Submitted: Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 19:46
TD100
Evening all,
had a phone call from the injector pump crowd this morning stating the pump was absolutely buggered,took the lid off it and the internals were badly mangled.unable to be reconditioned so its a new pump for it as
well (genuine also ).at least the turbo was still alright.so at least i know now the root cause for the broken crank,some cylinders being overfuelled and some under, like number 6 where the crank broke .still though a 61K pump should not have chit like that,apparently it is not corroded internally so more than likely a mechanical failure only,will check it out myself when it comes back from
adelaide. so once it is running again an EGT gauge is first thing to be done when back on the road.i did get an email from Toyota today stating they would like to inspect it and possibly foot some of the bill.not holding my breath though.so we will see what happens cheers Paul
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:25
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:25
Our 1HZ cruiser was smokey when we got it and we took it back to toyota to be checked out.They apparently got the pump checked and when we got the vehicle back it was no differant, still smokey.Eventually in a differant state we had the pump and injectors recod by the toyota dealer there thinking that it was covered by the factory warranty.Nope, because they said it had contaminated fuel go through it, we had to pay the 5 grand which eventually we got down to 2500 to us and same to dealer we got vehicle from.Ours had 72000kms.
Good Luck
Reply By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:25
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:25
Was your engine standard or had it been modified in any way before the failure
Do you use normal diesel or bio
Regards Don
Follow Up By: TD100 - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:46
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:46
Don,
i have never run bio in it as i am unsure what it will do with my pump,being an electronic controlled diesel probably nothing but i will stick with dino diesel.the exhaust is 3",it has a D-Tronic in it and boost up to 15 PSI,but none of this has any bearing on why the pump internally self destructed. we even supected crook fuel but filter is spotless,only real way to be sure is to have it tested.but going on the injection place it was 'mechanical failure'-- cause ??
Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:32
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:32
Hi There TD100, At least they responded and are going to at least look at it. Should the answer come back as NO we want to know nothing about it then I would start putting the pressure on. Nothing to lose !!!. 61 thou stock as a rock no mods, I wouldn't be as calm as you have been so far. Your talking big $$$ for some thing that should not have happened. Lets see how you go eh. Good luck with it all anyway. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:34
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:34
I wouldn't be so dismissive of Toyota's response just yet, At least they are willing to have a look!
A lot of "other" brand 4WD owners din't even get that when faced with the cost to repair a major engine failure.
I think you will find that Toyota will come to the party in some way.
Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:43
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:43
correct SHANE, nissan didnt even want to know about a broken rear window let alone an engine failure.
Follow Up By: TD100 - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:49
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:49
i hope so cos its one hell of an expense for a new long motor and pump (both genuine) as the car ony has 61k on it i opted for all new gen stuff.
Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:01
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:01
Good point Shane. The "other brand" has the response from their HQ that the problems are all "heresay" and "you bought the thing mate" when speaking to Andrew on 0397974111 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Toyota generally stand by their customers and their product so therefore their customers remain loyal and spread the word. So the "other brand" doesn't feel left out, I ,and many others, also spread the word about their compassion, but the words are different.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:43
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:43
you got my vote on that AJB, for sure.
Reply By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:00
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:00
Did the pump people speculate on a cause of the pump failure
Were they Denso agents
Regards Don
Follow Up By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:09
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:09
Also did they say what parts in the pump were damaged
Regards Don
Follow Up By: TD100 - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:18
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:18
Q1 No
Q2 Yes apparently the only people that can test that particular pump- i will dig out their name,they are in
adelaide.
Q3 No, just said it was beyond repair and another will be required.
i will have it back next week and have a look myself to see if something can be determined at this end. Paul
Follow Up By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:24
Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:24
Was it MTQ in
Adelaide
Regards Don
Reply By: Worm73 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:28
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:28
Hi paul, Again this is my opinion which of course will get some negative responses from others. For an injector pump to cause a crank shaft to break in a Diesel engine there must be other signs prior to crank breakage. If it was number 6 pot where the break has occured there should be signs of excessive piston heat on the crown and the cylinder liner would have to be scored where the piston has grabbed. I would get the long engine inspected by a reputable Diesel mechanic and get there opinions before I would rely on it being solely related to the injector pump. In all my years as a Diesel mechanic I have come across heaps of failed injector pumps with snapped cranks, seized plungers and delivery valves and stuck open governors and where any of those engines had snapped the crank there were major signs of primary failures relating to melted pistons, seized small end (gudgeonpins) and destroyed cylider liners which in turn stopped conrods going down with the crankshaft travel meanwhile the crank continues trying to rotate this twists the crank and then the breakage occurs. I would still relate yours back to a actual crank failure (hairline crack) or weakness. Hey great news that Toyota may help out. Keep us informed.
Cheers Brad
Follow Up By: TD100 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:06
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:06
Brad,
i cant answer most of these question yet as we have not pulled it to bits apart from sump off.as toyota are looking like they want to see the motor we are leaving it together,when and if i get it back i will pull it right down to check all possibilitys.there is a reputable diesel mechanic on my side and he has seen similar things to this before but not on a 1HD-FTE.we will just have to wait and see what mr toyota says.cheers Paul
Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 11:39
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 11:39
TD100
Was your vehicle within the 5 year warranty period??
I understand you had a 3in exhaust, dtronic and boost increased but if vehicle is modified will Toyota come to the party re compensating you for repairs.???
Reason I ask is because I have a 9/2005 auto T/D Cruiser with 3in exhaust HO Safari system. Vehicle has only travelled 26000km.!!!
I have been advised although vehicle is still under warranty till Sept 2008 because of my modifications if I do have a problem Toyota wont honor the warranty???
Whats your situation re this??
Follow Up By: TD100 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:16
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:16
SPRINT-GTO,
well to be perfectly honest i have not told them about those bits,if they want to see the car
well maybe things will be different.but from what i understand also your warranty will be OK but if what you have modified causes the problem they will not warrent it.in my case IF a hairline crack was in the crank and the failing pump pushed it over the edge all my mods should not have affected any of it.possibly more boost but from 12.5 to 15 PSI is nothing.
mine only had the 3 year/100000k warranty and i have now had it 5 years and 4 months(from new) so it is now just a waiting game cheers Paul
Reply By: mechpete - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:00
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:00
I agree with the hairline crack theory , don,t believe it could be caused by the pump , we had a chev 6.5 lt broke a crankshaft driving peacfully down the main street in shepparton a few years ago at under 100k on the odometer
pete
Follow Up By: taswegian - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:23
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:23
HI PAUL,
It is possible to break a grank if the fuel pump element out puts are not exacly the same. the cylinder loadings being different, cause grank deflections also known as webb wobble. Very common in large motors,but not unheard off in small engines..
regards,
TASSIE.