1999 Navara popping fuses

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 18:46
ThreadID: 59829 Views:2882 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
G'Day all,

calling all early model Navara experts.

I have a Navara 3.2 DX22 dual cab, 1999 model. QD32 engine (normally aspirated diesel

Its in good nick and never really had any big probs.

Last night the dash illumination went out along with the tail lights.

found fuse marked 'illumination' 4th from right on bottom, gone, replaced, .....all seemed good.

Tonight I find its blowing them again, I've had rear light assemblies apart checked connections and blew out dust, checked all under bonnet earths, couldnt find one on fuse box but I'm assuming its ok as only this 1 fuse blowing.

I know its prob an earth issue somewhere, but wondering if anyone else experienced this?

I dont have time to spend hours chasing it, so unless someone has a pointer for me ... its the auto electrician... not cheap.

Can anyone advise?

Rgds

Ron

Reply By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:12

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:12
I had this problem in my GQ Patrol (now departed). Turned out to be some moisture in the tail light housing. Dried it out, sealed with silicon and problem was fixed till the day I sold it. Maybe your's is something as simple.
AnswerID: 315646

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:16

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 19:16
Thanks for advice,

but sadly I never saw any moisture, just dust which I blew out

Ron
FollowupID: 581823

Reply By: Malleerv - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:08

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:08
Check the trailer plug at the rear. Usually there is moisture in it or a broken wire that is earthing out. Could even be the wires that go to the trailer plug.

Cheers Matt
AnswerID: 315672

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:58

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:58
Thanks Matt,

will def have a check of that area too.

Having days hol tomorrow to spend on it,

will go thru with DVM chasing earths, disconnecting stuff etc,

I know the basics of it,but auto electrics is a black art in itself, so if no joy tomorrow it will need to go to experts.

Rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 581941

Reply By: Ruffstuff. - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:40

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 13:40
Hi Ron,

I've had the same problem on a work Rodeo, It turned out to be a faulty earth in the tail light due to the deterioration of one of those useless scotch-clips that had been used on the vehicle for joining the trailer plug wires onto the rear light assemblies.
AnswerID: 315756

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:44

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:44
freaky hey?
i had the same issue on my same year same spec navara
i had one issue with the factory bullbar park lights being rusted out and i eventually replaced the whole park lamp assemblies with a tjm setup as the lamps had better water repelling qualities.
then on a seperate matter my rear bar got the number plate lamp broken by the mrs and when i put a new one on the screw was too long and was earthing a postive lead behind the mount!!!!!!!!
scary had to be rewired back to the tail lights as it melted the wires. eventually the fuse smoked then broke!
will not use cheap fuses from $2 shop ever again.
hope this helps
i miss my navara
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 315801

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 06:47

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 06:47
Toonfish good to hear from you! I used to get advice from you when I first got mine.

No nav eh? oh dear, wouldnt swap mine for a new one as it does what we want perfectly, and with no repayments!

Will look at all these areas today, once it warms up a bit and I get fire on in shed.

Thanks mate

Ron
FollowupID: 582064

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 13:20

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 13:20
ALL FIXED N GOOD AND I"M A HAPPY CAMPER AGAIN!

After seperating and eliminating rear of ute entirely by disconnecting rear harness, and still poppin fuse.

I knew it had to be in main body area, just finding it.

Trawled net, and found a top top site with free d/lable manuals,(wont quote incase of any copyright issues but email me if you want it) where i got a 1998 frontier, which was the USA equivelant of Nav.

very hard, but with the diagram printed, after sifting thru 120 pages, found the main harness earth points which looked like put in at new and not grounded too good.

The screws were in a painted area, I didnt rub back but wire wooled the bolt shaft that enters chassis hole and head of bolt that holds the earth on. also cleaned earth up both sides.

Re-assembled after some general cleaning up n blowing out, and switched on..... all ok.

.... but been here before, sat for 10mins all ok.

Then I took fuse out and reduced it.

Original was a 10a, which blew, during fault finding I used a 20a (if its a short it will still go quick, as it did) now I put a 5A in and its holding fine on that so I'll call that one fixed.

Phew..... an I coulda bin fishin!!!

still saved an exy trip to auto elecs, and now have manual too!
AnswerID: 315896