Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:36
EscapeArtists
Gday all,
After a recent weekender up north towing our fully loaded camper...
the weather was absolutely hideous, heading into a head wind of 35 knots+ our 05 100s non turbo really struggled, I am now considering putting in a turbo kit and wacking it on gas/diesel.
any opinions on this would be greatly appreciated.
cheers.
Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:53
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:53
What state are you in.
We fit DTS kits to 100's with good results and also Diesel/Gas
Email me for more info.
bagtp1atiinetdotcomdotau
Matt
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:59
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 18:59
We are in WA mate... whats the percentage of good and bad results you guys are getting?
Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:00
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 20:00
The percentage of "good and bad",
well there isnt really any BAD results, we take them from average of 85Kw and 260Nm to 110Kw and 330Nm with the turbo upgrade with a very safe and reliable setup EGT wise.
Now the gas normally increases that again to around 120Kw and 350Nm remembering they are peak figures for Kw at 4000 RPM and we tend to tune them for less gas right at top RPM because it is not really required up there as much,we concentrate on midrange power (Nm) torque on the gas so you can lift the throttle for diesel (saving money) and still have same power.
Matt
Reply By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:13
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 19:13
i put on a turbo glide kit( garrett t28). i payed extra for a ball bearing turbo cause they 'spool up' easier. i cant even notice any lag . it pulls constant from 600rpm to 3000 ( thats all i go to ).
it went good with the standard chimney , but i made a 3inch straight thru with a hot dog on the end.
it turned a good car into a nice car. 5th gear behind a semi and dont change gears to overtake ,just put me foot down and hang on.
oh... car is a hzj78 with the 1hz engine.
Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 03:52
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 03:52
I have the same setup as Sam, only
mine is the non ball bearing version. Can't fault the Turbo Glide system.
I can now sit in 5th comfortably towing my Jayco at 110km/hr. Long or steep hills will require down change to 4th.
Reply By: Member - Eric R (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:46
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 22:46
Hi.
Had "SAFARI" turbo intercooler put in last year on my 2000 100s nothing but positives.Fuel consumption is slightly down but marginly.Pulls my offroad van 2ton like a dream.
Well worth the upgrade.
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:08
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:08
Thanks heaps for the reply's, I am in the Rockingham (Port Kennedy) area WA and would be keen to try and find someone down this way if possible, i have a few leads but really need some recommendations!
any suggestions?
thanks again!
Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:51
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:51
I've only ever made an inquiry at the place, but you could check out Bunbury Fuel Injection & Turbocharger Service
Bunbury Fuel Ingection & Turbo They do Safari Turbo Kits (and also others).
The other one to check out would be MTQ in
Perth, they sent us some info we requested, seems like a good company.
Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:21
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:21
Not down your way but try
United Fuel Injection in
redcliffe.
Matt
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:32
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:32
Thanks guys.. shall do, cheers for that hey!
Follow Up By: Member - Eric R (WA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:12
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:12
I had
mine fitted at Bunbury Fuel Injection & Turbo very professional and good service.I used to live just outside Bunbury,now live in Mandurah just down the road from you.