Back from the Simpson---------------------A fantastic trip

Submitted: Monday, Jul 21, 2008 at 22:41
ThreadID: 60005 Views:3604 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Hello every one,
I hope that every one is back safe from their adventures or still travelling safely.
As some of you will know we travelled the Rig Rd through the Simpson, while not as well travelled as other routes, it was not without it's challenging sections. To those that are are thinking about a desert trip but were afraid about the challenges that a trip out there might entail, please consider the Rig Rd.
A far section of the road is still in very good condition but some of the road across the dunes is completely covered by the dunes and because of the infrequent use a completly new track has to be used.
The highlight of the trip to us was the fact that for over 2 days we did not see another vehicle, we were free to pull over and camp where we liked.
My father at 78 years of age and a couple of strokes came through with flying colours and showed that if your able, go out and do it.
If only the silly bugger would let his tyre pressures down. After using the snatch strap for the second time on his car he let me drop them down.
The high light for me though was the fact that my long suffering wife, the English Rose, Anita, acknowleged that the Jackaroo was more capable then she thought and is planning a Canning Stock Route trip.
The only drawbacks with the Jackaroo is a small fuel tank and the low hanging transfer case, we developed an exhaust leak which I suspect was because the exhaust also drops down low at that point. I saw and heard another T/D jack at Birdsville with a noisey exhaust.
I will update my blog at a later date when I suceed in removing a fair bit of the acumalated red dust from the car.
William.
PS the Desert is adidctive, and I'm a junky
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

Reply By: mechpete - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:11

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:11
the CSR is a great trip .don,t do it solo and have your vehicle very well prepared as it is very remote ,myself and mates did it in 05 from the north to south and the 1st 8 days we saw no other vehicles , wer,e else can you go that long without seeing people that long
pete
AnswerID: 316464

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 07:34

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 07:34
If you go offtrack east of the CSR you may not see anyone for weeks....lol
FollowupID: 582734

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:29

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 00:29
Welcome home shire boy,
looking forward to some pics and notes

AnswerID: 316468

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:29

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:29
Hi waynepd,
will update my blog entry soon.
Its good to be home, now planning next trip.
William

FollowupID: 582785

Reply By: psproule - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 06:25

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 06:25
Hi William, I think we spoke to you or your dad a few times on the way up. Maybe at Maree where the old Tom Cruise truck is? Was your Dad in a new D4D Prado? Glad you all made it through safely and had fun.

We went across the WAA line. We were going to go down to the Rig Road but felt that it might be a bit too easy going and the crew were after a challenge. We only saw one other party in the two days we were on the WAA, while we heard that the French line was a traffic jam at times. All good fun.

Cheers - Pat
AnswerID: 316475

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:17

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:17
Hi Pat,
Yep that was Dad, loves a natter.
At the time Dad was talking to you I had my Uniden UHF/GPS combo out of the vehicle trying to see why it wouldnt work. The thing wouldnt start up so I was checking for dry solder joints etc.
Got fed up with it and put it back in and 1 hour later it started working, go figure.
William

FollowupID: 582781

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 07:41

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 07:41
William

Please to hear that you had a safe and happy Simpson experience

Pic below shows me bogged on the last dune of the Rig Road heading east in 2006(first dune west off the K1line)

AnswerID: 316482

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:30

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:30
Gidday Willem,

I was interested to note your picture of that last dune before the K1. We have just returned from a double crossing of the Simpson and the highlight was that section of the Rig Road. One of our party also got caught on the top of that dune! It was an interesting stretch with very few vehicles. We saw a lone Britz wagon parked by a claypan in the same area. It seems to be a little used part of the Desert. The French Line was very crowded in comparison.
We bumped into John from Vic and his Karavan the next day on the Warburton Track. I noted from his post that he eventually made it to BDV via K1 and QAA. The KK looked huge. I will post a piccie or two when I get a chance to download from the camera.

Kingo
FollowupID: 582767

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:27

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:27
Hi Willem,
We had a fantastic time and really enjoyed it.
My wife, the English rose, Anita was a bit unsure of the jackaroo and thought we would have problems it being such a "dinky" car.
Not a "proper one like".
I think the Rig rd was the ideal first desert trip, having enough challenges but some easy runs as well.
William

FollowupID: 582784

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:03

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:03
G'day Kingsley and Willem, we are at BrisVegas airport about to take a small diversion home for three weeks before heading to Gemtree for a Kimberley Karavan Owners Group gathering in August.

Kingsley we had little trouble on the dunes maintaining momentum which is the secret and of course the L O W tyre pressures and had two small tugs. We met the folk in the hire car and gave them an EO sticker for their car in Frankfurt. Hello Daniel and Katerin. They took the dunes in the stride having studied reccommendations on EO. Third trip to Oz.
FollowupID: 582795

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:00

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:00
Well done mate- I know you were a bit hesitant before your trip. Good to hear all went well.
We'll be on our trip in 3 weeks. Hope you left some sand on BigRed for us !!

AnswerID: 316500

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:59

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:59
Sand, sand bloody sand.
Yep, left enough for you Signman.
Took my spade, but not the bucket.
William

FollowupID: 582812

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:11

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:11
Hey glad to hear your back safe and sound...espec your father!

Jack's are always under-rated but yeah a canning trip in it would require some big changes but thats all homework which is just as fun to organise!

and as for removing red dust....it never goes.....had a local do the simpson etc 15 yrs ago and he still had red dust in the wheel guards when he took them off for a respray and some panel work. Nothing smells better I reckon!lol!

cannt wait to read your blog and see some pics!

Laura

ps...you'd you go putting the tent up everyday????
AnswerID: 316536

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:09

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:09
Hi Laura,
I have come to the conclusion that the interior of the car will get a good dusting.
I think trying to remove all traces of red dust would be impossible.
A warning not to wear white cloths in the car for a while is in order.
The tent went really well, the biggest hassle was trying to get the fly into that bag, every time we got the tent into the bag and zipped up easily we knew we had forgot the fly.
How did things go with you and grenade?
William

FollowupID: 582813