How long to modern 4cylinder toubos last.

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:42
ThreadID: 59703 Views:3706 Replies:7 FollowUps:21
On a recent petrol versa diesel debate I commented that modern 4cly turbo diesels will not last any longer than petrols. ie about 400000ks. It would be interesting to hear what mileage people are getting. Also would like to hear from petrol owners.
I usually sell my 4wds at arround 200000ks but will start off.
91 Jack 2.6 efi sold at 218000ks still going well.
93 4 runner sold at 215000ks still going well, slight timing chain rattle when cold. Not using oil.
Cheers everyone Pete

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:44

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 16:44
Sorry the runner had a 22r Motor
AnswerID: 314973

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:52

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 17:52
Hey Pete, if you want a motor to last it's called Good and regular oil changes!!!! I had Daewoo Laons 1.5, i put it thru the ringer and i mean i flogeed it, it still goes strong! Did a head @240000 cause i was too lazy to change the timing belt, $700 later and when i did the head cylinders where like brand new!!! Old guy owns it now and he loves it, cheap on fuel and goes well!!!

So moral of the story change oil between 5000 - 10 000 kays and motor will last!! Make sure you use a top quality oil, i ran the dog box on penrite 30 and i rang my laser on the same oil!!!!

FollowupID: 581060

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:04

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:04
Interesting you mention Penrite oil.
I have just done quite a bit of research on various forums, plus own contacts. PENRITE was voted no one by the majority. Castrol was voted the worlds best oil marketers. lol.
Just switched swmbo paj from castrol gtx2 to penrite 15/60 and noticed the engine was smoother, and I swear it went better.
FollowupID: 581064

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:37

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:37
Sounds to me like Penrite is the better marketer.
I use any brand diesel engine oil that meets the manufacturer's specs.
FollowupID: 581078

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:34

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:34
I would have to disagree with you on that one phil. Castrol has most of the mechanics in bathurst tied up. Its the old deal, better terms, bigger discount etc. Mind you I have still got 10/30 proffessional in the jack, but will switch to penrite when I use it all up.
Some interesting info on the paj forum and australian 4wd on oils.
FollowupID: 581109

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:44

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:44
Gday pete,
Yeah, lots of people disagree with me on that one.
How can anyone get objective evidence on how well an oil works?????
Too much hype around when it comes to oils. Bit like tyres but without the evidence :-))
FollowupID: 581115

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:57

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:57
Penrite used to have a filling plant near my office.
They bought oil in bulk from whatever supplier they could get a deal with and then filled their own containers and distributed/marketed it as something different to others.
Next thing people will be saying Mobil Diesel is better than Shell.

As Phil says as long as it meets the manufactures spec's.

FollowupID: 581123

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:31

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:31
Yes John they buy the base oils in then add their own additives. The Paj is definitely running smother and going better on the 15/60 then the gtx2. But I will conceed it is a lighter oil.
FollowupID: 581306

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:09

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:09
Like the castrol ad "oils ain't oils"

With everything you pay for what yoiu get these days! Oils are very much the same. I put mineral oil in the daewoo and it clogged up the self adjusting tappets, these vehicles have an overhead cam but they have oil filled self adjusters. Well i got lazy didn't change the timing belt and it let go on me after 140 000 kilometres. So get head rebuilt new timing belt whilst i had the head off i pulled out all of the eight self adjusters and clean the burnt gum off all of them and then soaked the adjusters in oil for the night. Next day i put it all together and started car! No hassels with noisy tappets and the head and everything was clean before it went off for repair!

So with penrite, oil changes every 10 -15000 max motor is still like a virgin motor.

Wifes corolla ran on gtx2 till it was using a litre of oil a month! Mechanics said to use it! Down to a litre every three months using penrite 40 and an oils change every 10 000 or six months.

thats my 2 cents worth
FollowupID: 581358

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:35

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 18:35
Plenty of 4cyl TD motors won't last 400,000k. They die from other causes before they wear out, especially cylinder head problems, even though they are well serviced. Doesn't seem to happen to 6cyl TDs like the TD42 and 1HD-FTE.

But most normally aspirated diesels last well.
AnswerID: 315002

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:39

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:39
That was the piont I was trying to make on our last debate on this subject Phil. The longest lived 4 cylinder turbos I have heard about are the 2.8 rodeos.
A lot of people are buying small td thinking they are going to last like the 6 cylinders.
FollowupID: 581112

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:53

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 20:53
If its a 3.0 litre Nissan then it won't last to long at all.

AnswerID: 315023

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:02

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:02
lol, but their are a few arround with 200000ks plus. Was hoping to hear from people with big ks
FollowupID: 581142

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:17

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:17
Peter 200K's is not that much for a diesel.

FollowupID: 581146

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:55

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:55
It is for a nissan 3lt John. lol
FollowupID: 581183

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:58

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:58
Hows it going guys,

I have a 2001 Troll with 180k on the clock . It is well maintained but regularly used.

Have had a few problems including a cracked head and 5th gear destruction, but have had it do a lap of OZ.

Glenn.

FollowupID: 581321

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 01:18

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 01:18
Who really cares ????

Fair dinkum.....IF you keep the 4x4 that long , you won't know if it was engine wear.....valve wear.....fuel pump failure etc..etc..

To buy a 4x4 now a days expecting big mileage is a bit of a lottery.......and don't say because it's a T**ta will guarentee anything !!
AnswerID: 315056

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:01

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:01
Who cares, well then why reply to the post.
I do , but I have an interest in these things,and after 8 2nd hand 4bys I am yet to get a dud. Touch wood.
The piont I was trying to find out is do modern 4 cylinder turbo diesels last any longer than modern petrol engines, or do petrols now outlast them.
FollowupID: 581186

Follow Up By: ross - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:30

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:30
Geneally diesels do last longer ,but as petrol engines become more efficient and diesels become more powerful to compete,the gap is closing.

Some old design engines like Volvo's 2.3 4cyl petrol engine would outlast many modern engines,diesel or petrol.

One of the keys to making an engine long lasting ,is to try not to wring too much power out of them.
(and of course maintenance and skillful driving.)
FollowupID: 581331

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 13:23

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 13:23
Your right about the 2.3s Ross, young Mate had one as a paddock basher with 500000ks I think. Despite their best attempts they never killed it.
FollowupID: 581390

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 06:46

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 06:46
Hi All !

For what it's worth

The single biggest issues with modern motors, that I can see is that a some people do their own servicing, ( that's great ) and it's always been the case.
But here in lies some of the problems.... Modern motors want a specific type of oil, to get the circulation happening, properly..
The recommended oils are listed in the "owner's Handbook", and should be rigidly adhered to..

There is no future in using any oils, !.. as this will "bugger up", the circulation, or allow corrosion of the aluminium bits, inside..
Cannot grab any oil, just because that oil is on special

Other thing is the frequency of oil changes, and replacement of parts..I used to do the Navara every 10,000 km with a synthetic oil, and after speaking to a few mechanics, when towing change the oil every 7,500 km ....

Not sure what I would expect out of the motor, as I do not own it any more, but 350-400 thousand, would be in mind..

As for the turbo, I do know of others that have issues, but everything worked well in the Navara, with max boost, under load, on a dyno, was 16 PSI,,,and problems could be linked back to driving habits, type of oils used, and general lack of servicing/fault prevention....

By the way I have to agree with that the Rodeo 2.8TD motor.. They seem to go forever..and after I found out that the ZD30 Nissan motors were giving lots of drama's, I was trying to work out a "what if" mine went bang,, how was I gunna put a Rodeo motor in My Navara,,
Fortunately that never happened.

Cheers All

AnswerID: 315061

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:13

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:13
Agree Bucky, The only thing I might add sometimes the manufacturer will update the specs. Eg on my Jack a update bullitin came out a few years ago recommending a lighter 10/30 oil.I only became aware of this because my mate use to be the service manager at a gmh dealer. I have now tried it and it does seem smoother of a morning. Bit light for towing in summer, so will switch to a 10/60 then. I use to do my own minor services, but found my mechanic would pick up things that needed replacing that I had missed.And it depends how old you are lol.
FollowupID: 581188

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:16

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 08:16
Have 3 mates all have had Nissan Navara's and all had turbo problems before 200,000km - latest was replaced at about 70,oookm.

Try to sell mine before 200,000km as well Pete, main reasons are that by then they have usually had several years of hard work and are just getting a bit loose everywhere and clutches need replacing etc.

Trouble is the current car still has better to power to weight ratio than newest entrants into the market and better 4wd credenials - so what to do !
AnswerID: 315066

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:20

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:20
I know what you mean Robin. Brother had a 2.8 lux decided to sell it because it had 230000ks on it. Brought a Narvara with about 80000ks on it. After two years of farm use the Narvara is falling apart, and the old Lux which my mate brought has had one minor repair, and is still plugging along. My silly brother is now wandering if he can buy the old lux back. Certainly has left a sour taste.
Whats ks are the big 4.8s doing Robin?
FollowupID: 581189

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:34

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 09:34
I've yet to hear a good word about Navaras.
FollowupID: 581194

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:28

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:28
In our Simpson bike trip last week , I was able to ride behind each car and watch carefully (and film) how they handled things , pulling the trailers and I have to say the Navara with its short travel suspension really made the going hard.
It had fitted aftermarket Koni shocks to help as well , however soon after they left us the ripped the top out of a Knoi , so not quite sure why yet.

On the 4800's Pete, I haven't heard a bad word about them yet other than fuel use.
My car and the live axle 105 series cruiser with us just seemed to lope along.

At 165 ,000 on the clock my 4800 just seems to love life and shows no signs of wear , I changed the plugs at about 150k, more or less because I thought I should rather than a need.

My 3 friends with Navara's Mike, have all reacted different;y to their engine issues

One got extended warranty , One got a new 2.5lt Navara, and another brought an Adventura whilst we were away.

Time will tell I guess.
FollowupID: 581260

Reply By: Chaz - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 13:13

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 13:13
I think that one reason why you won’t see extremely high k’s from a late 4 cylinder turbo diesel is the due the emission controls and high boost that they run for emissions.
Your EGR valve will clog up and fowl the engine long before the rings and bearings wear out and the oil in the intake system from excessive crankcase blowby will shorten the life of the turbo and affect your mixture control system.
It will be interesting to see how the later Nissan and Toyota sixes fair having EGR also, but there are so many 4 cylinder turbo diesels available today and they will be the subject of scrutiny.
They’re all good motors, but unfortunately some of them will be let down by inferior electronic controls. I think that as technology progresses, there will be further improvements to their control systems and perhaps we’ll see higher k’s again some day.

AnswerID: 315096

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:35

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:35
Thanks chaz, that makes a lot of sense. I wonder if the cem products would help then.
FollowupID: 581312