New Dual Cab
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 15:52
Member - Howard T (QLD)
Have been looking around at diesel dual cabs and have made a decision that it will either be a hilux or a nissan. Want one that has a turbo and is comfortable. Was leaning towards the nissan because of $ and was talking to my mechanic about it.
He said that he was under the impression that the nissan had a life expectancy of around 200K. And some major work was necessary around this time.
I service my vehicles religiously and I found this a bit strange.
Can anyone advise if this is right?
Howard.
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:23
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:23
G'day Howard
If youy sre talking 3lt Nissan you may be right! Haven't heard of one reaching 200K yet....lol. If you can pick up a late model 4.2 then you may get 500,000K out of it.
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 01:02
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 01:02
4.2 diesel motor in a dual cab???????????????????????????????
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:17
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:17
Yep...Chopped Landcruiser :-)))))))))
Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:24
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:24
I wouldn't know much about that as far as the Nissan and toyota are concerned, but they both use Common rail Injection and High tech computer systems. I should think they'd be similar in life expectancy.
I own a Bitsamissin Triton and I reckon it's better than either the toyota or nissan. But I would wouldn't I?
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:36
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:36
To say one is better then the other is a load of S%*T, we have a current model Hilux and love it but they all have good and bad points and are all just as capable on and off road as each other.
Resale value is a different thing, people buying second hand Hilux's don't seem to worry about the K's they have traveled.
It comes down to personal choice and they say it is the small things that make someone buy one car over the other.
Ford, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Toyota or Nissan you will be happy with.
You have to also understand a lot of people make wrong judgments (specially mechanics) when asked about vehicles, all the new generation of 4x4 utes would have repairs carried out by a dealer as they are still under new car warranty.
Most vehicles we see come through for repairs are about 5 years and older.
Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:34
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:34
Saw the add for the new holden 2day, I think it was called the Colorado, looks the goods, don't know the specs on it though. Probably the same as the Rodeo, but don't quote me on this as I have seen the specs sheet.
Follow Up By: Dirty Smitty - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:36
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:36
Sorry that was supposed to be haven't.
All those years at school, Tafe and Uni and I still can't spellit.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:37
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:37
h ah ah aaa haa ah...
anything more to add mate?
your post brought a smile indeed.
Follow Up By: Dirty Smitty - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:10
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:10
Yeah, I do. Tell me the joke.......
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:18
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:18
oh g'day mate,
i was just trying to work out what you were saying he he...
Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:02
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:02
I have the Navara 2.5CRD.
I am very happy with it.
My mechanic shook his head when I bought it. I sold my most loved Gu 4.2TD 2005 Mod Cab . I needed seats with my new baby arriving.
I find the mechanics (especially
mine as they are comp focused) only like the patrols as they are more hard core.
I tell you these 4x4's are capable with in the limits like any 4x4.
I am more of a tourer not a hard core nut. I think the question is how will you use it?
Reply By: Member - John F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:52
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:52
Howard,
Do a search on Nissan engine problems. There is a reason why Toyo can charge a premium price. I have a current model Hilux and it's great, but I gather the current Triton is also great. They (Hiluxes) are not perfect - clutch doesn't feel that strong, brakes pretty average, rear springs not great - but for what it's designed to do it's good.
Plenty have posted the mods required to ensure the Nissan does not become another "grenade", but why the hell should you have to do that??
Cheers, John.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 12:53
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 12:53
Why do people keep carrying on about the Nissan engine. You are referring to the first incarnation of a new design which, yes, did have problems. Do you have any personal experience with problems with the later model engines? Also he has been asking about a new Navara which is the 2.5ltr which I have not heard of any problems yet. Yes I do own one but I am not trying to justify my purchase, If I had trouble or didnt like it I would get rid of it.
Toyota have also had there share of problems and being a diesel mechanic I have had to rebuild a fair number of engines and gearboxs especially the early model Hilux.
With that, I dont think you can go wrong with any of the later model vehicles it just comes down to persoanal choice.
Rant over
Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 13:52
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 13:52
Hi Chris & Debbie,
Sorry, you may
well be right. I have no personal experience other than seeing two (different) new looking 3l patrols on the F3 with large angry signs displayed re engine problems and Nissan; and a mate who bought a near new (30000km) one to tow his 18 foot van but got rid of it smartly when it could not do so without indicating engine temp too high. And yes, this was a couple of years ago.
Did not mean to upset anyone, but the original poster was not clear as to what vintage he was after. Could still be a few lurking out there with problems that only show up when worked a bit.
There have been many posts not only on these problems, but also the poor dealer/manufacturer response. That "first incarnation" lasted quite a while, though.
Notice I did rubbish my Hilux for its crook brakes, springs and clutch...
Regards, John.
Reply By: bigred70 - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:08