark the Bounderies, sort of gives people a hint, the
Rangers dont mind and they dont charge for extra sites,only people,
I know I am a Mean Son of a B****

Daza
AnswerID: 314954

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:56

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:56
spread the wings out eh Dazza? why not!!
FollowupID: 581048

Reply By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:52

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 13:52
I find that if I want some space in a campground I just take my guitar. I am REALLY bad at playing it and the only people that will camp near me are generally hippies who can 'feel' my music or grey nomads who are slightly deaf.

Normal humans want to get far away as possible from my twanging and wailing. Even dogs and possums run for cover!

BTW, I don't do it after dark. I cant see where to put my fingers on the fretboard.

Craig
AnswerID: 314960

Reply By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:47

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:47
Maybe he's just scared of the dark? Some people might be spooked by how dark it can be away from city lights.

Mark.
AnswerID: 314989

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:01

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:01
Last year we camped in Karajini and a guy with a Winnebago next to us started up his generator at beer o'clock. We simply moved to a camp further away, but the poor guy got an attack of the guilts and turned it off. We went back and told him we didn't mind, as we couldn't hear it anymore, but I think next trip he was going to get a solar panel.

I hate camp areas - give me unlimited space and quiet in a desert.
AnswerID: 315008

Follow Up By: Captain Sparkles-Paula D (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:41

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:41
A generator needed for a winnebago- Im sorry,but I can
understand people needing to use them for tents/ bush camping
but for a winnebago???
We have a caravan with two batteries and one solar panel and did the birdville trip 17 days bush camped, never used the generator.
Sorry- used it once to jump start the nissan after been pulled up for 4 days
FollowupID: 581214

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:02

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:02
yeah it was me sorry.i have a mobile pot growing hydroponics thing. sorry man sorry....
AnswerID: 315043

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:38

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:38
It's cool, dude, don't freak out LOL
FollowupID: 581161

Follow Up By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:45

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:45
So ..........I have found an audience for my music ?
(see earlier post)
FollowupID: 581182

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:21

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 23:21
Strange to you, not him. Comes down to perception I suppose.

I am interested to know where one can learn this standardized camp etiquette that is touted about as gospel
AnswerID: 315044

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 00:04

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 00:04
Mike, their is definitely no gospel, but I would like to think that some things come down to being considerate to others.

Don't get me wrong; if you want to go to a caravan park in the school holidays and then sook about noise and kids etc, well....

On the other hand, if you go somewhere midweek which is quiet with no facilities and you are the first there and the next people set up right next to you and give you no peace, well....

FollowupID: 581168

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:02

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:02
It's very simple from my perspective; if I'm camped at a bush site then please don't camp within two km of me and I'll do the same for you.

Group campsites, Department maintained campsites, campsites accessible by 2WD...? I avoid like the plauge and if I _have_ to do an emergency over-nighter on one I try to raise my d!ckhead tolerance level a notch or two.

FollowupID: 581177

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 06:52

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 06:52
More money than brains, and a big mouth, making a statement..

Nothing more frustrating......

We just run a few LED lights, a small fire, and when it dies down..
Usually just after 10:00 pm...

That's why we camp in isolated spots, to avoid the dick-heads..

AnswerID: 315062

Reply By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 12:34

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 12:34
really whats all the fuss about generators ----yes i aggree there are clowns that are bloody annoying ---also there are those of us who haven't got solar panels or battery banks.
i have the quietest geny i could buy and run it when i need electricity .
i have my own rule to shut it down usually at 9pm --its not run at any other time unless needed --even the cost to run then is expensive

i wonder if people complain to the farmers when thier roosters crow
AnswerID: 315091