Survey...speeds on dirt roads

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 06:56
ThreadID: 59898 Views:3834 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
one and all,

We are just commencing a journey across dirt and corrugated roads (from Byron to Steep Point) with our Bushtracker Caravan and some other caravans.

We are wondering what speed folk normally drive their caravans at on the following type of dirt roads...on average...all roads are obviously different.

1. Development Roads - well graded, dirt, no pot holes (or few) just a really good road
2. Gravel Roads - the odd pot hole; say a few bends in the road. Still a good roads.
3. Corrugated Roads - We figure around 20kph tops...of course this is depending on the road

Also interested in the experience folk have had in driving in these conditions.

Thanks kindly

Allan and Sharon

Reply By: The Landy - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:05

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:05
I think the best rule to apply is to drive to the conditions and you'll know what that is at the time; it is a little difficult to suggest specific speeds.

Enjoy your trip...........
AnswerID: 315974

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:09

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:09
Yep thats the best speed drive to the conditions not a dead line.

FollowupID: 582254

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:13

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:13
Hard to answer this one because it depends on your experience, how well you know your car / caravan and how they handle on dirt and whether your car has 4wd or not.

Corrigation speed can change all the time depending how bad it can get. But to tell you the truth if I got stuck behind a car doing 20kph tops on corrigation I would be flashing lights and getting pretty cranky if I couldnt over take......20 would be a little toooooo slow....We have only ever found corrigation that demanded such a slow speed and even then we could do 40km

Towing on corrigated, pothole and bull dust roads we prob average 80km, developmental roads we have found to be like highways and sit on 100

...and gravel roads just depends how lose and slippery it feels (all comes down to experience and confidence in vehicle)

what ever road it is drive for you not to keep the bloke behind you happy and if you do wanna go slow, remember to let others pass you. We had to follow a troopy towing for 50km because he wanted to sit in the middle of the road and go 60 when it was good enough to go 80+.....

hope this helps
AnswerID: 315977

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:15

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:15
"We have only ever found corrigation that demanded such a slow speed and even then we could do 40km"........................sorry that should say that we have only found it once....ever!
FollowupID: 582257

Reply By: Cap'tn Davo - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:45

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:45
G'day Allan & Sharon,
I have been trying to find the shortest way to get from the eastern most point ( Cape Byron ) to the western most Point (steep Point) on the map directory, and Google earth, but the navigator gets confused and cant find a way. Do you have a route planned that I might follow?
Cheers Davo.
AnswerID: 315981

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:57

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 18:57
Get to Alice Springs via your preferred route, across the Simpson Desert or Plenty Highway. Once in Alice head north up the Tanami and turn left at around 160K. Then just keep going west :))
FollowupID: 582341

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:52

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:52

As suggested...drive to the conditions.

Member Willie(Epping) is sitting in Alice Springs waiting for a spare set of springs for his Bushtracker as the Tanami Road took its toll.

And remember to please slow down for an approaching vehicle as stones go flying even on the best of gravel roads

Also drop your tyre pressures accordingly and especially on the van so that it gives a better ride towing and so that the suspension does not take a hammering.

AnswerID: 315983

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:08

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:08
Gday Willem,
Agree 100% about dropping pressures on corrugations - I'd rather risk tyre damage than trash the vehicle or trailer.

Tyre temperatures are interesting though. A friend has wireless monitors that measure temperature and pressure on each tyre. Running gravel roads at 28psi and 80kph is never a problem, but do the same over corrugations and the temperatures can rise a heap.

In late 2005 I did the Anne Beadell/ Connie Sue/ Gunbarrell Hwy during a heatwave - 45 degrees during the day and was running 20/25psi. 3 months later noticed slight sidewall bulges in the MTRs. Goodyear replaced the MTRs, but in hindsight, I reckon it was that trip that caused the sidewall delamination. But we did 3 weeks of bad corrugations without any damage to suspension or vehicle. The tyres sure felt hot though.

FollowupID: 582273

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:22

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 09:22
Morning Phil

It is bleak and wet day here on the edge of the Outback so I am staying indoors

I run my rags at 40psi cold on the bitumen. Last week I dropped them to 28 on the GQ and 20 on the trailer along the Strzelecki. The ride was still harder than expected. So on the way south I dropped them to 22psi cold and had a very smooth ride all the way back to the bitumen. Rag tyres can heat up by 10psi over a long distance. No problem with delamination but the tread doesn't last all that long...lol

FollowupID: 582278

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:04

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:04
We killed a Goodyear AT Silent Armour on the Gibb River Rd because of corrugations - 26psi and 70-80kmh - heated up and just broke the bead. Trashed the sidewall. The opposite tyre was so bloody hot to the touch I reckon you'd have burnt your hand after 10 seconds of contact.

After that we cranked up the tyres to 30psi and kept our speed around 60-70kmh, no more tyre dramas. No broken stubbies either - I reckon that's a good indication that the tyres/suspension were working! Did see a guy at Drysdale with broken spring hangers on a camper trailer - but he admitted to driving at 100kmh and seeing it bounce airborne behind him in order to keep up with a mate!!!

We did the Ernest Giles Rd a few weeks earlier with the same pressures/max speeds - very sandy, very few corrugations - tyres were nowhere near as hot.
FollowupID: 582421

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:43

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 14:43
Gday Scubaroo,
I used to think the tyre temp/pressure monitors were a toy, but its a pretty useful bit of info. I hadn't appreciated how hot a tyre could get from bad corrugations, probably because I usually travel in winter. Always something to learn!

I'm tossing up about whether to get another set of Silent Armours. No complaints - 43,000k of trips from a set of 4 and still got 7-8mm tread left. But something more aggressive for muddy tracks might be next - might go with MTRs again.

FollowupID: 582463

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:00

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:00
Hi Phil,

Should have mentioned the Silent Armour tyres were on a Kimberley Kamper - we had BFG ATs on the Pajero.

Cost us $300 for a new tyre - so the monitors only have to save one or two tyres at most to pay for themselves. I won't get one on this vehicle (will probably sell it before the next set of new tyres wear out), but will definitely fit one to the next.
FollowupID: 582597

Reply By: Tony - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:57

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:57
On the road conditions you describe.

1. 80k

2. 60 - 70k and watch for dips.

3. Between 30 & 60.

But as Murpy's Law is always there, drive as you see it.
AnswerID: 315985

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:44

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 11:44
And O'Tooles law says Murphy was an optimist.
FollowupID: 582297

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 13:39

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 13:39
We did the B/ville track last year and sat on 70-80kph towing the supreme. Did the bore track ta couple of weeks ago and sat on about 30-40kph with the odd time higher than this (around 60kph on occassions). Rds around Innaminka were about 80kph up to 100kph all without a flat tyre but pressures on the single axle van were 35psi cold and on the car 28psi cold. So much will depend on your particular setup but amp up the trailers braking agression to help make it slow you down as opposed to the opposite on dirt this will help keep the trailer straight under brakes (not a sure fire fix but it will help).

Happy trails,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 316023

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:59

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:59
Isn't it remarkable how conditions change dramatically from trip to trip. You say you did 30-40 a couple of weeks ago, when i did it a few years back towing a camper i was doing 70-80 in most parts of the Bore Track. It was smooth as and running 28psi n the patrol and camper tyres.

FollowupID: 582435

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:20

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:20
That's right Wayne, it really does change remarkably over time, from good to bad and back to good the following season. We were told not to even try the northern section of the Bore as it was washed out, but when we got to Innaminka, someone else dragged another Supreme (similar to mine) through the northern section the very next day so I wished I had gone with my gut instinct, but you can't risk it out there and I was running low on fuel after the corner had no diesel when I come through.

Here is a shot of all of us on the claypan down the southern end of the bore tk.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 582544

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 22:17

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 22:17
Nice shot brings back memories of wide horizons and big skies

FollowupID: 582552

Reply By: Member - Wherrol- Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 19:07

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 19:07
Thank you one and all for your consdiered replies. Just reached 'civilisation' for the internet.

We so appreicatre everything written. We shall consider all and now have some experience

One can learn so much from fellow travellers.

Thanks again.

Allan and Sharon
Now in Boulia
AnswerID: 316801