What snorkel 'head' ..

Submitted: Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:05
ThreadID: 59885 Views:6456 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
What snorkel head recommended for 'outback' (dusty road) touring?? The standard scoop type?? the Donalson type??
What do ya reckon and why???
Vehicle is 75 series 1Hz turbo...

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:09

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:09
Didn't your Troopy come with a genuine ome one ? They can't be bad as Troopy's last for ever :-))

AnswerID: 315903

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:12

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:12
Yup- got the snorkel..looking for advise on the top !!!
It's a Safari brand..

FollowupID: 582128

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:34

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:34
Don't most (all ?) of the oem's have round tops ?
FollowupID: 582134

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:14

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:14
troopys only came factory standard with snorkals since about 03
FollowupID: 582224

Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:36

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:36
FollowupID: 582231

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:38

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:38
nope was after that the 79 series initially came out with the snorkal as an option.
I know this as we started getting new 79s in in 04 and as they couldnt be ordered without the snorkal we had to have them removed and grilling placed over the intakes
(snorkals arnt bush freindly)
FollowupID: 582233

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 01:54

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 01:54
Why arent they bush friendly. My 75 series has done 300,000ks of mostly dirt driving all across the Kimberley, hundreds of trips on the Gibb Road, and all the others and has had the Genuine Toyota snorkel fitted since new. Never ever has it been a problem. Filter has always been Ryco and are usually cleaner then other cars without a snorkel. For the past couple of years have changed to the Safari head and the filters have not changed, still the same amount of dust and changed every 5,000ks regardless if they just need a clean or not.
FollowupID: 582236

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 07:16

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 07:16
because they would be torn of within days, these vehicles were real bush vehicles, usually no dirt roads somtimes tracks that hadnt seen a vehicle in years and often just through the bush
FollowupID: 582245

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 14:07

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 14:07
Exactly the type of things my vehicle has been put through. You pretty much described the condition of the main roads up here, haha. Must of been an excellent job, bush bashing for a living.
FollowupID: 582316

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:16

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:16
Just turn the head on the one you have to face the rear of the vehicle when in very dusty conditions.

AnswerID: 315905

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:23

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:23
I think that 'urban myth' has well & truly been Busted !!

FollowupID: 582130

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:25

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:25
Well take the Troopy down to the Camden airport and ask them to do some trials on it for you when they film the Top Gear show LOL

FollowupID: 582131

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:34

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:34
Signman,
I use a 10" Donaldson, It makes a big difference keeps heaps of dust out , I used to have a 7" Donaldson at first but the motor wasn't getting enough air,you cold hear it trying to suck air in.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 315909

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 23:03

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 23:03
Hi Signman,

Were did you get your Donaldson from. I am in Darwin and would love one as the dust on the tracks is a filter iller.

CheersImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 582211

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:45

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:45
As a follow up to my own question ?? Do those snorkel 'sox' work- and are they OK for a turbo engine ??

AnswerID: 315910

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 16:44

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 16:44
Signman,

I would reckon that the snorkel sox would be sucked through into the air cleaner.

If you are leading the next trip I would not worry about any other head for the snorkel. The one you have will be fine.

The OE precleaner heads on the snorkel do restrict the air flow a bit but they do get most of the heavy dust out of the air cleaner.

I noticed the difference when I had the 75 Series and went from OE precleaner to Safari head. The latter did perform better, but with the 78 Series I have stayed with the OE head.

FollowupID: 582142

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:47

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 15:47
I think you'll find the factory heads are a different diameter to the Safari, so you'll need a donaldson head.
AnswerID: 315911

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 16:54

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 16:54
We have a 79 series with the stock snorkel. Only reason we're changing it is to replace it with the "air ram" type head. Hubby likes to custom make the pipes (bigger diameter - more air flow) too though.

The air ram types are only about $50 from memory, we get ours from truck shops.
AnswerID: 315917

Reply By: kiwicol - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:50

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 17:50
Hi I have the ram air intake for the black top and when on the dirt fit a donaldson pre collector, has proven its worth as you can see the amount of dust it collects, have used it in the out back many times and feel its money well spent, only takes 2 minutes to changeover heads, and they are cheap to buy. Col
AnswerID: 315922

Reply By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:06

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 19:06
Without hijacking the thread. I am getting a pre-cleaner, but need to know the diameter of the safari head. Can anyone shed some light on this please.

i guess I could go outside, take the head off and measure the OD, but it is blowing a gale here as well as being wet and miserable....LOL

AnswerID: 315928

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 22:23

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 22:23
3" Richard,

FollowupID: 582202

Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 23:09

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 23:09
Thanks Roachie. What is the recommended size for a 3.0 liltre. If I recall correctly from reading on the Patrol forum it is said that the 8" is more suitable than then 10"?

FollowupID: 582212

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:38

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 00:38
ye olde air claener only works with dust in it. it closes up the gaps
AnswerID: 315965

Reply By: Seakarvan - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 14:36

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 14:36
Hi Signman,
Still got the old HJ75 2H Troopy at half engine life of 254K. most of which was in pretty serious country. The reason the old girl still rattles happily away is due to the three golden rules for oil burners. Clean Fuel - 5K oil & filter changes and clean air via a Donaldson sitting atop the snorkel.

Proven in parts of Cape York in a real dry season. Bull Dust as fine as talcum powder mate - Walk through it and it wont settle for a month type (ha ha)

Donaldson, as the 1st stage of air filtration, is a must not a luxury in that stuff.

Seakarvan
AnswerID: 316026