New rear storage rebuild number xxxxx

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:47
ThreadID: 60039 Views:3918 Replies:7 FollowUps:30
The sun has come out again and the clouds have blown away and now I can concentrate on refitting the rear storage in the GQ. I am still working on another EXTREME off track adventure and want to leave the trailer at home this time around.

Going make up storage so that I can carry 9 jerrycans of diesel and 60 lts of water. This will mean than my sleeping quarters will be closer to the roof but after measuring it I think I will fit in.

The good thing about working MDF is that you can re-use it time and time again althgough I will need to buy just one more 8x4 sheet of 16mm...lol

Will post some pics after it is completed

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:56

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:56
Glad to hear you are planning another trip Willem & will look forward to hearing about your progress with the preparation.

One Question if you don't mind? Are you talking to us, or are you talking to your "Friends who live in the box in your study"? LOL & cheers.
AnswerID: 316579

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:59

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 17:59
Hahahahahahahaha!!!...You are my friends in the box in the study.

And some of you I have met in person.

FollowupID: 582842

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:12

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:12
And that is why this is a good sight. Kev also summed it up in his signature near his rig picture in the lead up to the Innaminka gathering. Cheers.
FollowupID: 582847

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:22

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:22
Barry,

I have had the pleasure of meeting Willem, Judith and Jedda, if you get around to attending the gathering next year you will be able to check Willem's masterpiece yourself :)

FollowupID: 582848

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:29

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:29
Good day there young "lead foot." rest assured every effort will be made to meet & greet other members & I look forward to such an event.
Just as an aside, it is very clear & cold here tonight, ideal conditions for that annual static problem i have!! Honesty, even with a jumper on I get a shock from it when I open the beer frig. Four shocks so far, and one more to come if SWMBI is not counting. LOL & cheers.
FollowupID: 582851

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:33

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:33
She is just getting you back for not getting to the table on time last night ;)

FollowupID: 582852

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:46

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:46
Unfortunatley you a right, in fact I have just been "looked" at again. My wife has a certain way of looking that would scare most people, except me of course.
But I will now log off, just in case, sort of thing, if you know what I mean ? You just have to play it safe or otherwise I mighr regret it even though I rule the roost. LOL
FollowupID: 582856

Reply By: Member - Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:02

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:02
why would u wanto carry 9 jerry cans in your GQ don't u have long range tanks or a roof rack. i have 8 10lt ones that fit nicely on my roof rack nice and low
AnswerID: 316594

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:24

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:24
For the type of travel that Willem does it is not very good insurance to rely on long range tanks and 180L of diesel on the roof rack increases the centre of gravity by a lot.
Diesel is not as volatile as unleaded and the Missan is well ventilated;)

FollowupID: 582872

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:27

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:27
I had a long range tank once on another vehicle and it was nothing but trouble.

Need extra fuel for long distance off track driving. Weight on a roofrack alters the centre of gravity and makes vehicle top heavy. Anyway don't have roof rack anymore either. Have been carrying extra fuel in trailer but want to leave trailer behind as next off track adventure might be too difficult to tow trailer expecially when crossing large dunes.

Its an never ending compromise...lol

FollowupID: 582873

Follow Up By: Member - Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:35

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:35
had 3 long range tanks in different 4wds and never had a drama but u are right it is a never ending compromise change everything just for different trips . but all part of the fun i suppose built a few storage systems overtime myself . try 10lt Jerrys no were near as high and much easier to hold in place
FollowupID: 582874

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:55

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:55
I lay the jerries flat three in a row. Would need 18 x 10lt jerries to make up the 270lts useable fuel. Fuel usage in Low Range over a long distance could be as high as 30/100.

Last big offtrack trip in may this year doing 400km cross country gave me an average of 3.9km/l with a diesel, but that was with a trailer in tow.

I still have to design the storage so that I can sleep in the back of the wagon as well.

FollowupID: 582882

Follow Up By: Member - Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:07

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:07
last trip we did when u guys were at Innaminka i made up a jerry can holder to bolt onto my second spare wheel carrier maybe this might be another option for u anyway have fun designing
FollowupID: 582887

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:33

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 21:33
G'day Willem

How are things up your way mate??
Just reading Justin aboves last comment....i reckon that would look pretty interesting...having 9 fuel cans hanging off the back of your 4by on the spare wheel carrier....you want some extra money for your trips...just think how much you could sell the copyrights for.....hahaha

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 582916

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:43

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:43
Willem, have you thought about cutting a sunroof and getting into your bedroom that way? Haha.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 582935

Follow Up By: Member - Glen O (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 13:18

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 13:18
I have long range tanks but still needed to carry 50l extra diesel in the car. Long range tanks only hold so much!

Glen.
FollowupID: 582995

Follow Up By: Member - Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 19:25

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 19:25
a day late but i meant put two out there to lighten the load in the car borgy. i don't know how much fuel u need glen but i can carry 330lt in my 100 series with long range tanks only need that much for the canning! i also wonder how your insurance company would like u carrying fuel in the car weather it is diesel or not.

but i wont waffle on any more its obvious some people just ain't open to other peoples opinions.
FollowupID: 583063

Follow Up By: Member - Glen O (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 19:53
Hi Justin,
Nothing wrong with your opinion. Most vehicles cant have a tank that carries 330l. My vehicles fuel capacity with the long range tank is 150l which up to 5l's is unusable so only good for 145l's. Most of the time this is more than plenty. Last trip I probably only needed 30l but took 50l. Better to have to much than not enough. Same goes with beer I ended up bring a block and a half back. My jerry cans of diesel are fully retrained in the car with ratchet straps. No safety issue of carrying diesel in the car. Why would the insurance company care? I would be more worried about the disposable gas cans.

Glen.
FollowupID: 583072

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:25

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:25
And to end the discussion...my vehicle isn't insured so I don't have to worry about insurance co's. LOL

FollowupID: 583084

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:26

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:26
Gday glen
u are right better to bring more grog than needed better to run out of fuel i reckon. may bee the insurance company wouldn't but ive never been one for carrying fuel in my 4wd u never no what could happen in a bad car accident or roll over may bee im just being to cautious . I always carry gas canisters on my roof rack but those aerosols ones in the cheap stoves they sell u never no what to do with them. and the last comment wasn't directed at u mate.
FollowupID: 583085

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:45

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:45
Willem - you could always weld an F250 tray to the back of the Patrol LOL. Glad to here you are still planning your next adventure. Would be a shame to sit at home thinking "i could have been - - ". That is why i left my job to take this trip.

Meanwhile we have been at Kununurra for almost 3 weeks, waiting for solar panels to arrive; being replaced under warranty. Every other appliance decided not to work while we were trying to ascertain whrere the problem was - most of them brand new before we left. Now my computer monitor has decided to cover the screen with curtains of colours - so had to buy an add on monitor to get me by. Meanwhile the dodgy Telstra modem only works occasionally, and NextG only in rare places - so have not been on line often.

We had a wonderful trip through the Kimberley - even if we did need the genny most days. If the Lotto ticket i purchased today brings in the big one, we will by the mango farm that is for sale on the banks of Lake Kununurra - all the fresh fresh water rushing by - unbelievable.

Happy planning

AnswerID: 316675

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 07:57

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 07:57
G'day Motherhen and Rooster

We spent some time working in Kununurra back in '82. Emjoyed out sojourn there.

Seems to me you are allergic to electrical things.

Oh yes the Lotto. Will come and visit you by the Mango farm. Sadly I never buy tickets. Story goes that two sisters were driving down the street when the passenger sister said 'Hey Sis could you stop at the Newsagency so that I can buy my lotto tickets'. Said the driver sister, 'Tell you what, I will slow down past the Newsagency and then you can throw your money out of the window'

Take care

FollowupID: 582951

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 09:47

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 09:47
Willem, have bought very few Lotto tickets in my life.
Had an email from a friend saying that her best mate had just won...3.7 MILLION. They don't live that far away.
Hey, it's Wednesday, I'd just better nip down for a Lotto ticket LOL
FollowupID: 582970

Reply By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 00:14

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 00:14
hi willem .last time we met ie (the rambler) and had our coconnuts you will not fit into shorter accomodation unless your weight has decreased some what .Regards pedro .ps off thursday to care take a mineing lease.and find the nuggets you have been looking for.
AnswerID: 316678

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 07:49

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 07:49
Hey Pedro

Is it that obvious :-)

Hope you find some nuggets

FollowupID: 582950

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:08

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:08
Just an abstract thought young fella.

What about a rooftop tent? I know funds are tight and your knees are not 100% but, I picked up one on ebay for $500 for a new project I am working on and it seems to be pretty good.

It hasn't been out in the rain yet, but will soon.

Anyway just another option.

AnswerID: 316717

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 17:27

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 17:27
No thanks, Jim

If by the end of the project I fail to fit in then it will be back to a swag on the boyz tripz

FollowupID: 583036

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:16

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:16
Flog the nissan and buy a troopy . All the room in the world .
AnswerID: 316719

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:43

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:43
If I had wanted a breadbox in the first place I would have bought one.
FollowupID: 583026

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:18

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:18
Why not a roof rack for your fuel?? If it's (9) 20l jerry- that would only cover an area of about 1000x1600 (laid on the sides)..
It would be a low flat load- and of course you do dump the fuel from the jerrys into the vehicle as often as required?? If you're using 30l/100k- then over every 200k you'd be dumping 3 jerrys into the vehicle..
As for the water- why not get the local sheetmetal works to knock you up a custom tank that will fit within the vehicle- or one of those float-pac jobs...

AnswerID: 316746

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:41

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:41
Lots of logic there but not much common sense

Obviously you have no idea off long distance cross country driving
FollowupID: 583025

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:55

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:55
"Obviously you have no idea off long distance cross country driving"??
That's a strange statement and assumption !!

FollowupID: 583029

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 17:23

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 17:23
I figured that you would bite at that statement.

I made the assumption as any traveller with a clear head would not overload the vehicle to such an extent so that the centre of gravity is raised to a dangerous level

9 jerries empty = 36kg
180lts diesel x .81kg = 146kg

Total 182kg plus the weight of the roof rack 40-60kg

That weight, driving over mogul spinifex, and through gullies and creeks and over rocks is not good for:
a. the roof rack
b. the vehicle
c. the handling

FollowupID: 583034

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:41

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:41
"I figured that you would bite at that statement." ...that's also strange- but then I guess you must have a strange sense of humour.
Last night I was looking at some pics of expeditions I had done in my past life. Using LWB ragtop Landrovers, with those skinny bar tread tyres (Olympic I think). We had external 'roofrack' frames knocked up by the boys at Salisbury.
A couple of the Landys had deep V hull 'tinnies' on the racks. The weight would have been about the same as your fuel load- but the centre of gravity would have been far heigher.
I would rate these trips as to what you call 'extreme' .
But then I guess the driving aptitude and attitude would be the governing factor.
Like any situation, you should drive with respect to the conditions of the terrain, and the setup of your vehicle.

FollowupID: 583166

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:07

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:07
Signman

> Like any situation, you should drive with respect to the conditions of the terrain, and the setup of your vehicle.But then I guess the driving aptitude and attitude would be the governing factor<

Maybe you should come on a trip with me in to the Great Sandy Desert and then we can evaluate your insinuations of style and driving competence. The majority of first timers on my trips have espoused great experience of cross country driving until we started to tackle the real stuff and then it has become blatanly obvious they have no idea. I hope you are not in that category.

FollowupID: 583178

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:45

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:45
Thanks for the invitation, but my days of 'off piste' are well and truly over- especially just for the sake of it.
My recreational tripping has been, and will only be to the more relaxed routes like the Beadell Roads, the CSR, -and the Simpson Desert again in a couple of weeks.. !!
As far as my recommendation for your fuel carrying still stands. I note you can't be told and have your own way of doing things- but that's OK.

FollowupID: 583217

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:25

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:25
Just as I thought and have said before...yer all wind.

The object of this post was to let other GQ Nissan owners know what newer ideas are coming to mind in facilitating long distance travel. I come up with new ideas all the time. Some work and some don't. Ideas like what you purport I should do, are to my mind, archaic, and they serve no purpose other than annoyance.
You know nothing about me so don't assume what I do out bush is for the sake of it.

Anyway enough of this. We can agree to disagree. Enjoy your sojourn in the Simpson
FollowupID: 583258