Valve Clearances
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:35
Stephen M (NSW)
Had the valve clearances checked today on the prado. 175k on the clock V6. Mechanic rang me back today and all good. The exhaust valves were all exactly the same, the inlets were a mixture between 1.6 to 1.9 but all within spec. Cams and all what he could see were as new, no sludge, etc, First time I have used this mechanic and must say would recommend him to anyone and very happy with his price and service plus care. I usually use a mechanic at 7 hills but this bloke closer to home, St Marys. The old lux was done at 170k and were out a fair bit (out of spec) They had started to tighten them selves up. Must be more critical on a diesel maybe then a petrol ??? Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:48
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:48
Im guessing the Prado's have bucket and shim setup.I did my Cruiser a few months back and a couple of exhaust valves had just about no clearance and the rest needed adjusting.Most inlets were in spec.Im guessing this was the first time they had been done.90000km HZJ105.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:58
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:58
Hi There Nick, yes they are bucket and shim. Thought I would get them checked as Toyota had always serviced it I doubt (going by service receipts no mention of adjustments) very much they would have ever taken the covers off so thought I better get them checked. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Kroozer - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:25
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:25
Wow, my 75 series has done 300,00 and i dont think they have ever been checked or adjusted. Think i better get them done, reckon i will get any power or economy back? Anyone know about how many hours it would take to check and adjust on a non turbo 1HZ? Just a quick heads up so i know what im in for.
Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:35
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:35
call toyota for a time quote. they have all that service stuff on computer. they will tell you how much and how long it will take.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:09
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:09
Hi There Kroozer, I dropped
mine off yesterday afternoon so that they could work on the motor cold first thing this morning. He had to take the inlet manifold off
mine to get the passengers side rocker cover off. He rang me at lunch time to give me the results of the clearances. He then had to get some new parts, rocker cover gaskets x 2, another one cant remember where it was for, he also had to replace the seals x 6 around where the spark plugs go down into the rocker covers as the old ones had gone hard, and he replaced the plugs while he was at it (didn't really need to but I asked him to) all genuine parts. $195 labour and parts were $135. Was allot cheaper then some of the other
places I rang bar the mechanic at Seven Hills I mentioned, virtually the same price. Had they needed to replace or machine the shims it obviously would have cost more. I would reckon yours would be cheaper as you don't need to take off as many parts and you would only require one rocker cover gasket and also obviously no spark plugs to replace. I think for memory the 1hz just has the inlet manifold running over the rocker cover ??. Worth getting done I reckon especially on a diesel after the difference between my old hilux (diesel) way out of spec and the prado (petrol) in spec as to how the clearances had changed. Both the hilux and the prado were done at the 170k Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:14
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:14
G'day Steve,
just curious, are you running PULP or RULP?
Mine is sitting at 223k and is run on PULP. Put 60L of RULP in it last week, pinging away around 2 thou, maybe the computer needs to adjust to it. Otherwise, running sweetly as it has always.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:08
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:08
Hi there Mr bushfix, na mate just run the RULP, I was told running premium is a waste of money in the prado as it doesn't have an oxygen sensor so just pumping good $$$$ out the exhaust. I'm not sure how true it is but since been told that just stick to the standard stuff. Never had any issues with pinging or any thing. I did hear that the computer will compensate running the PULP but will take about 4 tanks before the computer will adjust itself. Could explain your comment about the pinging. I'm putting
mine on gas on the 13th of next month, this was the main reason for getting the clearances checked so I don't have any issues with burnt out valves. I am adding a flash lube kit as
well just for an extra precaution but have spoke to allot of people over the last 3 months since thinking about the LPG and 99% said they should have done it earlier. I will lose the 90L main and get in its place a 83L gas 67L usable so will lose a bit of long distance range and a tad of ground clearance. I am keeping the main
tank they pull out and going to mount under the new 4x4 off road trailer, so will have an extra 90L reserve on trailer. Then if need be can carry a few jerry's as
well on trailer. See how it all pans out. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:20
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:20
valve clearances should be measured while hot
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:23
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:23
Sam,
On the Prado, clearances are measured cold.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:11
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:11
Sam as Phil has said, cold. Even in the service manual says cold. When I had he lux they gave specs for hot or cold but it was also done first thing in the morning cold, same thing dropped it off day before. Regards Steve M