New Vehicle Servicing/Warranty

Submitted: Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 11:58
ThreadID: 59977 Views:3577 Replies:13 FollowUps:12
I picked up my new Patrol ute on Saturday, complete with its very impressive heavy alloy tray (see rig pics). Its power delivery is nicely tuned for the rev range where it's needed most, the drive train has a solid and precise feel, and although it is early days yet - only 400km - it seems a far superior unit compared to any other 4wd I've had experience with.

There are a few organisations, Ultratune and Jax to name two, offering new vehicle servicing which doesn't void the new car warranty; they also claim to be cheaper on equivalent standard-interval services. Does anyone have experience with this, and if true, what's the quality and price like ?

If there's truth to this I'll seriously consider it, as I (and many others on this forum) have had very disappointing experiences with dealer servicing - expensive, mistakes, work done badly or not at all.

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:40

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:40
About time you picked it up :)))))))))))))))))))
AnswerID: 316314

Follow Up By: Nic I (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:57

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:57
Hey Craig, about time you turned up, better late than never though !
FollowupID: 582600

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:45

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:45
It is true you can legally get your new car serviced by a non-dealer and if you have a warranty issue that is disputed by Nissan because you serviced it elsewhere you will probably win in the end - BUT - do you have the money, time, grief and stress to deal with it.

You can guarantee that iif Nissan (or any other maker) think they can get out of a claim they will because you serviced elsewhere they will.

I would not risk it - I would stay with the dealer if I could until out of warranty.

Garry
AnswerID: 316315

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:50

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:50
My last 3 new cars have not been serviced by Nissan or any company - just me, Nic.

But if I had a Nissan with 3lt diesel engine I would play safe and go with Nissan service.
AnswerID: 316316

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:13

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:13
>> But if I had a Nissan with 3lt diesel engine I would play safe and go with Nissan service.

BEST advice given. Dont touch it with a barge pole.
FollowupID: 582621

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:12

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:12
It's Ok to do your own servicing whilst the vehicle is under new car warranty as long as your are a qualified mechanic.
FollowupID: 582635

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:55

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:55
given the grenades 100% reliability of history, would you want to give Nissan *ANY* possible ammo to deny a warranty claim once your engine goes BOOM?
FollowupID: 582689

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:16

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:16
You have spent a considerable sum on your truck why risk this with anythig else other than dealer service. Stick with Nissan but prior to each service discreetly mark your oil / air filters and other parts to see if Nissan are doing the right thing by you.
cya
Gary
AnswerID: 316318

Reply By: Louie the fly - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:48

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 13:48
Guy here at work had a quote from Nissan dealer to service his 04 Navara 3.0 TD at around $700 - $750. Same work from Ultratune is going to cost $250.

Having said that, I service my 4Runner 2.8D myself, but I get my Cross8 wagon serviced at the dealer I got if from. Nobody knows these car better than a Holden service centre. Good cheap insurance and the servicing has cost me less than $200 every time.
AnswerID: 316323

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 14:18

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 14:18
G'day Nic, as far as I am aware any licenced mechanic registered
with the appropriate State authorities is able to service your car
& not void your warranty. This doesnt please major dealers who like to charge exhorbitant rates for the same service. However the
point made re the manufacturer being likely to drag his bum over warranty claims may be valid. I had both my new Hilux serviced
by my local garage, at a fraction of the cost of Dealer Service.
But neither required any warranty action. I would not be paying
that premium to the dealer & would find a trusted local business
to do the work. Sure, there are the stories of failures under
warranty but statistically they are rare. I had personal experience
with the Dealer not even lifting the bonnet on the first service
so never went back. A piece of cotton made a liar of that
Service Manager but he wasnt sacked so I walked. I pay less than
$150 for a standard car service, & less than $200 for a 4WD,
including good quality oil. Apparently many are asked to pay $500
or more. Your choice of course.......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 316325

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 14:55

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 14:55
I service mine all the time by the book.
Had numerous warranty issues and the majority was fixed. I was never asked about the service history anytime I took it in for warranty work.
Navara is just over 2 years old and has almost 120 000k's on the clock.
AnswerID: 316328

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:10

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:10
That poor little ute has seen some hard kilometres in its life....still, it soldiers on relentlessly.....LOL
FollowupID: 582616

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:15

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:15
And, U wouldn't believe it....... Only half an hour ago It just got side swiped by a honda CRV...... :(
No damage to the ute but her car has a gouge 2 inches deep at the deepest point. A very nice gouge all the way down her side
FollowupID: 582638

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:56

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 15:56
Went through this when I got my pajero new.

You are right that a recognized mechanic shouldn't void the warranty.

But just to be safe, I did the first 40,000k of the 100,000k warranty with the dealer I bought it from just in case. Thinking that if there is a major problem it should show in the first 40,000k.

Had a couple of minor issues fixed in the first 40,000k, then serviced locally.
AnswerID: 316344

Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:53

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:53
Couldn't agree more with most sentiments here. Use a local mechanic - dealer servicing is not required to keep warranty intact - and at $200 for full service instead of $400 - $600 it makes sense.
You have no check on what the dealers' apprentices do...
I had the water pump replaced under warranty at about 40k on my Hilux without question; it's never been serviced by them (except 1000k). Mind you I keep all receipts from my mechanic, just in case.
There is that niggling question of 3l Nissan issues, but surely that has been sorted by now?

I don't know if doing the first 40k with the dealer is a great idea, though, because it's the chance of cheaper oil or missing filter changes or loose wheel nuts etc etc that drives us away from the dealers in the first place, not just the cost.

My only personal experience of crook servicing from dealers, that I know of, was overfilling the oil by over a litre on a new Honda.

Cheers, John.
FollowupID: 582624

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 17:21

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 17:21
Know what you mean.

Had a few cases of poor servicing from dealers.

I think I set a standard as a niggly customer when at the first service I asked what make and type of oil was being used, so I could supply it in future. They had to check with the chief machanic for that one, and I got on well with the chief machanic. Explained I needed the oil spec in case I had to top it up between changes. (Also know dealers change oil brands on a regular basis depending on the latest deal.)

Reported the oil pressure low on the first service too. Usual 'in spec' reply, but I got some readings from other owners and showed it was not quite right. The sender was replaced.
FollowupID: 582628

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:58

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 16:58
as long as they are a registered mechanic and have an ABN there is no issue.....

we use a mate that use to work for toyota and got sick of his boss, started his own business and took many of the new car owners with him!

DONT GO TO DEALER MECHANICS!!!
AnswerID: 316350

Follow Up By: Bearded Fish - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:44

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 18:44
I have always serviced my new vehicles. I am a motor mechanic and no an ABN is not required.I also sign & date the service book.
FollowupID: 582648

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 08:33

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 08:33
what state you in?
where you get that info from cos as far as nissan is concerned they must have an abn.
FollowupID: 582745

Follow Up By: Bearded Fish - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:08

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:08
I'm from Vic & my current vehicle is a patrol, I did all the services while under warranty with the knowledge of the dealer. I did have some warranty issues which the dealer fixed. I did use nissan parts.
At no stage was I told I needed an ABN. I don't dispute what your saying but I have never heard of the need for an ABN if you have trade qualifications.
FollowupID: 582868

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:01

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 19:01
Nic
interesting looking @ the replies above, I have had the reverse happen.
previous 4wd was a grand Cherokee CRD.
thought I would give the local mechanic a go. first time, left the oil filler cap off. next time, no oil. next time oil half full.
then went back to the dealer, no problems.
probably doesn't answer all yr queries, but my experience.
cheers Tom.
AnswerID: 316372

Reply By: Dunaruna - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:53

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:53
This issue has been put to bed (legally speaking) a few years ago. The bottom line is, the mechanic has to be qualified and only genuine or EQUIVALENT parts used. Many many so called genuine parts are generic - ryco is a prime example, they have and still do defend claims in court - and win.

I had a customer recently who had a a gen3 go kaboom (oil pump gave up), holden didn't want to know about it because it was serviced at a non dealership. After producing documents to prove qualifications and proper parts fitted to the vehicle they had no choice but to honor the warranty, which they did.
AnswerID: 316411

Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:54

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 20:54
If a car saleman tells you otherwise, he is lying.
FollowupID: 582688

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 22:33

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 22:33
I have been servicing my own new vehicles for the past 10 years. All Nissans and Toyotas.

I'd guess there will be good and bad with any workshop - dealership or not. If you choose an independant, then I'd be sure to use Nissan filters, coolant, brake fluid etc and maybe even oils - they sell a special oil for the 3litre Nissans.
AnswerID: 316437

Reply By: Nic I (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:06

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:06
Thanks everyone for your comments - very useful.

One aspect of this which I personally find very important is that dealer servicing doesn't (usually, anyway) allow direct contact with the actual human being who did the work - only a Customer Service Advisor who is usually highly skilled at........customer service, but not often knowledgeable in how vehicles are built, operated, and maintained.

On the other hand if you use a small, local outfit, regardless of whether it's a solo mechanic in his own shop or part of a franchised chain like Ultratune, you can talk directly to the person with their tools on your car. For me, this is a huge difference, and means you can, with luck, build a personal relationship with the people helping to maintain your rig.

AnswerID: 316501