Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:23
Scubaroo
We've all seen them - the slogans on the back of Wicked campers -
well the Advertising Standards Board has told them to clean up their act and remove slogans deemed offensive.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/news/wicked-sexist-slogans-offensive/2008/07/21/1216492321927.html
Wonder what they'll paint on them now! Maybe advice to the renters to stop ducking into caravan parks and nicking free showers?
Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:24
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 09:24
Grrr! Wish this
forum would auto-convert URLs.
The Age
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:39
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 10:39
How can they say the slogan "Save a whale harpoon a Jap" is racist. I see it being environmentally responsible.
Now, "Nuke a Nip" that is racist
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:29
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:29
Yeah The japanese got a man into space.... There was after all a nasty nip in the air this morning....
Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:23
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:23
The Minister for Political Correctness has struck again.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:44
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 12:44
Sadly, Australia is losing its sense of humour.
Jack
Reply By: 318 cruiser - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:46
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 13:46
People should just tuffen up, are these the same people that get offended by seeing NRNR on ute?
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:27
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:27
NRNR always cracks me up when u see a bloke driving with his mate sitting next to him... LMAO
Cheers, Brad
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:08
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:08
The King of Customising, George Barris once said "never go cruising with a guy in the front passenger seat". Understandably, not very cool! I went to get NRNR on my Chevy years ago - they said NO.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 14:19
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 14:19
We think their vans are a hoot.
Wicked should stick to their guns and come up with some more slogans that poke fun at the critics- who need to get a life and a sense of humour.
Follow Up By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 14:40
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 14:40
I thoroughly agree Norm. The wowser police need to get a life and see the funny side of things.
The slogans that they use are not offensive except to the wowsers and political correctness freaks out there.
Follow Up By: Member - Howard T (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:20
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:20
Good on ya Norm. Wish I was
young enough to drive around in one especially with some of the passengers (female variety) they carry.
I reckon its great. Dream on.
Howard.
Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:25
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:25
this has been thrashed out on another
forum and I think the general concensus would be most of them are fine and some even funny, but there are a few that cross the line.
One I saw at
Exmouth was an 'old McDonalds Farm' theme and had picture's of farmyard animals various sexual positions. That ok with you?
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 15:04
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 15:04
Is it just a co-incidence that those who find any remarks about sex to be offensive are the least likely to be the target.
I mean Germaine Greer was and still is ugly as a hatful of bums and she didn't want to be treated like a sex object.
I'd just like to say "Hey Germaine DON'T WORRY!!"
Reply By: floody- Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:48
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:48
A couple that come to mind are, 'I am not a gynecologist, but I'll have a look anyway', or 'Don't drink and drive, smoke dope and fly'.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:12
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:12
I saw one a few weeks ago, on the back of a Bus,
DONE- ROOTIN SO NO TOOTIN.
Daza
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:30
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:30
Damn Political Correctness.
Living in Lakes we have heaps of these come through town. I always look forward to seeing them.
Best I've seen so far was "Men are from Mars, Women are from VISA!"
"The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence, still needs mowing though..." runs a close second.
Hope they stick it out.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:34
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:34
Out of curiousity - in what way are they deemed to be advertising?
Save a whale - Harpoon a Jap???
Do Wicked Campers even sell harpoons?
As far as the other two go, unless Wicked are providing the aforementioned female passengers for a fee I can't see that they constitute advertising either.
If I put one on a bumper sticker on my truck who has the right to tell me I can't? Why if it isn't advertising them is it any different?
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:40
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:40
Gosh I better complain. I found one that degrades blokes:
Ah. Hang on. Balanced perspective on the other side.
For those that are interested they have a great gallery of them on
their website..
Reply By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:54
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:54
As an adult, I find then often witty and mostly funny. But what I do have a problem with is that there is no censorship when
young kids read them.
Now what would everyone say if the same messages were posted outside your kids school? Or on the TV in prime family time?
Follow Up By: WA 1968 - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 23:14
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 23:14
Whilst I found this one funny when we saw it in
Exmouth, I was wondering how I would explain it to my kids if they asked.
On the back was:
"If size doesn't matter.....why aren't there any four inch bleep s around?"
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:57
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:57
I start itching and scratching just at the thought of touching the steering wheel of one of their vans never mind sleeping in one!