We arrived home yesterday after towing our Jayco Destiny Outback down the Strezlecki,
Oodnadatta, Geat Central Road to WA then by tar to hall's
creek and down the Tanimi road.We had a few problems mainly on the patrol TDI ute. I reckon it was overloaded in hindsight. Loved the
Great Central Road and while the first 300km was rough I'd go again as soon as I can afford the diesel.
The Strezlecki and the
Oodnadatta were no problem at all. The GCR was rough from the Olgas to nearly
Warburton, got better the closer we got to
Warburton, and was good thereafter.
Before doing the Tanimi we checked out the condition of the road with the local council and was advised it was rough and not to do it with the caravan on but as we had come so far to do it we thought we'd ask some people who had just finished it what it was like. They reckoned no worries and that they'd sat on 100kph for most of itand as they were towing camper trailers we thought we'd give it a go and just put up with a bit of damage as we won't be going that way again. It was very rough, not just corrugations, the first 300km had great holes in the road where the road trins had been using it in the wet.
Unfortunately with the caravan we couldn't get off the road to
camp until the border which meant we traveling on dusk. The shadows across the road hid one of the holes, I was already going around one, and into it we went. There was an almighty bang and we thought we'd broken the front end of the ute but couldn't find any damage so we carried on with no problem.
When we finished the 880km of corrugations and got to
Alice Springs we discovered we'd broken one of the main leaves of the rear on the ute and split one of the
wheels.
Canceled the planned trip down the Plenty and started to limp home when the rear spring let go completely at
Winton. Repaired there and now home.
Really enjoyed the trip buy now have the cleanup to do, not nice.
The worry when we set out was the caravan as its not really an offroad, more of a dirt roader but there was virtually no damage to it after about 3300km of varying dirt road and as it has the shower/
toilet and carried 200l of
water it wasn't light.
We did 2 tyres on the ute as
well, probably overloaded.