Canning Stock Route - Would you Help - How much
Submitted: Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 00:00
Trekkie (Member - WA)
One of my mates called me this morning - he has just completed the CSR from South to North
He said the corrigations in the North were the worst ever encountered
In the Northern part they came across a guy (by himself) with a Nissan Dual Cab and towing a dual axle caravan
He had been stuck for several days and needed help - my mate helped him for several days and in the process burnt out his winch - what would you do
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 00:08
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 00:08
I would have helped him on condition of his abandoning the van.
Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 00:15
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 00:15
Trekkie,
I think your mate did his best sticking with this guy for several days. The least he could do is offer to pay for the damage he caused to your mates winch.
I can't believe anyone would take a dual axle caravan on the CSR. Depending on where he is on the CSR, he may be better off to
park the Caravan until he can return with a suitable towing vehicle to get it out of there.
I have a TVan towed by a Turbo Troopy and I decided it was not a good idea to attempt to tow it on the CSR.
Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 00:27
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 00:27
Dick, I agree - my mate sent his
Kimberley Kamper to
Kununurra by road and picks it up next week to continue on GRR
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 10:45
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 10:45
I reckon that the insurance company for guy with the caravan should pay for the winch repair.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:23
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:23
You don't seriously expect an insurance company should pay for a winch that was burnt out due to overloading?? As great as the gesture was to help out someone in desperate need you don't run a winch until smoke pours out the end.
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:54
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 11:54
Could phone for someone to come and recover.
There was a vehicle stuck on the north end of the Canning in August last year. The recovery of the vehicle to
Halls Creek took about 3 weeks and cost $15,000. And that was a solo vehicle and not towing.
The Pajero on the southern end was abandoned because of a burnt out clutch. The guy obviously thought the recovery was going to cost more than the vehicle was worth.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 13:25
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 13:25
G'day Trekkie
If i was ever stuck somewhere i would hope it would be your mate that was the next vehicle to come along, what a great bloke, he went beyond the call to help this fella out. If the other bloke has any decency about him at all he should offer to get your mates winch fixed without even thinking about it....If not then i think your mate should give him a good serving along with a bill for a brand NEW winch as
well as a bill for the extra fuel he would have used....
Cheers......Borgy
Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:02
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 14:02
Make sure he had sufficient food and
water (Or offer him a lift out if possible) then notify the police of his location as soon as you reached civilization .
Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:14
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 18:14
"what would you do" As I always travel in convoy after assessing the location & difficulty of getting the van out if it was possible to do without risking further damage I'd strip all the weight out of the van & share it amounst the group, reduce tyre pressures to 12 psi then put the most powerfull vehicle up front to tow it over the dunes. Recovering a vehicle like this with a single light vehicle is not feasable & burning out a winch or clutch is all to be expected however noble the gesture to help was. The fact he got that far by himself should mean that with some minimal assistance he'd be able to get back out the way he came in.
Failing that offer the use of the Sat phone to call in the tilt tray:-)
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:52
Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 23:52
I'd have assisted him to turn around and go back. I assume he did not get very far down the track.