Distracting, and interesting moments in the bush. LOL

Submitted: Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:00
ThreadID: 59889 Views:3627 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
I guess we've all experienced it. Here are some my dill moments:

1. You know you've had enough grog when you start filling up the ash tray instead of the glass.

2. On a trip, the leg started to play up again and I got some of that heat cream stuff. Looked like a toothpaste tube. After packing up the camp the next morning it came time to clean the teeth. The missus was rattling on about something, and I wasn't taking too much notice of what I was doing. You guessed it. Couldn't get the taste out of my mouth all day.

3. Quite some time back, we purchased a Glind shower unit. I came across one of those flat hose packed in a plastic reel. Good idea I thought. Just throw the hose into the creek and a man could have a good shower. On a trip, the mate asked me what I doing. It was one of those dreaded moments.... The buggar was laughing his head off and I'm standing there thinking. Then the penny dropped. There was no way the pump was going to open up that flat hose.

4. We visited a mate's family up in the high country. After lunch we toddled off to do a bit off fishing on the river at the rear of their property. On the way back through some soft stuff the car got bogged. During the winching process I lost a finger. Everything got patched up at the local hospital after a couple of hours and I asked my mate on the way back to the house what he'd done with the finger. 'fed it to the chooks, was'nt worth much else' he said (if your still out there Sam Forlani....fair dickum!) LOL.

5. We were pear picking up at Mooroopna on McCormick's property. The old lady was the cook. There was a bit of a strange fella there and he wasn't all that happy with the cooking. The canals up there are well known for the population of Tiger snakes. Don't how he did it, but one night he turned up with a Hessian bag. Opened up the bag and let the snakes loose in the canteen. The old man grabbed the shot gun an took off after him. Occurred to me, even at a young age, that the gun would have been better used to clear up the snakes first.

6. Finally, we'd been in the bush for a fair while without a wash. The head was becoming a bit itchy so I thought I'd run the comb through the hair during the packing up. Bit later I couldn't figure out where I'd put the comb. The Foreman came up to me and asked if I was a bit on the dull side. Said something like 'ya not going to get on too well with this crew if you walk around with a comb stuck on the top of your bloody head son'. Won't tell you the nick name the buggars gave me after that.

Kim

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:33

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:33
G'day Kim. Would you get a comb up there these days ? I would, but I doubt if it would stay there.
My barber asked what I wanted.
"Hair please".
He told me I was still growing the stuff.
But it had migrated a bit, into the various nooks and crannies of the face that you aren't even aware of when younger.
He asked if I wanted my eyebrows done.
I told him only shirlas had em "done".
He luughed and said "well if you want to look like Bob Menzies that's your business."
"OK I'll have em done" says I. I mean... I remember Bob's eyebrows very well...ugh !!
AnswerID: 315942

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 22:03

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 22:03
Gidday Footy

Doubt if I'm ever going to have a hair problem up top.

The last hair cut I had, the girl suggested I have a bit of trim on the brows.....have to say I was a pretty damn good looking fella after that.

Then she said, you've got a couple of grey hairs coming out of the ears!!!!!!

Kim
FollowupID: 582197

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 22:22

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 22:22
Kim, I've only ever had my hair cut by a woman..and I didn't realize that she was a barber. I have to admit that the experience was not unpleasant, but I can't afford to go to the late salons just to get a haircut. Crikey, they charge like a wounded bull...well at least 10L of diesel :))
FollowupID: 582201

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:23

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:23
Hey Footy

My Cook cuts my Hair, last time I looked I had about a Dozen,
I reckon I get good value when she uses the Clippers, set on
number 1, where else can you rub the Barbers Legs and Pat the
Barbers Arse.

Daza
FollowupID: 582337

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:38

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:38
Hey Daz, I meant to sat that I'd only ONCE had my hair cut by a woman since I was about 12.
So you can see my reluctance to play with any part of my barber LOL
FollowupID: 582338

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:35

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:35
I'd read stories about cooks just disappearing from a shed overnight, and now I know why LOL
AnswerID: 315943

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 21:39
Some pearls there Kim.
Thanks for sharing them LOL
AnswerID: 315944

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:09

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:09
Good campin stories Kim....cheers for a cracka read!
AnswerID: 315995

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:11

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 10:11
Ya Dill!!!!

Hahahahahaah......

I was just trying to think of something Id done as silly as you......
But you know what?.......
I havent done any thing as silly as you. You win!
Bwahahahaha!!!!!

AnswerID: 315996

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:16

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 17:16
Hairy

Just give it a bit of time young fella. LOL.

Regarda

Kim
FollowupID: 582331

Reply By: Desertrose - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 23:39

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 23:39
It's always amusing to watch Richard try to spit though a fly net.

One very early morning while camped at White cliffs, Richard and I lay there snuggled in our sleeping bags waiting for the sun to come up.
"Isn't this nice..." he said.
I agreed.
"The fresh clean air....the sun about to rise....the sound of wolves howling..."

To which I turned and looked to see if he was serious...He WAS!

"It's a bloody rooster Richard!"

I once, in a quite inebriated state, in the dark, picked up, and started carrying back to the tent what I thought was one of the kids shoes, mumbling to myself....
"Damn kids....what have I told them about keeping their......"

It was a dried up cowpat.

Too many embarrassing answering the call of nature experiences....but just one tip.
Remember that under the glow of a full moon, the young lads that you don't know are camped just over the next rise will take great delight in letting the WHOLE campsite know that they just "saw your bum!"

:::::::::blushing furiously:::::::::::::::

AnswerID: 316091