Couple of questions fellas
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 22:45
Kim and Damn Dog
Back last year I purchased a soft floor camper trailer. It's a bit of a chore to set up and pull down again. Doesn't really suit me and the dog because we move around a bit. In bad weather we have an awning which comes off the car and that's pretty much all we need.
I'm thinking about taking the top off the trailer and replacing it with one of those Roof Top tents (on the trailer). A mate gave me a copy of '4WD Action' a few days ago, an I saw an Add on page 149 entitled 'DIY Defender' which shows what I talking about.
Like some thoughts about these tents and how easy they are to set up. I'll have to get the whole top of the trailer re-done but the cost might be too much. The other option is to continue sleeping in the car and using the trailer for it's benefits, and a cart horse.
Second question. As time go's by all my mates want to stay in caravan parks. I don't use them all that much, but it's a bit of give and take I guess. The one thing that dog and I can't do without is a fire. Can you have an open fire in a caravan
park if it's contained off ground? Something like what's been flogged as the 'Flat brazier'.
Kim
Reply By: chisel - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 05:34
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 05:34
Try an oztent or blackwolf turbo instead of the rooftop one. Probably just as quick and more flexible (can take in car if required).
Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 07:30
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 07:30
Kim,
I'm currently developing a small 4x3 Trailer with a rooftop tent, specifically for the Motor Bike Market. May or may not suit you.
If you plan to refit the old one with a r/t tent, it's not that big a deal. All comes down to the right materials and sealing it all up. Might look a little odd though.
Anyway, if I can help give me a call 03 9706 6527.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:35
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:35
I'll give you a call tomorrow Jim.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:06
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:06
Just wondering what size awning (flip over bit) is on the CT?
Assume it is side folding. Trying to think of options.
Hate throwing something out because it is not quite working, and just needs a little modification. :o)
Wife and I have a CT, kids recently gone, so we went for the smaller awning of 8' so it was easier to handle. I know you can get them up to 12' for families. They would be hard to put up.
Got ours smaller since I am the one that pulls it up.
Also put a loop of rope from the top corners so I have better leverage. It stays on the CT all the time. Could also do like we had on the boat for putting up the mast. We stood a piece of 3"x2" soft wood up about a metre and ran the erection rope over that. That way the load initially was more up than back. The timber just rolled forward as you lifted and wasn't used for the last of the lift.
Since a roof top tent also flips over like a CT, just wonder if it would be worthwhile getting the CT awning cut down a bit smaller so it is easier to handle.
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 15:24
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 15:24
Curious to know if you unhinged and lifted the top before pulling over the tent?
T.R.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:38
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:38
Never thought of doing that way on purpose.
Got me thinking now.
Have got caught a couple of times going under to get something and not locking it, then the camper part collapsing after it was up because the bed came up off the trailer.
It would work wouldn't it, and make it easier to get up, then pull the bed back down and lock it?
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:49
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:49
Gidday TR and John
Tried all that. The problem is the weight of the tent section. The roof is 15oz and the sides 12oz. After a fair bit of practice I can just manage it by myself (dry).
The other annoying issue is when the tent is wet after arriving back home. I can't open it up in the garage because of the rafter height. With no direct access to the backyard there is really no where else to dry it out.
Kim
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:20
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:20
Kim, the canvas on my Camel was the same weights as yours, plus I had the extra weight of a thermal roof. It was a piece of cake to pull up and over with the lid up so there must be other factors with yours. With the wet tent, all you can do is leave the cover off and try to prop open the folded layers with EVA or foam or whatever. Some circulation is better than none!
T.R.
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:23
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:23
Oldplodder. Yes, it does work. Once the tent is fully unloaded, go back and pull the lid down and remember to lock it !. this has happened to me a couple of times also - SWMBO who was inside the tent at the time, was not impressed.
T.R.
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:07
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:07
If it's just you and the dog, why not go to a dome tent? We picked one up from BCF for our Simpson Trip, paid $39 for it and it takes about 3 1/2 minutes to put up. For a few $$ more, I'm sure you can get a better quality/larger size tent, and as for sleeping, we bought one of the new range of Coleman blow up mattresses, against my "better" judgement 'cos I HATE those things, but this one is really comfortable and rolls up to next to nothing.
Just a thought is all, you could then possibly downsize to no trailer at all!!
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:56
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:56
Gidday Brian
I'd have to be dragged by a scrub bull to sleep in a tent anymore. Hence the sleeping in the car.
These old bones need to get off the ground.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:16
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:16
Hows it going Kim,
My friend has got the drum out of a small washing machine (stainless) with some small legs welded on that we use for fires in caravan parks.
Works really
well , doesnt fold up flat , can be the right price if you find one in a council clean up.
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:40
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:40
G'day Glenn
Have you ever been knocked back by CPs re using the drum? What about the holes around the sides - don't embers fall out and cause burn marks on grass?
Small legs - how small? No radiated heat burns underneath?
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:24
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:24
Hi Moose,
I guess it depends where you go , some parks probably dont like any fires. We use it at one where fires are allowed but they need to be contained and off the ground.
The holes around the drum are fairly small and dont seem to let too much out.Guess the radiated heat damage depends on how hot you get it, but it doesnt leave damage like having the fire right on the ground.
The legs are about a foot long but with a 3rd welded to the drum.
Glenn.
Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:05
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:05
Hi Kim
I am using a rooftop tent mounted on two racks about 700mm above the floor of a standard box trailer. It's for very much for the same resons you name. A few more: you can use the rooftop tent on the ute or on the roof (!) of the landcruiser. Also, as read here and there is a lot of wisdom in it: no point having a large tent, it's far more convenient to give the kids their own tent, that way they have their own space, and so do the adults.
I have a couple of large galvanized boxes that I can slide out. They also fit in the back of the ute if need be.
I had the trailer anyway so for minimal cost I got a very functional setup. If I go hardcore offroading I don't like a trailer anyway, and for gravel roads this one is solid enough.
Sorry I don't have the image on the web, but I can email it to you if I get your email address. Or can someone help and put it up for me?
Hope it helps
Ted
Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:26
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 14:26
Oh and to answer your questions :-)
They are VERY easy to set up, the ladder gives you all leverage needed to unfold/fold back. Taking the protective cover off is decidedly easier if it's 1300 off the ground (like on the trailer rack) than 2000mm (like on the 4wd - involves acrobatics or small ladder). Probably 3 minute job.
Don't know about fires, but I'd be surprised if they let you do one in a caravan
park (liability, complaints etc). Luckily in the WET tropics there are still some QPWS parks whitout fire restrictions. Common sense, but we'll see how long it'll last...
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:59
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:59
Gidday Ted
I'd be interested in seeing the photographs. my e-mail is kimmc@satlink.com.au
Kim
Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:40
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:40
Hi Kim
Photos are on their way, check your email.
Ted
Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:47
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 13:47
G'day Kim
Mate you may be able to sell off the tent bit as I've seen a few posts on here by people wanting to build their own CT. That would offset cost of modifications. Trading post, ebay, this site.
I imagine that putting it up alone wouldn't be easy. Not real easy for missus and I. Much easier when kids come along and help.
I tried ropes but the angle is just wrong. I'm going to work on a variation of John C's idea re the bit of timber but using a tent pole instead. It's just a matter of getting the angles and leverage right and the damn thing should unfold easily.
Good luck with your dilemma.
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:46
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:46
Got the idea of the post off my father.
Thats how they used to erect portal frames before they had 100t cranes (pre WW2).
Lay the portal frame on the ground, put up a post about the same height as the portal frame at base of the portal frame in the middle. Maybe some side stays on the post. Run a rope(s) over it from the portal frame back to a steam or diesel driven winch, then hoist. Can put a pulley block or two in there for easier winching. By the time the post is at 45 deg, the portal frame is half way up and easier to pull up.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:05
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:05
Moose
Never thought of that. Somebody would certainty get a quality unit.
Kim
Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 15:31
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 15:31
We have a roof top tent on our Defender and works
well for us. I have been on the
lookout for a good off-road trailer (preferably ex -army) which I would mount the rooftop tent onto for trips that I'm not moving every other day......
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:34
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:34
Thank you all very much for your helpfull suggestions fellas. Given me something to think about.
Kim