4.2 TD Patrol

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 05:43
ThreadID: 59929 Views:3804 Replies:4 FollowUps:13
Got one !

Bloody beautiful. 93k on it ....
Problem is,, I was stuffed when I picked it up, mainly tired, and was struggling to get home ...
3 hrs in Melbourne's peak, to "Wonni".
I am still not recovered unuf from the 2 days of meetings, with dikkkkkheads, to fully apprecaite what I have brought.

Now I am wondering where to start ??

Will open up the exhaust in the next couple of weeks, 3" ..
plus dump pipe ! Dyno-tune her

Plus.. Plus...Plus... Plus... Plus ,,the list builds

Got 12 months to get her up to where we think it should be, for the Kimberley's, and the Canning...

Love it ....
Bonus !.......... it has an OME lift kit, and just fits in the garage, out the front ... no need to go to "plan B". by about 18-20 mm

Cheers All

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 05:55

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 05:55
Congratulations Bucky,
If you have as good a run as I have with mine, you'll be laughing.
Now the best part begins, doing the toy up.
Have fun

AnswerID: 316096

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:11

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:11
Toy up !

I like that saying , Wayne !

I do not want the toughest truck in the joint, I'm over that years ago...

Just something that will basically go anywhere I point it, within reason, and come back for more and more, day in , day out !
I have that now. !

A few nice extras, depending on budget, and it's all good

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 582383

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:31

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:31
Suspension and tyres were my first mods,
I got OME too and have been happy with that, 2".
Then some drawers to hold all the other goodies.
I plan on a front locker some time soon.
FollowupID: 582386

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:19

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 13:19
Lets stay unpopular.

Suspension should be the last mod you do..

TOTALLY fit out your truck, weigh it, then take the weights to the 4b store for correct shocks/springs to suit th weight and application...

Mate is now wishing he listed on his GU, he "HAD TO HAVE" a lift in his GU CAUSE IT LOOKS LOW... Not that he had 1 accessory on it yet.

Now he is out flogging his old kit for the correct stuff.
FollowupID: 582452

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:02

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:02
Good reply Truckie...happens all too often that 4bys are set up for around town and drag the bum when they are packed for travel.!

FollowupID: 582502

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 07:30

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 07:30
Bucky,
If you go 285 x 16 75 you will find on the patrols your low range won't be very good, So would recommend either crawler gears or changing diff ratios,Even standard these cars are hard on the clutch when taking off.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 316099

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:01

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 09:01

275x16x75 I think.....but I am of Irish decent, so will leave that alone for now !

Funny thing you mention gears !

2 blokes at work are telling me to get " Mark's Adapters " 33% reduction gear, they recon they are the ANT'S PANTS, in the Vic. High Country..

Bring on that long awaited Lotto win !........( problem solved )

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 582400

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:16

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 11:16
G'day mate and congrats on the new baby!!!! hahaha

I totally agree with the Mark's Adaptors low range gearing as being near the top of the list of "must haves".

I went for the 43% (I didn't know they made a 33%) reduction.

This is 2.86:1 (compared to the standard low range reduction of 2.02:1).

Trevor R (Qld) loves his 86% reduction gearing. Each to his own of course, but I find the 43% is pretty bloody low and I hardly ever need to use 1st low....mainly for steep decents etc.

You'd better post some pics soon, so we can see before and after.....;-))

Have fun "toying up"....... hahahaha (that'll make a change from the sort of toys you usually buy via mail order and which arrive in plain brown paper wrappers....hahahaha)

FollowupID: 582425

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:39

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 12:39
Why not stick with being unpopular.

But I'd go diff ratios over crawler gears and will in few mths when I get the gearing sorted for the Auto.

You can still use your low range as it would std if you do diffs, which is handy from crusing round the bush sometimes, where crawlers root your low range for that. Crawler gears are that.. walking pace crawling..

Changing diffs also makes it better ON road where you spend most times.
FollowupID: 582445

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 17:14

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 17:14
Welcome back Bruce :P
FollowupID: 582477

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:04

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:04
Follow Up.....

Tyres 285/75/16 ...speedo reads 5 km/hr slow..any wonder I was passing heaps, on friday night,......Interesting

Gotta love my little Etrek Legend, to help check my speedo !

Hey Roachie !....I might be wrong about reduction gears,, Who knows,, but I will have those guy's getting into me, when I am back on shift, Wednesday...

Gotta do this,, gotta do that,, yap yap yap .. You know how it goes..

Problem #2....How do I turn a pristine vehicle into a shooting transporter ......
No animal libbers here ..

Can imagine SWMBO after a night on the foxes...

Instant Squalk Mode........

I think canvas seat covers and rubber mats are the order...and maybe the odd box of chocolates..

FollowupID: 582506

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:13

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:13
Hey Wayne..
Whats news with you...

Dont drop in here much anymore.. too many forums round the place, not enough good ones.

supposed to be painting today, but it rained thank bleep !
FollowupID: 582540

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:53

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:53
LOL good to see that mexican weather comes in handy sometimes eh Bruce.

Bucky funnily enough my 285/75/16 are spot on with my GPS and the wife's Navman s30. The car originally had 16" split rim pizza cutters being a DX. I was surprised when the speedo read correctly and can't explain why.

FollowupID: 582725

Reply By: heldus - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 01:30

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 01:30
Bucky,

our congratulations! Gooood luck and have fun with your new toy and stroke it again and again, they love it, the Patrols :-)

Helga & Gert
AnswerID: 316262

Reply By: Pud & Barb - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:13

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:13
Hi Bucky,
congrats, no more towing troubles now, how is the shack going, I still miss her
cheer's Barb
AnswerID: 316332

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:35

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:35
G day Barb

Bloody hell mate !
The Trak Shak is the best thing we have done in 25 years

Lyn loves it, and at every opportunity we can get we go camping..
Really well geared up now.

Intend doing the Kimberly loop, the Canning, and the Great Central road next year... Leaving late July.. away for only 12 weeks..

Maybe one day it will be for good.. you never know..
More grey nomads..

But while we can still manage it, we hope to cover as many of the Oz deserts as we can..

Then it's into "cutting laps" around OZ ... C-mon "lotto" and it will be sooner !

Say hi to Pud, and the girls..
And thanks for selling us the Trak Shak

Cheers Mate

ps,,,, did I tell you we love it ,,( you bet ya !)
FollowupID: 582642

Follow Up By: Pud & Barb - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:34

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:34
Good to hear she's getting plenty of use. Am jeolous of your travel plans. We just got back from the simpson and the time just flies, am also wishing for the lotto. Read a blonde joke the other day, she was wishing to win on the lotto when GOD sent down a message, help me out here, buy a ticket. LOL I had a mate put mine on while away, not blonde just grey these day's. I miss the shak for the space but this trip Pud screwed a couple of those big plastic tubs in the nose cone of the ultimate so now the girls can't bring all their clothes and stuff inside. That made it a lot better for me as they drive me nuts. Only a couple more years and they won't want to come.Yipee.
Have a safe trip
Barb
FollowupID: 582723