KiwiAngler at Well 16..
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 10:54
Member -Signman
I've been keeping tab on our intrepid traveller on that new fandangled SPOT system.
Looks as if he's at
Well 16 at the moment- so Savoury Ck in a couple of days..Just hope conditions are good for him.
That's a really interesting setup, and I imagine it could be utilized in a lot of ways.
I wonder if trucking companys and the like are using it ??
Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 11:10
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 11:10
Can you explain what
the SPOT system is please???
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 11:13
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 11:13
Check out post 59764..
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:18
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:18
Well it looks handy for tracking vehicle movement, although I can't see much detail on the maps they use. I know GPS tracking systems have been around for yonks, and I'd imagine freight companies would be lost without them.
But it doesn't tell you much except where the vehicle is. I doubt that it will ever take the place of HF or sat phones.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:20
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:20
Well it looks handy for tracking vehicle movement, although I can't see much detail on the maps they use. I know GPS tracking systems have been around for yonks, and I'd imagine freight companies would be lost without them.
But it doesn't tell you much except where the vehicle is. I doubt that it will ever take the place of HF or sat phones.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:22
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:22
Oops...:)
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:28
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 14:28
Oops...Oops..
73s
Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 15:10
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 15:10
I've found that clicking on the satellite button at the top right of screen gives more detail. It switches to (I assume) google earth images.
Although, the resolution of images doesn't seem to be as good over the Canning as some other
places.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 15:55
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 15:55
Signman,
Like you have been following Kiwi regularly each arvo, & evening. Pity we couldn't get a message to him, he needs to get up earlier in the morning.....lol, so we can check his movements after brekkie.
Looks like he's at
Calvert Range at moment.
Went and saw a trucking company in
Toowoomba recently, all their trucks are tracked by satellite, between T'woomba &
Darwin, & other destinations.
Just been on Trackstick web site. Looks a similar thingy to SPOT. Video of
young Yank doing 90mph on freeway, Mum springs him on the laptop,"Jack, bring me the keys.." Jack cracks the $hits!!!
Be worth a look. trackstick.com
Hooroo,
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:09
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 16:09
Yep- I reckon on right at the
Calvert Range...
Reply By: Bagwon - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:21
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:21
Just got back from doing Billiluna to