What good are the boys in blue..?

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 19:55
ThreadID: 59955 Views:3733 Replies:16 FollowUps:9
...Just my gripe for the week ....Came out in the wee small hours ..to warm the old girl up this morning.......to find ..some unprivileged a/hole...had decided to .Jimmy open the rear doors on my patrol....and make of with my Engel.....everything else was nicely stacked to one side........made the relevant phone call.and gave detail's and such.......made a reference to all the things inside that where moved as a great start for prints......was told as there was no blood (from the a/hole )no police would be sent out .................................your kidding i replied...so if he /she had hurt themselves breaking in and steeling my property ....police would attend ......??? YES ..was the reply...........we call me crazy ...but i thought the powers that be were there ...to protect such as myself and try and catch the little sods that obtain things others have worked hard to get .......

just disheartened by the non interest of the establishment ...to try and stop these thief's

Bundy

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:03

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:03
Not much to say here but 'tis the way of society & our law enforcement establishments it is too hard.
If in fact the perpertator/s cut them selves then the coppers would have a report to sue you for damages.
The good guys loose out again i am afraid.:)
AnswerID: 316214

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:04

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:04
Be thankful they didn't hurt themselves as then you would be liable for there pain and suffering.
(to protect such as myself and try and catch the little sods that obtain things others have worked hard to get)
Nearly right, but should read to protect the little sods in case you do catch them.
Worlds changing, not always for the better!
AnswerID: 316216

Reply By: oz doc - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:06

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:06
Same thing happened to my folks last week. Had the autofridge in the car, all locked up and ready for an early start.Came out the next morning and it was gone. Didn't take anything else and fortunately didn't damage the car too much in breaking in. Lousy start to their trip.They almost cancelled except someone said if they did - then the so and so's have stolen more than the fridge from them. Oz doc.
AnswerID: 316217

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:09

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:09
Sorry to hear of your trouble Bundy.
Its an unfortunate fact of life that the have-nots want what the have-gots own without the inconvenience of actually working for it.

I have heard of this attitude of police before, regarding petty crimes. Its not worth the paperwork for them to chase up unless you can positively identify the crook. They don't want to touch anyone unless they are guaranteed a collar and conviction.

I guess blood is better than prints because DNA doesn't lie whereas prints can be smudged or there may be many prints from friends and family to sort through.

AnswerID: 316219

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:12

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:12
sorry to hear about your misfortune, its a sign of the times I'm afraid. i hope insurance will cover it.
had a similar thing, five grand worth of marble stolen from work and were not interested. would not even come out. also have trouble with the arsols across the road driving go karts up and down the road. call cops, nothing. even had them on video, not interested.
cheers Shane.
AnswerID: 316220

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:16

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:16
you might have to do some research into a ten print finger print and see how hard it is to get a match or even a half decent print off a great surface let alone a poor surface. And thats if the crooks aren't wearing socks or gloves on their precious little fingers.
Trust me it frustrates me when they can't get prints as well and I am in the job.
AnswerID: 316223

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 02:31

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 02:31
doesnt slow em down in CSI
- they would have had em in the slammer and bundyB fridge back in 1 hour minus ads (44min)
FollowupID: 582559

Reply By: howesy - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:16

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:16
So next time throw some marty sauce around and play dumb and tell them you think they hurt themself bad. Oops not my fault I cant tell the difference officer but while your here.
Just tongue in cheek there but I know what you mean I had the car vandalised (filled the door handle with liquid nails) went to the police to report it and was told to go away and call the police report line where you talk to a civilian clerk who enters it on a computer and its never to be heard of again. Electronic fobbing off and side stepping at its best.
AnswerID: 316224

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:20

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:20
Tell them you caught them in the act and managed to kill one of them but the one with the fridge got away. Then when they get there tell them the truth :)
AnswerID: 316225

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:24

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:24
Plod has far more important things to do to protect the community.

I just got a speeding notice. I was doing 80 in a 70 zone and will have to pay $250 odd and cop 3 points. The average criminal miscreant will get off with a bond and a suspended sentence.

Plod must keep their priorities right. Why would they want try to nick crooks when they can be out collecting tax?

The system is knackered.

AnswerID: 316226

Follow Up By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:59

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:59
Agreed Jim!

When you hide on the side of the road in your speed van people rarely argue with you while you are collecting your quota.

I have had the situation where I could name the thief and give the address where it lived. The thief then argued in court that I loaned him my beer out of the locked fridge in my locked garage behind my locked gate and just forgot about it. He only used the bolt cutters because i 'forgot' to give him the key as well.
I must have done............ because I knew his name and I knew where he lived.

The fact that he was the neighbourhood serial thief and EVERYBODY knew where he lived made no difference.

Him : legal aid brief
Me: Police prosecutor
Result: No crime recorded and no beer!

Ye Gods!!

Craig
FollowupID: 582534

Follow Up By: plusteck - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:17

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:17
They wont attend the crime because there is no profit in it for them, rather have them out making money on fines,
FollowupID: 582542

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:53

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:53
I live in a small country town with escalating crime like assault/break and enter/vandalism etc. The town has been campaigning for more police and finally we got ONE lol.

The extra police officer works daylight hours only, cruising around in an unmarked car pulling over drivers and going over their vehicles and issuing infringement notices for cracked indicator covers or whatever he can find.

I don't know whether to laugh or cry....
FollowupID: 582625

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:44

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 20:44
G'day Bundy

Sorry to hear about your loss mate, hopefully you have insurance and your Engel will be replaced.....as for the boys in blue , i can see where your coming from mate with your disappointment, but i feel for the cops as well, they waste all their time getting these s h ! t e heads to court , and what for?? to be given a slap on the wrist and told ,if you appear before me again in the next whatever , you'll get an even bigger slap on the wrist!!...Or in the case of my next door neighbours who were having a quiet drink last weekend with a few mates , about midnight im laying on the bed watching a bit of telly when all of a sudden i hear some shouting and carrying on so i open the front door to see a heap of young ass holes running off up the road with bits of pipe and baseball bats in their hands, cops come and spend hours interviewing everyone from next door , bring in crime scene boys because there's blood and broken glass with blood on it all over the place,( yep the young lad from next door got the absolute s h ! t e beaten out of him)cops were there until about 4am just to be told by the young lads that they know who these mongrels are but don't want to press any charges because they're scared of repercussions....so what's the point??

Anyway that's my rant for the week ...lol

Honestly hope you get ya fridge back mate , or at least enough insurance to get another one...

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 316230

Reply By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:06

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:06
I would be sending a short note to the regional commissioner of police asking why theft in the area is not being investigated.

At worst he can use it to try and get more staff, at best he can kick some lazy sod for not turning up to a job.

My son was a cop for some years he was a probationary out of the academy and junior at a station when a call came in of a domestic. The 5 other officers present did not want to bother leaving the station to take the call. When lad stood up to go one of the others complained that they could not let a proby go by himself so someone had to leave their computer games to go with him.

On arriving at the house they found an 8 months pregnant woman had copped a beating from her husband and needed immediate hospital care. He always hated lazy cops who would not get off their arse to do what they were paid to do :-(

Most cops are good, but the bad ones really stink.

AnswerID: 316233

Reply By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:08

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:08
..Thanks all ...i didnt think i was that crazy.in my thoughts......i do think the law needs to be looked at and .dare i say it .......prioritized ............catch the bad guys lock um up........and make people feel safe again......even within there own homes.(driveways)....
its not going to happen i know ...but its nice to dream.......
.and yes insurance will cover .get a new one .mine was a tad old ...but ..its the hassle of getting panel and locks done .....cause a little a/hole cant work for things he wants..

Cheers guys ..Bundy
AnswerID: 316236

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:24

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:24
What a bunch of sorry bloody dills....

You'd stop winging it you spend a bit of time with the coppers, and started to understand the sh*t they have to go through.

Who's the first mob you'd ring if you were in trouble in the bush? Get over it!

I've had my fair run in, but I'm bloody sick of clowns putting the coppers down.

Kim
AnswerID: 316243

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:34

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 21:34
The chit they have to go through every day?

I suppose you're right Kim.

Someone once told me; poor bloody coppers, they have to associate with scum 8 hours a day AND have to deal with crooks.

They are a most unusual breed. Not to my liking.

FollowupID: 582546

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 22:01

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 22:01
Gidday Jim

I use to feel that way until I started to have a fair bit to do with coppers around five years ago. Fair enough, there are some mongrels out there, but that applies to any organisation.

All the coppers I've dealt with are fair dickum blokes, and do a lot of community time outside of work. How much do you fellas do?

The copper you talk to on the phone is under resourced. If he doesn't even have a bloody car, do you expect him to walk to the crime scene?

If your going to get stuck into anyone, send the message to the Government. Not the poor sod that has put up with the day to day crap.

Kim

FollowupID: 582551

Follow Up By: S&N - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:14

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:14
hey.... if you don't like the job....leave, its that simple! they are making it harder and harder to get into the police force, so there is obviously enough people applying for the job. if you don't like it, don't want to do it, want to sit around and whinge about it, get out and find another job! but from what the police friends that i have say, they don't want to leave or they would have! for all the bad they have to put up with, they have a lot of good (perks) too!
FollowupID: 582554

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:50

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 23:50
Yeh that's right they all want to do their jobs but are underpaid, under resourced and disinterested, heard it all before and believed it until this.

Back before the cops went over to digital radio i used to monitor their channel in our area when we were in the 4wd.

There was a call about an intruder reported by a lone female occupant of a unit i think and the dispatcher wanted a car to attend. No-one responded and when she started calling individual cars they all had situations they were dealing with that needed them where they were at present.

I was thinking what a busy night, when the dispatcher came on again. "Car to attend Ocean Rd Hurstville, a report of a couple who appear to be making love in the road and are at risk of being struck by a vehicle"

Well you couldn't decipher the radio for a while as every vehicle in the LAC tried to cut across each other and grab that job.

Once the rabble calmed down and a car was assigned to the lovers, the dispatcher said "well it seems now we have enough freed up cars to attend the intruder report from before" and she assigned one of the cars that had called in.

My wife and I almost pee'd ourselves through all this as we laughed so hard and to this day I still don't know if the dispatcher was being very clever or if the lovers in the road was a real call.

FollowupID: 582556

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:16

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:16
Got nothing against the coppers, most are great, down to earth people, who do have to put up with crap every day to make a living. But yes as with any job, if you dont like it then leave. Dont hide behind excuses like that, but the thing is most wanna be there to make a difference in the world, and to give to the community. If they dont who will, none of us cause i bet at least 90% of people couldnt handle it. The thing i have found though is that if you dont think that you have received proper support or assistance then talk to the boss or better go down and see them in person and be polite and dont blame the cops for your bad luck. I have never been the boys in blues best friend coming from a small town and being a young rebel, but they always treated me exactly how i treated them. Yet my mates would always receive the bad end of the stick for giving lip. I always walked away rather happy and grew a good proffesional relationship with some officers that really did settle me down. now that i am a little older i really am grateful that the handful of officers had the time and made the effort to help me out and actually respect me for making the changes.

I was not a thief or anything like that just a typical young fella, Sex, Drugs, Motorcars and Fighting. And now less then 5 years later i have given them all the flick and have never felt better. Thankyou to a handful of Men that changed my life before it got any worse.
FollowupID: 582602

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 02:38

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 02:38
Sorry to hear that but it probabally wouldnt warrent a call out.
last time i had stuff flogged out my camper i drove around the cop shop made a statement and a D came out and atempted (unsuccessfully) to get finger prints
AnswerID: 316266

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 08:33

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 08:33
Several years ago I had reason to call the police over an attempted home invasion. I apologised to the guys who arrived, telling them that I knew that they had more important stuff to do.
I was told that they attend shopping centres if a kid steals $1 worth of goods, and they thought this job was a tad more important.
I remember reading about a guy who was furious when the police took ages to attend a rock through the windsceen incident on a highway.
The local boys in blue were busy with a suicide at the time. You never know, do you?
I know that there are good and bad in every job, but touch wood, I've got nothing but admiration for society's garbage collectors.
AnswerID: 316289

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:34

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 09:34
Bundy Boy,

Don't be angry at the boys in blue. it is all a question of funsing, and that comes from the state government. So contact you state rep and compllain to them.

Naturally, if they had the funding and therefore time they would come out and probably catch the bastard.

A few years ago when our place was broken into. The police came out only because they were doing forensics training and it was conveniant. The teacher had over 30 years experience and the pupil naturally examined everything very carefully. They spent about half a day there and found heaps of prints. The cops tracked the guy down, who was on probabtion, and eventually was jailed for the crime. When speaking to the cop teacher, he said that generally the cases he works on involves bodies, so this was a nice break.

Just goes to show that if the police had enough funding, a lot of these thieves would be locked up, but with the current resources, their priorities lie with more serious crimes.
AnswerID: 316298