Boyagin Gathering.....How it all went.

Submitted: Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 21:03
ThreadID: 59999 Views:3707 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
What a beaut weekend.

After about an hour on a very slushy York-Williams Rd, having to negotiate fallen trees and a cockys shed, Paula and I rocked in just after lunch on Friday arvo. Evan, Renee and their little guy Lee were setting up camp. A quick gidday and we did the same. It was cold and wet, best to get shelter up asap.
That done, Evan and I headed out for a load of timber for the fire. The logs were very damp but luckily Evan had brought some dry Jarrah and soon had a raging fire under way.

Jim, my outlaw, pulled in about 3.30 ish followed a little later by Craig and Dale and then Eric and Irene. Having made all the introductions, we set about feeding ourselves and all ended up around the fire with a few drinks. Rain came and went all night but the wind had an icy bite to it so everyone except Evan and Jim hit the sack about 8 ish. Those two carried on well into the wee hours.

Saturday morning was a lot better weather wise and we were soon around the fire boiling billys, having cuppas and a good ol chinwag, followed by a bit of brekky and walkabout the area.
Dono rocked in about mid morning and set up his tent then joined us at the fire. [ Amazing how a fire is the focal point and social centre of meetings and gatherings].
12ish saw us firing up the cars for a little bit of a drive on a few tracks. Craigs ute was handy for collecting firewood along the way and it didnt take us long to have him fully loaded. Along the way we encountered a short steep climb over a granite outcrop which we christened 'EO Rock'.

We returned to camp about 3.00, built the fire up and settled round for afternoon tea, ie: beer, wine, rum, scotch and a few nibblies. I really enjoyed listening to the various places everyone had been and the things they had done. By 6.00 everyone seemed well lubed a bit of dinner was the order of the day.

Talk about cheeky bloody Possums, no fear these little buggars. One climbed into the back of Renee's pull-out kitchen and Paula was arguing with another that had a chippie packet over its head in our camper. Meanwhile Dono had just finished cooking some mighty fine ribs for his dinner when a possum climbed onto the table and knicked off with a couple. I dont think Dono could believe it, he had to look into the pot two or three times just to make sure he saw what he saw....hehehehehe.
The drinking, laughing and yakking went on till about 10ish when people started to retire. Eric boiled a billy and when I asked him if he was making a cuppa he said "no,its for the hot water bottle", only after giving him a bit of stick about being an ol' softy, I realised I hadnt felt my own toes for the past 12 hours. Smart lad our Eric.

Sunday 6am Im at the fire boiling up and nursing a small headache when Craig wanders up with a steel hotplate. Sets it up over some nice glowing coals then starts laying rashers of bacon out. The sight, sizzle and smell do wonders for me and my belly starts rumbling. Then he brings the eggs out, and I cant take much more of this, Im just about to head off to grab our pan when Craig delicately cracks an egg over the plate only to watch it gently roll off the edge and into the coals..........the look on that poor blokes face was priceless. Im cracking up even as I type.

By 10.30am everyone was fed and watered and another play on other tracks was in order. Eric had a little problem firing up his car but Dono soon had him up and running. A couple of pleasant hours were spent quietly chugging around the reserve checking out flora and forna. Renee was our resident biologist who was able to answer any questions we had.
Returning to camp we had a bit of lunch before Eric and Irene, Paula and myself, and Dono packed up our gear.

Evan, Renee and the little big guy Lee along with Craig and Dale stayed the extra night.

I hope all got home safely and as discussed another gathering is a must.....Warren/Blackwood area was suggested.....watch this space.

On the way home, Paula said that not only had we just met some new people, we had made new friends. Thats the feeling I had as well. I wish to thank everyone who attended this gathering as you all made it one of the friendlest, funny, relaxed and interesting trips we have experienced.

Kindest regards,

Lionel & Paula.

Reply By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 21:56

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 21:56
Lionel & Paula

Sounds like the weekend was a blast. Am so disappointed that Tracy, myself and the kids couldnt make it down. Still way too much to do before we head out this Saturday, so spent all weekend doing stuff on the car and getting things organized. Despite that I am still totally panicing about the time we have left before we have to head out.

Hopefully we will be back in time for the next EO WA gathering as we sure would like to get to one and put some faces to names.

AnswerID: 316428

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:04

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:04
Thanks Richard, it was a marvelous weekend, everyone got on like a house on fire.

Dont panick mate.....been there, done that.

Find a nice quite place, knock the top off a mellow red, get a pencil and paper out, picture the trip in your mind and jot down all the things that you think of.

Prioritise the list and work your way through it.

If that doesnt work...grab another bottle and a fresh piece of paper.

By the third bottle, the panic usually subsides.....hehehe.

Have a relaxed and enjoyable trip mate.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 582719

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:27

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:27
I'm so sorry we missed it! Sounds like you all had a great time.
I would have loved to see those possums in action :)
As it was I had to put up with Mr drama queen all weekend...one minute we're going, next minute ...."that's it...we're not going!"
What with fitting the new drawer system in the car, and then accidentally breaking my daughters car window while mowing the lawn, bringing about yet more cries of "That's it! We're not going!".....well, I sure wish we had of been chilling out with you guys!
FollowupID: 582722

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:12

Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 23:12
Sounds like i missed a good weekend.

I should have come.

AnswerID: 316451

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 08:12

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 08:12
Hi Al, How did the party in the pub go ?

I didnt do the skimpy thing round the camp fire. It was that bloody cold something would have shrivelled up and totally embarressed me......hehehehe.

By the way, how'd your trip to Mt Elvire go ?
Any problems with the new rig ?

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 582740

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:33

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:33
Lionel

I didnt get there, we had some problems not involving the car.

I will send a mm

FollowupID: 582768

Reply By: briggzee (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:43

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:43
Thanks Lionel and Paula for a fantastic weekend. Your time spent researching the area was really appreciated, allowing the rest of us to experience all the best places in a limited amount of time. Your report is well written and captures the atmosphere spot-on. I'm really glad we wern't put off by the weather (we were questioning our sanity early Friday!). It's amazing how you can throw together a group of like minded people, ranging from 2 to 72 year olds, and have so much fun. All we need now is for someone with the know how to post some photos to make the non-attendees jealous.
We can thouroughly recommend the Boyagin area for a very pleasant stopover especially in spring as it looks as though the wildflowers would be magnificant

Thanks again to everyone for a magnificent weekend and look forward to the next gathering.

Regards, Craig and Dale
AnswerID: 316529

Reply By: Member - V8Diesel (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:40

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:40
It was a beaut trip and I wish I could have stayed another few days.

Great to meet you all and I'll look forward to the next one.

Hopefully I can bring the little one along next time and introduce her to the great outdoors and evenings spent around the fire.

Thanks go out to Lionel and Paula for a very well organised trip (even signposted!) in some stunning countryside.
AnswerID: 316614

Reply By: Member - Eric R (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 23:07

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 23:07
Just to reiterate our thanks to you again.Was a special weeekend and great to meet up with faces instead of names.Geat company,great campfire great location.Hope we can catch up again in the future.

Cheers Eric & Irene
AnswerID: 316677

Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:35

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:35
G'day to all who attended.
Ren Lee and myself had a great few days.
Awesome bunch of people and a great spot to explore.
Those who whimpped out because of the weather missed out!
I will post a heap of photos on my profile page so everyone can check them out.
Hope to catch up again soon!

Evan.....
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

AnswerID: 316842