Submitted: Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 12:24
Member - RFLundgren (WA)
We need to replace our old 2 burner LPG
camp stove which is on its last legs and now only running on one burner.
We also have an LPG grill that we use for toast in the mornings as its quick and easy with minimal washing up.
I was looking at either a 2 burner LPG stove with a built in grill, which would mean we could leave the seperate LPG grill we currently have at home.
The other option I was considering is the Coleman dual fuel 2 burner stove, so that I can run on either unleaded or shellite.
I am ok with either option, but would appreciate feedback particularly on the Coleman unit as it looks great and is supposed to be much more efficient. I imagine it is also cheaper to run out in
the desert rather than having to get gas bottles refilled.
Looking forward to peoples comments.
Reply By: Nomad Liney - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:48
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:48
Gday Richard. Not sure if you buy it but there is a small article on the Coleman gas stove in the Winter edition of Western 4WDriver.
Col
Reply By: trains - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 16:28
Reply By: Marion - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:06
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:06
Hello, we have a coleman duel fuel 2 burner stove, and we have had no problems with it, it has always been reliable and to carry the extra fuel has also been not problem. It has always started first time, you only have to follow the intructions and hey presto! away you go.We have had ours 4 years or so.
Cheers Marion
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:25
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 17:25
I have a coleman dual fuel stove.
I also have a dual fuel light.
I do not carry a gas bottle. I normally use coleman fuel (shellite) but you can use unleaded.
I would not go back to a LPG stove.
Tjilpi
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 18:23
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 18:23
I've got the smaller 2 burner model (?#424). I also use the Coleman fuel - $15 for 4 litres, and it comes in a great tin. Have to say I've rarely had to fill it when
camping - seems to go along time on one
tank. Take the 4 litre tin away, and you'll be fine for any trip.
Reply By: nsngood - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:35
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 19:35
I have recently purchased a dual fuel stove and a dual fuel lantern. I was very sceptical and would not have purchased them if not for the fact that i got them at 70% OFF the retail. Have just been away for three weeks and they performed brilliantly,i ran them on shellite and unleaded just to see how they go.After this trip i don't know why i didn't switch earlier
As i drive an unleaded vehicle and normally have a boat there is no drama when in comes to fuel.
I think the running costs may be slightly more than gas but cannot be 100% sure just seemed that way to me.
Reply By: Holden4th - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:08
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:08
That's OK for you ULP drivers but you can't use diesel in a dual fuel stove so the questions is - do I carry shellite/ULP or a gas bottle. The latter has far more uses so I don't use a dual fuel stove.
This is what I have at home
and it works very
well. I can add a grill or a number of other accessories.
However, on the road I use two of these.
They are just as good as a normal LPG stove and are far more ergonomic, weigh less and don't require a gas bottle - just those canisters. I've had my Coleman LPG stove for over a year now and it hasn't left home - these butane stoves are just so much more convenient
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:20
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:20
>They are just as good as a normal LPG stove
Not when the temperature drops below about 7C? they aren't. The only good gas stove in those conditions is a low pressure one eg.Coleman.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:26
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:26
I have owned a Coleman two burner gas stove for some years but am constantly considering changing to a Coleman dual fuel stove (I'll still need gas for the fridge but who said I couldn't have another toy!? :)
My concern is will the dual fuel stove adjust to a _low_ enough flame for cooking stuff other than sausages etc. For example rice, once boiled, only needs the heat of a candle or two for the next ten minutes - can they be turned that low?
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:31
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:31
Mike,
We used a 3 burner Coleman dual fuel stove 12 years ago on a Canning trip feeding 8 people and it was fantastic. Much hotter than gas and can be turned down low.
I just bought a 2 burner dual fuel unit as our gas Primus finally carked it after about 40 years use (ex inlaws). The new one is great and compact, perfect for 2 people.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:34
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:34
Mike,
The Coleman duak fuel are are a bit peculiar with the way the two burners work. The RHS burner gets full fuel and can generate a lot of heat. The LHS burner runs off the RHS burner via a side control, and only ever gets a low flame, which is always lower than the RHS burner. At breakfast the RHS burner does the kettle, while LHS does the toast. At tea time, the RHS cooks the meat while the LHS simmers the veg.
Reply By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:57
Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 22:57
Thanks to everyone for their informative replies. Looks like the Coleman dual fuel is out in front by a mile. Now just to go and find one at the right price before we leave. I will retire the old LPG stove, although will still take the single ring and one 4.5 kg bottle as I have the room for it, and always good for a standby just in case.
Reply By: Mitch - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:31
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:31
Dual fuel stove is also better at altitude than the single gas stove.
Can purchase shellite at Bunnings or order it in at shell servos.
Mitch