Innamincka and Simpson Desert Trip

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 00:01
ThreadID: 60154 Views:4689 Replies:7 FollowUps:27

Truckster I reckon is going out of his mind I reckon waiting for me to post about our trip so I am gunna put him out of his misery!!

We had a great time at the National Gathering and particularly enjoyed our six days at Innamincka catching yabbies - we did pretty well as you can seeImage Could Not Be Found

We had a great time catching up with old friends and meeting new friends so thanks to those of you who helped with all the organisation.

We were lucky enough to meet some other guys that we tried to recruit to EO - and got them to come to Birdsville with us. After a day driving Walkers crossing, the Walkers' fell in love with us EO folk and family Walker ended up crossing the Simpson with us. (Husband, wife and three kids).

Enjoyed our day in Birdsville and got to catch up with the Queen of the desert - the lovely Ruth.

I took the advice of a number of clever people and lowered the pressure of my tyres and when I got to Dalhousie I checked the pressures. I was a bit too busy on the trip across so I did not check them when cold on the way across. I found the pressures were 12 psi on the front, 15psi on the back and the camper was 8psi. Up and down the dunes was dead easy.

I must say that the people we tripped acrossi the desert with were wonderful. Mr Des Lexic and Jim lead us very well. Nick R and his family have become great friends and are Victorians to boot. Ray and Jen were just lovely and we were sad they had to leave early. The Walker family just bumped into us all at Innamincka - not EO people yet - but they were just a super family.

The campers all did the Simpson without much drama. One car did get a little stuck but......

Andrew and JenImage Could Not Be Found

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:26

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:26
G'day Big Kidz, interesting to read your tyre pressures at the end of the trip like that and get those readings. Glad you enjoyed the desert the solitude and the company.

Nick reckons with all the photos, and everything he will have extraordinary difficulty explaining his enjoyment of the trip to friends.

Looks an easy dune for the pic but where the tracks curve there can be quite a loss of momentum which then saps your ability to proceed in soft spots.

Which was the hardest section of the trip- apart from coming home that is?
AnswerID: 317279

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:26

What's he doing off the road, Andrew? Bloody Nissan drivers......lol

Waited for a phone call, until we saw Ruth's photo, and then decided we, and our special hill top camp site, had been forsaken for a mob of bloody sandhills. We've got sandhills here too, Andrew......lol.

Trip sounds good, and you must have had plenty of laughs.

We're off camel racing this weekend,

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 317280

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 09:49

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 09:49
Hi Bob
I am feeling sooo guilty about not coming to see you guys now! I wish we could have had an extra few weeks to do everything ,especially come and camp on the hill. We did have a great time in the Simpson, albeit too short a time, it is a magic part of the country and I feel privileged to have travelled some of it with some great people.
Hope all is well with you guys ..... remember you are welcome here anytime.

Jen xx
FollowupID: 583592

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:24

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:24
Andrew it would have been a great trip, pity we were off on the Anne Beadell and couldnt come along to help Mr Lexic out.... Hopefully on this trip he did remember to lower his tyre pressures and lock the old 50 series into four wheel drive.

Think at times a little of the dreaded alzheimers is mixing with his Des Lexia...... LOL Just lucky he had his young brother with him to remind all the time where he was...
FollowupID: 583597

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:42

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:42
Blaze, funny thing you say about deslexic locking it in 4wd, I reckon he did on the last day, was that right Andrew???
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583617

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:40

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:40
On the last day I did say to Mr Lexic that when he got to the top of one of the dunes he had a lot of front wheel spin and not much action at the back. I asked if he had his centre diff lock locked in and he said no. Now it was my understanding that if you are in a 100 series like ours and are in high range then if one front wheel loses traction, then there will be no drive at the rear. If you are in low range or high range with the centre diff locked, then you get equal drive front and rear. I tried it up a dune in high range without the centre diff locked and it was much harder to get up there - did it by accident on the first day.

FollowupID: 583621

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:11

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:11
Just goes to show the remarkable ability of the 50 series. No dramas, tyre pressure down and didn't need a snatch although I seem to recall a couple of occasions where I had to snatch a P... a Pt.. patr....ol out of a couple of stuck situations.
FollowupID: 583664

Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:28

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:28
What about when you got towed to the fuel station at Innamincka, huh? LOL

RayJen

FollowupID: 583692

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:43

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:43
Where is the proof?? LOL

FollowupID: 583697

Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:26

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:26
No problem, Sir Kev

FollowupID: 583708

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:16

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:16
Hi Ray and Jen

We did not know about this episode - lucky he made it across the desert if he couldn't make it across the dirt of Innamincka..... or was he trying to snatch the rear door of the Paj? Is it fixed now??
FollowupID: 583791

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:43

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:43
The truth is out there somewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Someday it will all be revealed. LOLOLOLOLOL
And Roachie, no need to cancel your new Toyota order because of the photo.
FollowupID: 583810

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:09

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:09
Jeez Ray,
How did you keep that one quiet? That family loyalty BS?

How did the rest of the trip go? and how are Jen & lily?

Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583814

Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 15:07

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 15:07
BigKidz/Nick

All good here (cold as though, we had a hailstorm big-time a few hours ago).

Rear door fixed (should have tried snatching it, Andrew, why didn't I think of that?, new rear window installed (still to be laminated), all dust shovelled out, looks like a newish vehicle now.

Lesson learnt: lamination will hold your windscreen together if temporarily supported by a few strips of duct tape no matter how many bull-dust holes you hit!).

Cheers, RayJen
FollowupID: 583842

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:46

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:46
Ray Ray,

I though you were a mate??? Being a brethren Mitsi Owner I would have thought you would have sent me the intimidating pictures the minute you returned home.

We can only imagine what Mr Lexic would have done with the picture if the rolls happened to be reversed (all be it that would be impossible .... the 50 towing in a Mitsi, it doesnt even deserve thinking about).....
FollowupID: 583987

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:26

G'day Big Kidz

Glad to hear that you had a successful desert crossing. Whets the appetite for more adventures, eh?

Yeah, the youngsters said they had somne trouble on the dunes in their Pootrol. From the pic it looks like hard tyres on the rear...lol

Oh yes, and thanks for helping with the erection of the Taj Mahal and also for a taste of the Little Kidz' yabbies.

Hope to catch up at the Pyrenees. If not, might come and check out the new spare bedroom in November :-)

AnswerID: 317281

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:58

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:58
You are probably right about the tyre pressures Willem, I was however the first one to tackle the rooster track on that dune after everyone else took the chicken track.
I must have compacted it nicely so that the Bigkidzzz were able to drive it just after I was pulled free by a Dasher....
the maxxxtraxxxxx worked well with the snatch strap the 2 times I was a little stuck.......

Mad Cowz
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583587

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:51

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:51
Here you are trucky, some more of what you missed

but then I have to show the real bigkid

Looking at your yabbies did you guys actually get any for yourselves???
I ate 5 of them....

Mad Cowz

Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 317285

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:59

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 08:59
Jeez, photo quality drops off when you shrink the photos
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583588

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:00

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:00
Depends on how you shrink them. Just have them set to a max of 600x800, I think you have shrunk the number of colours too
FollowupID: 583594

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:00

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:00
Are you sure that pic wasn't taken just before he went tits-up? hahaha

Should we now refer to him as "Big Karate-Kid".....wax-on....wax-off.... hahaha

FollowupID: 583611

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:39

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:39
Roachie, perhaps you should ask who is going Brazillian soon then. LOL
FollowupID: 583616

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:38

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:38
I don't want to know!!!! (unless it's Jen and she's gunna post a pic!!!!! hahaha).
FollowupID: 583668

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:21

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:21
Hi Roachie

Just found some candles and are going to melt some wax - not sure if the mossie candles will help with the other problems - what do you think - Jen is unsure - in you experience how should we attack this?

FollowupID: 583794

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 15:52

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 15:52
NO!!! In my considerable experience in this area, I have always found that if you MUST wax, then it is better to use bees-wax.

However, there simply is no substitute for doing the job properly; with forceps and one hair at a time!!!!!! OUCH x 100000000000000
hahahahaha
FollowupID: 583844

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:02

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:02
G'day Andrew and Jen,

Great to catch up with your family and sorry we couldn't stay for the festivities..... In hindsight, maybe we should have, eh!!!??

Tyre pressures!!!!! the key to all things sand related. Well done.

AnswerID: 317311

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:34

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:34
G'day Roachie,

In relation to "Tyre pressures!!!!! the key to all things sand related...." Some manufacturers had found also that higher pressures on broken and corrugated roads also heated shockers up to induce them to fade.

It reckon it goes far beyond just sand issues. You can often take the pressure off your suspension with tyre pressure drops too. It is an important component as is the spring and shocker at many speeds and in differing conditions. Something we all learn of with experience good and bad. The high pressures may improve our fuel economy byt may wreck some of the suspension components.
FollowupID: 583615

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:48

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:48
on that, I left the tyres at desert pressure all the way to Coober pedy then put them up to 26 until wilpena
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583618

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:54

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:54
Gday John,

Couldnt agree more with your comment. It ammazes me how many ppl leave there tyres at Highway pressures when off road in general even, Tyres are actually made to flex. On our latest trip which was across the Anne Beadell, I ran 18 to 20 PSI in the vehicle and 12 to 15 in the Jayco....

Watching the Video is pleasurable with no rattles etc on the corrigations as the tyres are soaking up the most of it.
FollowupID: 583988

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 10:38

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 10:38
Blaze, I think I will work up a post about which of your suspension components is expendible outback. Obviously if you wish to travel at high speed, you go by air :-)))
FollowupID: 583992

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:05

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:05
I reckon the Poooooootrol only got stuck due to the drag caused by the excessively short sand flag ;)

AnswerID: 317317

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:12

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:12
It got a few comments and laughs......
Have to show off some how!!!!!
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583816

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:17

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:17
Good catch you got there...hope they tasted nice!

Glad you had a great time!

Laura
AnswerID: 317344

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:24

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:24
Hi Laura and Red Ted and family
Had a great time there at the gathering - still don't believe that there is a cure for Rabies!! - only post exposure prevention...

However I am getting over the disappointment!!

Nice to meet you all.

Andrew and Jen
FollowupID: 583795