Submitted: Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:20
stefan P (Penrith NSW)
Afternoon all,
Seems like the battery is dying wont hold a charge for more than a few hours.
Anyways got a jump start this arvo at work, coughed and farted but started with a cloud of un-burnt diesel and now the engine lamp is on?? Car seems fine, drove no worries can't seem to find a fault. I have heard of a reset procedure before just can't remember what it is? anyone know of it?
Any advice on a good replacement battery, this one is at least 2 years old as thats how long I have had the car and has been run totally flat a few times so not a bad run I guess.
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:29
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:29
I think you just unhook the battery for a couple of hours.
I got a cheap battery from supercrap more than 2 years ago for $100 and still going and have drained it a couple of times as
well
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:50
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:50
do you know what the CCA is on the supercheap batt?
cheers stefan
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:56
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:56
Will check and let you know
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:55
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:55
Which ever retailer you use they should have charts to tell you which size battery they recommend for your vehicle in their range. When you ask what is the CCA of the supercheap battery - which one of their batteries are you referring to????????????
Reply By: greenant - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:54
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 16:54
I just bought an Exide battery at K Mart yesterday 25% hope this helps
greenant
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:23
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 17:23
just had NRMA round, the battery is stuffed, only putting out 125 CCA. They quoted $190 fitted for a 670 CCA, is that over the top?
and engine light has gone away now :)
Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:07
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:07
Hi Stefan, batteries looked after should get you 5 - 6 years outta my daewoo lardass ,
well thats what i have gotten out of
mine. Being diesel i wouldn't have a clue!!! But ring around and check?
I asked my sparkie for a 70nm (not sure can't remember) and he quoted me about $220 and thats to use for
camping!!
so sounds about rightish.
Let your fingers do the walking!
Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:52
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 18:52
Stefan
go and see apollo batteries at seven hills, much cheaper at the warehouse
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:46
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:46
would have liked to but needed one tonight, NRMA one is actually 850 CCA for $190 fitted.
Was cheaper than supercheap as
well, they wanted $209 for a 710 CCA
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:30
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:30
Thats not bad Stefan, I bought a 760cca for the lux from battery world in Batt st, cost me $170. Bloody good battery. Ran the waeco as a freezer in the High Country,inverter,computer etc and still had enough herbs to start the old girl the next day no problems. I'm also about to update the one in the prado is only a bleep y 430cca and with all the electrical crap on that compared to the lux I wouldn't trust it plus it was in there when I bought it so don't know the age of it. Might ring NRMA myself and see what they can fit in the prado's battery spot.Big As Possible !! Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:53
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:53
at first I thought $190 was a bit steep but they said 670CCA on the phone but when the guy came out and told me they are 850CCA now, $190 seemed fair enough. PLUS he was the one standing in the rain putting it in and not me!! LOL
As the guy was also saying if this batt shyt itself under warranty make a call and they come and replace. Not have to remove and take to the
shop yourself.
430CCA ???? I think my cordless shaver has more power!! :):)
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:00
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:00
"PLUS he was the one standing in the rain putting it in and not me!! LOL" I'll at least let him do it in the garage !!!
"430CCA ???? I think my cordless shaver has more power!! " LOL :):)
Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:54
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:54
Hi Guys,
One thing about the NRMA batteries is that all the motoring clubs are affilliated and if your battery stuffs up under warranty it can be replaced all around Australia.
Within reason of course, couldnt imagine them popping out to Mt Dare.
Would have to be in an area covered by road service.
William
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:12
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:12
HI STEFAN, meant to ask is it a sealed one or do you have to check by opening up the caps. I want a sealed one as I find allot of acid splash in and around the battery area. I had it on the lux (prior to the new one I got from battery world) and the prado has some already. My one in the lux was sealed. Not sure if any advantages or disadvantages other wise ???
HI WILIAM, good point, never thought of the warranty part of it. I believe NRMA give 2 year warranty,
well they did when I had one put in our old commodore by them (NRMA). Not sure if being a 4wd would change that. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:35
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:35
Yep the sealed calcium jobbies, 2 year warranty
Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:09
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:09
UM, ER, Would this have anyting to do with riding a bike ,and not driving the Gu as much...Lol....Forget costs!!, go Exide the best out there!.
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:16
Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:16
LOL was just about to walk out the door this morning and the heavens opened........um stuff it I'll take the car!!
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:00
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:00
You sure the Missan just doesn't want you to get rid of that crappy motor and replace it with a real Yota one like someone else in your family is doing ;)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:37
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:37
ahhh NO.....If and when I find myself in that boat, It will be 350 Chev power for me :):)