Not impressed by the Australian Terrain and road map from HEMA

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 18:50
ThreadID: 59734 Views:2912 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Purchased this map from this site not long ago, Its crap really, as i have a mate travelling around the block at the moment, who frequentley rings and lets me know what a great trip he's having(GRRRR), but the point is all the little minor roads are just not on this thing, I checked this out locally and realized that half our little tracks minor roads are just not shown!!. Better off buying five seperate state road maps from the local BP Servo.

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:14

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:14
I have never shared the reasons why some are impressed by Hema maps in general Axle.
AnswerID: 315151

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:16

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:16
What Robin said.
FollowupID: 581290

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:39

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:39
Gday Robin
How was the trip across the desert?
Little Wes and 9i spent the last 4 days at Huggets Crossing.
Cold and wet but nice.
Murray

FollowupID: 581359

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 10:17

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 10:17
Hi Muzbry

Desert trip was a great real adventure - check out thread 59635

During it we saved the trip of a group raising funds for cancer research - and they gave us an amazing rap up on there site so we are feeling pretty chuffed.

Hope you had a great fire to keep you warm.
FollowupID: 581367

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:21

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:21
Hello - yes all maps have their limitations. Research, prior to trip, is the key. Not sure what map you are talking about as I have never heard of the "Australian Terrain and road map from HEMA". Anyway one single map will not show minor tracks for all of Aus as it would need to be the size of football field to have required detail. Best staring point is 250K series (500 + maps). Most go digital to cater for this.

AnswerID: 315155

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:50

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 20:50
Depends on where you are going , lots of Hema maps are brilliant ...for what some people want to do...but to you and your particular requirements ! maybe not so ...

Got to say that of all the maps i have used all over 'the block' Hema maps are in a league of their own ..accurate, informative and the only ones I use, as they are widely available, ...probably because they are so good !!

And if the maps in your local BP servo are better ...well just shows you that all things are not all the same to all people..mind you some of us probably travel further into the bush than others ...
AnswerID: 315162

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:31

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 21:31
I find the scale & layout of the Hema maps to be good for trip planning & working out in general what route to take but for detail on minor tracks & features really one needs to go to a specialized map like Algona Guides for Hiking, West Print for the desert or Rooftops for the High Country. Topo maps of 50,000 to 1 or smaller are really the only way to get accuracy but of course may mean alot of sheets are required to cover an area.
When buying maps on the internet, it's often difficult to tell what detail is on them, needless to say that if it's a single sheet covering the whole of Australia & will fit on a coffee table then one really can't expect the minor tracks to be even on there.
Perhaps you were misled by the advertising..... "comprehensive road detail and road distances..... The road detail comes from the award-winning Hema Australia Map". In the shop under that product is a rating, perhaps a good spot to have your say.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 315172

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:58

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 09:58
You only get what you paid for. Main roads/tracks and promninent features.
AnswerID: 315214

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:01

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:01
Geez mate- What did you expect from a 1:4.5 million scale??

AnswerID: 315226

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 12:09

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 12:09
5m contours :-)

FollowupID: 581380

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:36

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:36
Axle:
How much did the map cost ?
AnswerID: 315528