knocking rodeo

Submitted: Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 19:52
ThreadID: 60150 Views:7079 Replies:13 FollowUps:10
HI guys, hoping someone may have some ideas. The new rod is in for its first service (3000km) and to find the source of a rather alarming "knocking" noise coming somewhere from the left side of the vehicle. So far it has the mechanics stumped. Noise occurs on rough/gravel roads or when cornering to the left with simultaneous body roll to right. If travelling in front passenger seat you can feel the impact as well has hear the noise. Sounds a bit like chassis hitting a bump stop but not travelling rough enough for this to be happening. Only happens on left side. Any other rod owners have any similar experiences?Ta in advance.Oz doc

Reply By: patto - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:08

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:08
Hi OZ Doc
Had the same thing happen in my previous Patrol and after much searching it turned out to be one of the body to chassis mounts

Patto
AnswerID: 317220

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:08

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:08
What suspension set up does the Rodeo have? As I am unsure.
If it uses the independent Torsion Bar type, it could be that the Torsion Bar saddles are worn.
AnswerID: 317221

Follow Up By: oz doc - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:22

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:22
Gosh I would hope they're not worn after only 3000kms! Looks like torsion bars at the front and leaf springs at the back.Oz doc.
FollowupID: 583509

Reply By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:50

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:50
I don't suppose it has a bull bar fitted & the bar & body are touching under those conditions causing the knock

Some modern vehicles have fairly soft body mounts & if the bull bar doesn't have enough clearance it can touch the front guards

When you see the bull bar shaking while you drive it is actually the cab moving on the chassis

Regards Don
AnswerID: 317235

Follow Up By: oz doc - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:13
Hi donk, yes it does have a bull bar. Doesn't appear to shake at all. Have given it a bit of heave-ho and all feels solid. Wish I could have it up on a hoist to check it. I'm betting the problem will only be evident when the weight is off the suspension. Still - if the mechanic couldn't find it then it is obviously a tricky one.
FollowupID: 583529

Reply By: GerryP - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:26

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:26
I had a similar noise in my old GQ, turned out to be the floor panel '"springing" over bumps similar to a Rolf Harris wocka board. Amazing how loud it was and the passenger could feel it in the floor. A good whack with a ball pein hammer in the right place destressed it and fixed it for good.
Mind you, I'd be surprised if that's your problem, but you never know - try pushing the floor/firewall with your hand to see if there's any flex or spring in the vicinity of the noise/impact area.
Gerry
AnswerID: 317245

Reply By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:27

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:27
Have a look where the bar & body panels meet & see if you can see any rub marks on either particually on the ends where the bar wraps around

Regards Don
AnswerID: 317246

Follow Up By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:33

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:33
It is not a case of the bull bar being loose on the chassis but more that the vehicle body is rubber mounted to the chassis & normal body movement can cause the body & bull bar to touch

The normal clearance of a bull bar to body panel (on a toyota anyway) is no less than 15mm to allow for this but you see a lot of them mounted with much less clearance than this & this can cuause what you are describing & a lot of mechanics will overlook this

Regards Don
FollowupID: 583536

Reply By: neil&brenda - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 22:50

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 22:50
Maybe a dicky shocker or bush? Worth a look?
AnswerID: 317262

Follow Up By: oz doc - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:01

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:01
That was my first comment to the mechanic. He thought if it was a shoker then it would "do it" constantly. Due to drop the car back in on Monday for him to continue his sleuthing.
FollowupID: 583563

Reply By: donk - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:13

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:13
The japs (or is it the thai's now) screw things together pretty well so i would be looking at anything that has been added on first

Regards Don
AnswerID: 317264

Reply By: neil&brenda - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:22

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:22
Oz, Thanks for the reply. Dont't take "We don't know" for an answer. Under warranty. Get tough! Cause I need to Know!!
AnswerID: 317265

Follow Up By: oz doc - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:48

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 23:48
I get what you are saying. However the mechanic I'm dealing with isn't disputing the problem. He is just admitting he hasn't found the problem yet. Ran out of time today, but he did detail some of the things he checked out. Sounds like he and another even tried to drive it around on the mudflats with one of them hanging out the door trying to figure where the noise was coming from! I get the impression he views this as a challenge to conquer. Certainly has me stumped. I think the bull bar is a possibility as mentioned above. Will need to take a squiz in the daylight tomorrow. Damn but I wish I had a hoist!Doc
FollowupID: 583569

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 00:07

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 00:07
Hows it going Doctor,

I have had similar noises caused by an engine mount that had partially de-laminated .

My Troll was making a hell of a noise but only off road , was the l/h mount that was cracked as well, tried to jack up the sump to see if the mount was cactus but the design of the mount contained everything (except cluncking).

Hope this helps your cause.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 317270

Reply By: Member - Peter (1) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:44

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:44
G'day Oz Doc,

Is yours' a Dualcab Rodeo? If so, check your tool kit and jack which is located under the rear left passenger seat.

I have just bought myself a new T/D DX Dualcab and as one does when first with something new, you pull everything out to check it is all there. I did not secure the toolkit with the bent wheel spanner tight enough and when ever I when over a bump the nut end of it would bang on the floor. Took me a while to find the problem, but when tightened up, the problem disappeared.

I hope this is all it is, because if there is a problem with the new Rodeo, I will be very disappointed. Let me not what the outcome is please.

Peter (1)
It doesn't get any better than this!!!
Peter (1)

AnswerID: 317308

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:21

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:21
Hi Peter. Yes it is a Dual Cab. Checked the tool kit and jack. I also checked the spare wheel in case this was not secured properly. Still no closer to the source of this noise. It is starting to sound really alarming. One thing the mechanic did say about the Rodeo is that they have a problem with the sump. Apparently the new 3 litre engine does not have a sump shield and there have been numerous cases of sump damage which has resulted in engine failure. The engine is $12000 to replace. A sump shield is approx $200 fitted. He advised us to get one if we were going to use the vehicle off road.
FollowupID: 583614

Reply By: Member - Dirt Thirsty (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:46

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:46
Hi oz doc, I have the 2006 rodeo dual cab and it is fitted with an alloy bullbar and no problem to start with, untill we upgraded the suspension for a trip in the outback and across the simpson. Just after the suspension was done we went away for a camp on a weekend and when we were travelling the gravel roads we heard the same noise you are talking about, couldnt work it out so i went back to the guy who fitted the suspension and he knew straight away. Because the new suspension is a bit firmer than factory we found that the bullbar was knocking on the mudgard as there was only about 10mm clearance. When you grab hold and shake the bullbar it feels really firm , so i adjsted the bullbar and made the clearances no less than 15mm under the mudguard where the bar wraps around under the headlight and havent heard the noise since. Might be the same problem if your bar is to close. Hope you find as i thought our ute was going to fall apart when we first hard it.
AnswerID: 317349

Follow Up By: donk - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:55

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:55
Probably because the suspension was firmer there was more movement of the cab on the chassis on rough roads & this it why the bar & the body was touching

As a matter of interest i had a look at a hilux at work today & toyota recomends no less than 22mm clearance on the hilux (the 15mm i indicated earlier was on a Prado)

I wonder if ute's have softer body mounts than wagons to improve ride quality because they generally have stiffer suspension to carry heavier loads

Customers are often concerned when there is a big gap as it looks ugly but it is necessary if the vehicle is used on rough roads

Regards Don
FollowupID: 583675

Reply By: oz doc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:02

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:02
Thanks to all who have replied. I think we may have found the problem. Have found there are two brackets on the left side(where the noise is coming from) that mount the side steps - these middle two brackets have barely 3mm clearance on the body of the vehicle and when you rock the car from side to side they are connecting with the car. Can see some rub marks here also. Clearance on the right side for the equvalent two brackets is about 15 mm. Will suggest this to the mechanic on monday when he has it up on the hoist. This would explain why noise is on the left only and does not affect steering or handling of car. Would also fit with the noise being predominant when the weight is shifting off the left side on cornering. Will let you know. Thanks again. Oz doc
AnswerID: 317362

Follow Up By: donk - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:16

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:16
Are the steps original or accessories that have been added

Regards Don
FollowupID: 583705

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:56

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:56
Donk- I believe they are after market accessories but were organised by Holden at the time of purchase.Doc
FollowupID: 583719

Follow Up By: donk - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:31

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:31
Good work Oz Doc

Regards Don
FollowupID: 583728

Reply By: tj222 - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 12:00

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 12:00
I have just purchased a LT rodeo dual cab that has the same problem. I have had it to the dealer once but nothing was found.
it is back in there now so could you let us know if repositioning the step bracket on the left helped or not. I also have a problem with it jumping out of 2nd when it is cold and you take the pressure going down my drive (which is a bit rough).After that it is fine. If they find anything i will let you know. Cheers TJ
AnswerID: 317842