Who makes this ?

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:12
ThreadID: 60111 Views:3270 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Just wondering if anyone knows who makes this version of an aerial bracket that fits on a spare wheel carrier ?
TIA

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:51

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 19:51
Hey Footy,
Does it look like a home made one that's been powder coated?,
or is the paint and weld finish as if it where factory,
AnswerID: 316988

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:04

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:04
Footy, judging by its general appearance in manufacture, notably materials used, the unevenness of the shape of the bracket with the two holes, and the appearance of the welds, I would agree that it is probably home made. Or its made in China. None the less, it probably does the job more than adequately. Judging buy the large gusset (50x6 flat bar is it?), I'd say it was made for a HF whip.

BTW, buggered if I can read your tape measure.
AnswerID: 316994

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:28

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:28
Louie, I can read the tape measure but I have bad news, it has been laced with fly trap material. So be careful
FollowupID: 583348

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:34

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:34
Oh man! That explains the expression on my face. Its kind of ..... sweet.
FollowupID: 583351

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:32

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:32
Footy, I am almost certain its made by the chuckwagon people at Salisbury East in SA. They make lots of differnt types - I have one for my Patrol GU / Codan 9350. Great people (no association etc). They used to supply to the UN when Codan had the contract and I reckon they might still for Barrett's (?).Mine survived SWMBO catching 9350 on our house roller door (after chuckwagon people fixed it up a bit though!!).

http://www.aus4wdstor.com.au/chuckwgn.htm

cheers JD

AnswerID: 317007

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:41

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:41
Thanks to all. I thought it looked like a SA product, then I thought no, homemade sounds about right. Its o/s with a mate, so can't give more detail sorry. I've advised mate of your comments and he says thanks also :)
FollowupID: 583355

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:16

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:16
I was actually bemused to read the 'homemade' comments. They are well made, check weld quality when you see one (photo doesnt help), to very tight tolerances (misses my car body by 5mm when door open which I always felt was excellent engineering). Dont have to look too nice either because you can hardly see it and there is hardly any room to fit it.

Anyway, be sure your mate get detailed instructions, clearances are dependent on getting spacer positions right etc, and obviously they vary depending on the car / bracket.
FollowupID: 583417

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:33

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:33
I've forwarded that, thanks :)
FollowupID: 583423

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 17:58

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 17:58
jdwynn (Adelaide) posted:
I was actually bemused to read the 'homemade' comments.

If you're referring to my comments, the reason for suggesting what I did is that I spend my working days designing and inspecting engineered components and fabrications. It just appears that no design or manufacturing effort has gone into it. The vertical tube seems to be bent at the top, the welds are not spaced evenly and a couple of the welds appear that they have not penetrated well. Also, the bracket with the two holes appears to have been hacked out so it just fits whatever it needs to fit. However, I could be wrong - it might just be the photo. I'm sure it does the job though.
FollowupID: 583488

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:31

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:31
Louie, Footy also thought that. I can only suggest if you're going past Salisbury you stop in and have a look.

For interest take a look at mine in photo. Diffculty with 9350 / GU is that wheel is on the right (e.g. unlike Prado/Pajero) and 9350 much longer than Barrett (910??). So consdier need to fit behind wheel, accommodate door swing and to tuck in antenna so its least exposed. It really is a fair design effort. Benefit of these types of bracketts is that they allow access to the spare wheel with having to remove antenna (those Kaymar one's outside the wheel are not a solution at all in my mind).

Mine has seen heaps of corrungations and snags (trees etc) in the bush, and other than SWMBO catching it on the roller door (LOL) it's been fine.

cheers JD
FollowupID: 583497

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:34

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:34
Sorry forget spell check!! Also meant to say "allow access to the spare wheel withOUT having to remove antenna".
FollowupID: 583499

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:37

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:37
Morning Footy..
What type/breed/brand is this HF antenna ???

eBay Item number: 280248443526

AnswerID: 317089

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:44

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:44
Morning Signman. I have no idea! I've only seen one before, and I've a feeling that it was some kind of manually adjusted thing. Didn't get to ask trhe owner as he was short of time. That was a few years ago and the details fade....like the rest of me LOL
FollowupID: 583425

Reply By: curious - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:10

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:10
Footlosse,
It looks similar to one I bought recently from an Adelaide manufacturer: Australian 4WD Storage & Accessories Ph: 08 8250 2365 (Salisbury)

Mine's fitted to a Prado for Codan autotune. It needed to be modified slightly to refit the spare tyre; the manufacturer reworked it immediately I arrived, made sure everything was right before I drove away. Good workmanship and service. I'd certainly recommend them.

AnswerID: 317102

Reply By: curious - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:11

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:11
Footloose,
It looks similar to one I bought recently from an Adelaide manufacturer:
Australian 4WD Storage & Accessories Ph: 08 8250 2365 (Salisbury)

Mine's fitted to a Prado for Codan autotune. It needed to be modified slightly to refit the spare tyre; the manufacturer reworked it immediately I arrived, made sure everything was right before I drove away. Good workmanship and service. I'd certainly recommend them.

AnswerID: 317104

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:16

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:16
Thanks Peter. They made one for my bro's Prado some time ago...I thought it looked familiar !
FollowupID: 583427

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 10:36

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 10:36
If you reckon it came from SA try this mob they have a great selection of HF, UHF radios and mounts for aerials too. Link I make a point of calling into their store whenever I get down that way.
I.H.N.A.W.T.S.
AnswerID: 317124

Reply By: neil&brenda - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:37

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:37
Not sure, but looks like a GME from vic.
If does the job the problem is???
AnswerID: 317230