Back from Innamincka
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:54
Isuzumu
We arrived home about noon today from what we think is the best trip we have ever done and travelled and met some of the nicest people you would care to be with.
We would like to thank Willem for being the organizing member, all those folks who provided timber, prizes, and organizing games etc. Also to ExplorOz for the gifts too, oh, and to the people who put together the goody bags for the kids, that was a real treat for them.
Our trip from Noccundra to the
Cameron Corner with Trevor and Bob was great, especially as we were not going to do it as we had a few dramas a couple of days before (turbocharger) but that's another story. We met up with Adrian and Liam and also Bob and Lorraine at the Corner from where we all went up the
Bore Track, what a blast that was as
well.
The MU and the old Viscount both did it in style with only a flat tyre on the van when we arrived in
Quilpie on our way home.
Will post some photos when we sort through some thing like 500 of them that Annie has taken hahahahaha
More to come shortly,
Cheers Bruce
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:21
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:21
G'day Bruce,
Glad you have arrived home safely and without drama (unlike myself!!!).
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:34
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:34
I just read of your dramas mate, what a bloody shame hope it all turns out ok for you.
Cheers Bruce
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:31
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:31
Save me looking Bill, what's the post no. please.
Here is
Ross going through that puddle that Pud got stuck in.
You southerners have no adventure in ya's do ya? LOL!!
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 21:13
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 21:13
Yep
Just like swimming in that big pond back home.
Hahahaha
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:06
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:06
Oh come on! You guys can't have had that good a time. The freezing nights...the long trip...all that drinking and firelight goings on...must have been a real drama :)
As for the people...if they're so nice, what happens when they get home and back on here ? Drama, arguements and kerfuffle.
Bah ! Humbug !
(tongue in cheek and yes I'm annoyed that I couldn't make it :)
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:41
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:41
It must be these bloody computers that change us Footy hahahaha
And the worst thing is they are still out there having fun bugger
Cold.... Trevors truck had ice on it Wednesday morning..photo coming.
Cheers Bruce
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:27
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:27
Bruce, what about the FLAG ? Now that's the most important bit LOL
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:03
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:03
Photo of the original flag being handed back to Trevor by
Laura
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:10
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:10
Many thanks. That flag has provided more entertainment in this
forum than most of us put together :)
Appreciate the photo.
Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 16:12
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 16:12
Isuzumu
Would appreciate more photo's when you have time to post them.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 16:51
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 16:51
Well we had a ball with that Flag in Europe
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 18:10
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 18:10
On their way Dick, but first need to clean all the dust out of the MU and van hang on here is a little taste.Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:23
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:23
My daughter has claimed that flag already.
Best news of the trip so far is John R had his Collingwood flag knocked off on the Fri night or early Sat morn. It was last seen heading sth from Innaminka and is sure to keep the
forum amused over the next 12 months until it also is returned hahahahahahhaa
Mine ended up upside down, but this had to be an "inside job" as the dog would not let too many strangers within coo-eee of the flagpole, someone with size 16 sandles must have been the culprit as these footprints were all around the base of the flagpole......maybe someone in a particular Suzuki maybe ????????? LOL!!
I bet no-one hangs a flag off their
camp at the next national gathering, in fear of theirs going on a world tour LOL!!!
Loved every minute of the trip and enjoyed yours and Anne's company Bruce.
Now, to go and find out what has happened to the chev powered Roach mobile............
Regards, Trev, Jude and family.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:44
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:44
Sounds good!
Been pretty quiet here Bruce,
I though it was because all the riff-raff was up at
Innamincka :-))))
phil
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:13
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:13
Hi Phil, this is where the Qld riff-raff were camped and the Qld flag flying proudly in
InnaminckaImage Could Not Be Found
It was alot of fun
Cheers Bruce
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:18
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:18
Geeze, who brought the garden shed? :-)))
So the flag survived the gathering? Just wondering whether it might magically reapppear this side of the border?
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:32
Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 19:32
That was Trevors
shack or you talking the pub hahahaha
think the old flag will be under lock and key and the new one
well we will see if anyone was game to pinch it hahaha
Cheers Bruce
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:10
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:10
Photo sort of looks like the boys are asking if trevor can come out and play.....grin
Reply By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:24
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:24
G Day Bruce!!!!! pleased to hear a good time was had by all, Definately want photos mate! and glad to hear your van didn't let you down. Love to Annie
Jo
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 07:14
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 07:14
Thanks for the kind words, yes we had a ball now to get cleaned up and get ready for the next hols.
Cheers Bruce
Heres one.....Annie in the horse shoe throwing competition
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:52
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:52
That's a great shot of Darkie ;)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:02
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:02
Hi Kev hope Sam and yourself had a good trip home love your signature to mate.
Cheers Bruce.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:12
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 19:12
Bruce,
I had a good run home today, but yesterday from
Innamincka to
St George was eventful.
Darkie now has a war wound from a 4 foot kangaroo I hit at around 6pm last night 10kms east of
Bollon doing about $1:10 :)
Hit him on the RHS of the bullbar and have now got a slightly bent wing on the bar and a dinted wheel guard.
Sam reckons my golf swing could outdo Tiger Woods as I had to put the roo out of his misery and all I had at hand was my long handle shovel.
I will write up a blog and provide some more details.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: ZukscooterX90 - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:53
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:53
Hi there Bruce/Anne, i am here in the
kitchen at Thargominda caravan park and typing while in my shorts,i just had dinner with Bob & Lorraine same last night at the
Noccundra Hotel.
Good to read that you & Anne a trouble free & safe trip
home other than a flat tyre.
Shame that Roachie & family had to cut short their trip but 'tis the safest option.
I thank you & anne both again for your warm friendship & hospitality whilst out there enjoying ourselves.
Cheers Bob.
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 07:20
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 07:20
Hi Bob, it is starting to warm up here also, a little bit of rain actually. It was agreat group we were with wasn't it......
You said that Annie did not get a photo of you getting out of bed.....
well here it is mate.Image Could Not Be Found
Reply By: Member - Bob & Lorraine S (NSW - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:41
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:41
Now in
Thargomindah for a few days. We just want to add our 2 bobs worth to all the various comments. We had a great time and met some really nice people who, hopefully, we will get to see again. Thanks Willem for organizing the gathering, no mean feat, thanks Sir Kev for the great campfires (did you eat ALL that leg of lamb??!!) to those that organized games and prizes-thank you-and to
our camp neighbours down at the lower level we really had some nice people to be around. Thank you to Bruce & Annie, Bob, Adrian (yes I got it right!) and Liam, Trevor, Judy and Thomas and Samantha for their company. The list seems to be endless!
Looking forward to making another gathering somewhere
Bob & Lorraine
Clipper811
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:49
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:49
Sounds good guys....... soon as I clean the van, MU already done, I will have to get ready for the next trip on the 20th Sept to
Yeppoon. Keep in touch and safe travelling.
Cheers Bruce and Annie.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:51
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:51
Yep,
That leg of lamb was sensational LOL
I am sure someone got a happy snap of it LOL
Cheers Sir Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:27
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 20:27
Aaah,
Another EO trip missed. I'm looking forward to having the time to do another.
They are wonderful events, and if you've had the pleasure of a trip with Willem you won't soon forget it.
Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:56
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 18:56
A couple more shots to keep this thread going.....the games people play in the bush hahahahahahaImage Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:21
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:21
I had forgotten that we had a yabbie race.
Scrubby ate the winners as
well as the losers hehe
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: blue one - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:13
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:13
So how far out of town did you
camp?
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:20
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:20
About 1.2km from the Trading Post in the town common
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: blue one - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:25
Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:25
Ta Kev
Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 09:29
Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 09:29
Hi Bruce and everyone
We got
home late last Friday safe and
well. Long day on Wednesday out to Moomba then back via the
Bore Track (which had greened up even more, especially the claypans). Got to Tib to find it booked out so ended up in the pub at
Milparinka. Stayed in
Mildura on Thursday night after going on the Day Dream
mine tour in Solverton and taking photos of Mad Max's car.
It was a trully memorable trip. Thank you everyone for being so inclusive. A few photos......
Adrian
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 07:31
Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 07:31
Good to see you both got
home safe Adrian and the photos are great, don't work to hard and talk to you soon.
Cheers Bruce.