What a Disaster!

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:15
ThreadID: 59836 Views:4461 Replies:4 FollowUps:13
Evening all,

Well where do i start,we were on our way to cape york via the middle for some warmer weather.day 4 we were in innamincka and starting to unwind,the little one was becoming acustom to her sleeping arangements,we were all starting to enjoy ourselves.day 5 was off to birdsville,good days tripping until 20k from b,ville.came over a crest and she side stepped on me but i didnt know why.evil looks from passenger seat and a querie as to what happened? dont know was the reply but by the next crest our questions were answered,clatter,clatter,clatter,clatter to the point of quick shut er down.horrid rattle from the bell housing area and no drive.luckily a few 4wds came up behind us and towed us in.the mechanic from b,ville auto was out on a desert rescue and not back till the morning. next morning he had a listen and called it F*#@$D! well what do we do now. for the fisrt time in my life i took out RACV total care mainly for my daughters benefit incase of emergency. boy what a lifesaver! got us on the next flight out(only 1 a week) back to brissy then to melbourne and hire car($2500 total) and got the car back home in 3 days from the time t was picked up( about $3500) now thats service!! they were very efficient and helpful as were the people of birdsville auto and caravan park. our 12 month planned holiday buggered and a no go car to boot! going to go toyota and see what comes of it,if not i will have to find a trustworthy 4wd mechanic to deal with it as i havent got time (going back to work-- uggghhhhhh) well we may try again next year hahaha oohhhhhh Paul

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:37

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:37
Ahhh..Hah...

So it was YOUR Cruiser that was on the same rig as my Patrol. Sorry to learn that your planned trip was stuffed.....I certainly know how you feel!!!

You'll be pleased to know I was there and I have actually sat in the driver's seat of your truck and steered it up the ramps onto the big Volvo. It was towed up by the Shell garage's tray back cruiser while the Volvo owner/driver guided me.

She was strapped down really secure, as was the red Patrol and my rig too.

The driver of the truck, Mike Barton, was a great bloke and brought us right to our house, stayed on our block of land behind the house and had dinner with us last Friday night.

I hope you can get it back on the road asap and all will be well.

AnswerID: 315679

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:42

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:42
Final score?

1 Toyota 2 Nissans........hahahahahahahaha

Sorreeeee couldn't help meself.............

FollowupID: 581859

Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:46

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:46
Hey Roachie,

yeh she had to wait till friday to get out as we were flown out on tuesday(wasnt hanging around another week) quite gut wrenching leaving your pride and joy behind in the middle of nowhere in the hands of the unknown let me tell you! yep 5 days into the 6 week holiday and all ended!! that red patrol i believe ended up in dandenong with mine. pretty heavy to steer with no p/steer huh? obviously your trip ended there also???
FollowupID: 581867

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:46

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:46
Was thinking the same thing Willem but didn't have the heart to say anything LOL
FollowupID: 581868

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:52

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:52
Paul, disregard the others.....they're only jealous that you and I managed to get an easy ride home!!!! hahaha

Yes, our holiday ended there too.... I guess (at least) mine was still driveable and I drove it onto the trailer under it's own steam...hahaha

I rode home in the passenger's seat of the Volvo and my 12 y/o son, Matt, rode in the sleeper cab. We left there last thursday and got here friday arvo after camping in front of the Marree hotel. I slept in a swag on the trailer between the 2 Patrols, so there was no chance of anyone touching anything that night anyway.

Mine is just a cracked chassis, so will be fixed in due course.

FollowupID: 581872

Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:56

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:56
at least it looks like it got back here with no damage and nothing missing(will look better tomorrow)but with both main batteries dead as dead(ignition must have been left on) ps did they use the winch hook to tow it on?
FollowupID: 581876

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:14

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:14
Yes, (against my better judgement), the bloke from the Shell used the winch hook. He had to drive his cruiser up the left side of the Volvo, which meant that he wanted/needed to try to attach the strap to a point as far to the passenger's side of your rig as possible. Your recovery hook is on the driver's side and using it would have meant the strap would have run out of angle sooner, as it approached the front of the Volvo.

It may well have been me that left the ignition on as I was the last one in the cab.....but I didn't need to touch the ignition key as the cruiser was already at the bottom of the ramps when I took over the steering duties. There were definitely no "idiot lights" on, on the dash, so I would have thought the ignition was just left in the "unlock" position without actually be "ON".

Hopefully they batteries can be recovered with a bit of time on the charger....
FollowupID: 581879

Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:20
if it was the older bloke isnt he a delicate little flower? hahahahaha . Peter was his name and the young canadian bloke Cory was very helpful.should call it RAG auto ROUGH AS GUTS auto hahahahahha
FollowupID: 581883

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:39

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:39
SPOT-ON!!!!.... Yeh, it was Peter that drove the servo's ute and rigged-up the strap etc.
I didn't have much to do with the big Canadian bloke....he pointed me towards Peter and then I dealt only with him.....
FollowupID: 581888

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:10
You were unlucky, weren't you ? At least you had the total care. I only found out about the RACQ extra care after I'd spent a week camping in Weipa while my radiator was flown to Cairns and back to be fixed :(
Now I'm never without it.
A week in a two man tent in the tropics can certainly change your perspectives...
AnswerID: 315689

Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:14

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:14
Hi Footy,

yep i will keep it up now seeing them in action-- very pleased with them to say the least.how did the disk go?
FollowupID: 581880

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:20
Went very well indeed and many thanks. It will be put to good use.
Yes it helps to have the resouces availiable at times like that...someone elses resources even if you have paid for them. All it takes is to read a report like yours and I suspect their membership could increase by quite a few.
Sorry it ended like that for you mate, but at least everyone was OK.
Next time
FollowupID: 581884

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 09:20

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 09:20
Hi Paul
Wot a bummer !!
What is the verdict?? What actually was the clatter clatter ??

AnswerID: 315727

Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:12

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:12
Hey Signy,

Dunno yet,still weighing up my options,either give it to some one to fix or do it myself.will look at tomorrow and see how much is involved and how heavy things look as i dont have a hoist. Paul
FollowupID: 581984

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 15:56

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 15:56
TD, a little trick with Total Care, if you are not planning a trip for a while, let it lapse and then take it out a week before going on any long trip, they charge you "pro rata" works out quiet a bit cheaper. Hope you Cruiser is up and running again very soon.

AnswerID: 315760

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:51

Thursday, Jul 17, 2008 at 18:51
Nice one.

So for the past 10 years I have been paying for you and similar scroungers.

Problem is John... unless RACV can make a profit/break even from it's services it will have to reduce them - the logic is pretty simple.

FollowupID: 581994

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 08:00

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 08:00
Mike, I was advised by RACV to do what I am doing, and if it was wrong, why do they have pro rata rates? Had they not advised me, I would have done it......

FollowupID: 582078