Landcruiser 100 series on LPG vs Honda Odessy

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:22
ThreadID: 60116 Views:6000 Replies:6 FollowUps:3

It's me again, I posted a few months ago asking for opinion on what the most practical people mover would be. We got it down to the Honda Odessy but I'm really in love with the Landcruisers and can only thrink of tow ways to justify it

1. A landcruiser on gas must be cheaper than an Odessy on petrol ..
?

2. I have three boys and one on the way and they are getting pretty rowdy in the back seat .. I wouldn't mind a bit of Elbow space.

Would this be right ?? A landcruiser on gas = an Odessy on petrol at 10l/100km

THanks in Advance

Reply By: zumzum - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:41
Lancruiser: 30 lt/100 km = Odysseys: 10 lt/100 km

Think twice about a landcruisers on gas .... very good car but they like to drink ...
I have an 80 series on gas ... she is making me broke!

Luca
AnswerID: 317028

Follow Up By: stans truck - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 15:12

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 15:12
Hi there zumzum you must have a verry heavy right foot mate i use about 20lt around town in a manual i get about 430 km on 90lt gas around town thats with no load or towing juskt me and in the country sitting on 90/100ks about 475km regards Stan
FollowupID: 584258

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:45

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:45
"Would this be right ?? A landcruiser on gas = an Odessy on petrol at 10l/100km"

maybe

Say LC gets 20lt per 100 on gas 20 x 0.75= $15.00

Honda 10lt per 100 on patrol 10 x 1.55= $15.50

BUT tyres for the cruiser are more

services on the cruiser more again

Honda would be cheaper, but my man hood would be reason enough to get the cruiser!!!

Think about it, what bloke dreams about owning a people mover! :):)

Stefan
AnswerID: 317029

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:49

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 21:49
Mate a landcruiser and a honda odissey are like a camp oven vs a microwave. Or apples vs batteries... Good luck comparing them, I would not be game. Sorry this does not help...

I've got a 100 series, yes they are spacious. Has a cargo barrier too, shame it's illegal to keep kids behind it though... Standard have vinyl floor, easy to brush out after the kids bring sand, mud, leaves, branches and toys in. No need to muck around with the vacuum. Diesel is some 13L/100 average, petrol I don't know. I reckon the V8 would use about 20L/100 petrol, then on gas should be slightly more, 25L/100 of gas??

Ted
AnswerID: 317031

Reply By: clv105 - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:01

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:01
I have a 105 with Parnell Prins VSI using 20L of gas per 100km.
Using .70cpl = $14 per 100km

One Honda Sodessy using 10L of petrol per 100km.
Using 1.60cpl = $16 per 100km

I have 4 tin lids and the cruiser is the best of both worlds. Roomy enough to carry 5+ and tour this great country of ours.
AnswerID: 317033

Reply By: siukalo - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:04

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:04
You know what, just listern to your heart. You obviously like a land cruiser, just bite the bullet and get it. From your post, you trying to make a excuse so you can buy a land cruiser. Just do it. If not you will driving that odyssey every day cursing at it.

AnswerID: 317036

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:28

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:28
Exactly as siukalo says.....follow your heart...live it,...... you can always change your mind later
FollowupID: 583389

Reply By: bass_straitener - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 16:52

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 16:52
G'day Open Road,

Our family had the same debate a little while back. We had to choose between a Landcruiser, a Honda Odyssey and a Tarago.

We are owners of a 2002 Toyota Landcruiser GXL on gas. 4.5l/auto.

The gas system installed is a Landi Renzo injected system with scuba tank setup retaining all 135 litres of petrol capacity and 72 litres of gas for longer range.

The negating factors for not choosing the Odyssey were:

Minimal room for storage, prams etc once the third row seating is utilised.
Service costs and insurance costs are higher.
Ability off road/camping etc were limited.
Width of the seating in the back as the kids grow up or multiple baby/booster seats.

On an average week I generally spend approximately $60 in fuel. This gets me a full tank of gas @ 56.9 cents per litre, Coles Express. 72 litre gas capacity and the balance I top up the petrol tank with premuim 98 octane unleaded. It lasts me about 450kms.

Whilst travelling on holidays I get 430-450kms ou tof the 72 litres of gas. Mainly highway driving at 95kms per hour. I must admit I don't drive with a lead foot.

We love the cruiser for its space and both its combination of on and off road ability. I get it serviced at Toyota and a minor service is $280ish and the majors about $690.

Given the recent hike in petrol prices they can be bought for very reasonable prices.

Hope that helps you make a decision. As always I'm just speaking from my experience.

Bruce

AnswerID: 317188

Follow Up By: Member - David K (VIC) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:09

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:09
Hi, Check out the following link regarding LC on gas http://www.lcool.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2668. Four months ago I purchased a 100 Series 4.7ltr V8 with 11,500km on the clock. After two weeks I got it converted to dual fuel. The system I went for was a Pris Parnell (think thats the spelling) injection system. Prior to conversion driving on petrol consumpton was 13ltrs/100km. Now on gas consumption is 17.5ltr/100km. I have completed 11,000km of highway and town driving (85% Highway 15% town) with no issues. My fuel consumption is fairly constant.

Buy the Landcruiser.
FollowupID: 587556