Burke and Wills Walk 2008
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 23:05
Willem
The fella who kindly lent the Burke and Wills movie to me so that it could be shown at the National Gathering at
Innamincka, is retracing Burke and Wills' journey next month
Read all about it
here
Amazing stuff!
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 01:40
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 01:40
Hi Willem
What tf is all this fella stuff? your'e not going to start calling women "shirla" LOL
Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 08:21
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 08:21
Fella?
Well why not! Once upon a time it was "Blokes" & "Sheilas" much better than the bland American 'Guys" which, supposedly, is either uni-sexual or non-sexual. In either case you know not which gender is the subject of any remarks.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:04
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:04
Fella is a bush version of Fellow and a term of endearment in my view
Wikipedia states: "A fellow in the broadest sense is someone who is an equal or a comrade. Historically, the term fellow was also used to describe a man, particularly by those in the upper social classes. Nowadays, it is most often used in an academic context: a fellow is often part of an elite group of learned people who work together as peers in the pursuit of knowledge or practice.
Consider yourself informed :-)
Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:53
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:53
Read my comment again carefully Willem. I agree with the use of the word as was used. What I was endeavouring to say was that I decry to preponderance of the word "guys".
Fella, blokes & Sheila's were the common familiarities amongst 'fair dinkum Assies". Guys is an Americanism that has crept into use here in Australia in the last very few years, Willem.
Now please consider yourself informed.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:02
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:02
Maybe it is you who should read more carefully, Brian.
My thread follow-up is addressed to Richard! Richard and I have many a discourse from time to time on a variety of subjects :-)
Yeah and I hate Americanisms too but one gets so indoctrinated by repeated media applications that you have to concentrate not to use them in your vocabulary
Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:47
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 18:47
Willem I seek your forgiveness for my unwanted contribution to your post. I made the submission on the ill-founded grounds that the
forum was open to comment. I was ignorant of the fact that the posting to my e-mail of was not an invitation to respond. But as My Lord Goddard is quoted as saying; “Ignorance is no excuse.”
Consequently, I abjectly apologise for my intrusion into your privacy. Over a period of time I have read of your many submissions and felt that you have been most erudite and interested in promoting the travel in the best country in the world.
It appears that I am most remiss.
As one pensioner to another.
Brian.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:02
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:02
I really do not know what you are on about.
I replied to Richard as a Follow-up to a
Forum Thread and did not take your comments into account. Your Follow-up is a reply to Richards comment and my reply to Richard of nature is posted below that. This is how the
Forum works.
Then you tell me off
Then I explain that I was not speaking with you directly
And now you come across all hurtful
I have NO argument with you and you are free to post whatever you like on this
forum subject to moderation.
Sometimes the English language seems hard to fathom, with all its nuances and the way words may be misinterpreted
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:58
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:58
LOL .. :-)
Sometimes people just don't get it, and when they do, they get it wrong..
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:18
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:18
I reckon Brian would get on real
well with Wombie LOL.
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 07:57
Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 07:57
Thanks Willem, that was an interesting read & I will keep myself updated on their progress. Cheers
Reply By: Member - grant M (VIC) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 00:19
Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 00:19
G'day Willem
Thats a great site, i'm fascinated by the Burke and Wills story and so is my 13yo son who love
bush camping so i took him up to
the dig tree camped at as many of their camps as we could all the way from melb to inna and i has only made us both wanting more.
My boy and myself are going to see off dave at Royal
Park on Friday 1st Aug 4.00pm after visiting the Melb cemetry,museum, library and statue all things B and W.
I allso got him that movie of B and W ( jack thompson )version.
Its a great thing to share with children such a interest in our early history.
Regards Grant M