Truck Stop ??

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 09:56
ThreadID: 60159 Views:3381 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
Have you heard that all road transport in the Eastern States will
cease from Monday for up to 2 weeks ? This is expected to cause severe shortages of fuel & food by Thursday, & chaos by the weekend. Thats the goss I got at my local last night, direct from those in the industry. If you are about to set out on a trip you may be wise to make your own enquiries. If not it may be
astute to stock up on food & fuel anyway.........oldbaz.

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:45

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:45
There was an article in our local rag yesterday about it from one of the local transport companies. There was some thing about it on the Charles Wooley radio show yesterday as well. So Iam thing I should fill up the MUs and a couple of jerry's as well, and of course go down to the bottle Oh and top up there to LOL. But seriously if it goes ahead and they stick at it they will be some chaos all right and I think good on them might show these pollies they can not stand over us all the bloody time.

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 317297

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:53

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:53
Fair comment, Bruce, the biggest beef seems to be new travelling & resting times that drivers say are unworkable. Together with
freight rates & differences between States on Weight limits. While
I'm not in the industry it seems their concerns are real, & the locals
seem determined to get an outcome out of this stoppage. The
response to 'How long will it go on?, was "as long as it takes".
cheers....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 583599

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:53

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 10:53
GDAY OLDBAZ

only time will tell on how many trucks will park up.its really up to the individual driver on what he/she wants to do.
yes there will be some shortage on goods and services but this again depends on how many drivers take part.
these guys (myself included) are trying to make some sort of difference not only to the fuel price situation but to a range of laws that are trying to cripple the transport industry.if we can get support on this park up it would be appreciated as a positive outcome on the fuel issue will not only benefit the transport industry but it would also benefit all who use diesel
thanks for reading ,cheers.
AnswerID: 317299

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 11:03

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 11:03
G'day Mark, from talking to local owner/drivers I can assure you
support around here, (Hume Hwy NSW) seems very strong, but
one knows that to park up is a huge financial ask for the many in
tight circumstances. A little pain for some gain perhaps...I wish
you well with it.......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 583602

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:56

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:56
Personally I think this sort of action has the potential to bite them on the bum....There is a really strong groundswell of opinion that intercapital city freight should be done vide rail and IMHO it is only a matter of time before large rigs - especially those that are privately owned and operated - are simply unable to cover the fuel cost let alone other overheads. Bit harsh I know but like small to medium businesses in all fields they will get swallowed by the big enterprises.
AnswerID: 317310

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:17

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 13:17
PATROL22

i agree with what you are saying but if we sit on our hands and say and do nothing what will get done?

i think that it is better to have failed than to not to have even tried. as for putting every thing on rail, do you see new rail lines being constructed or the government buying new rolling stock to carry all this freight?dont think so.

anyway, how much does the government make out of rego's? just think of how many heavy vehicles are on the road, especially semis & b doubles,say @ about $ 15,000 a pop? HUGE REVENUE,eh? just a thought,cheers.
FollowupID: 583613

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:03

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:03
No argument from me for the most part...just stating the facts. Rail is the only possible solution to intercapital/major centre frieght - diminishing oil and rising prices will see to that. Eventually governments will be forced to act with better rail infrastructure but then again perhaps this is also a matter for private enterprise to resolve. The vast majority of rail systems in developed (ie first world) countries are privately owned.
FollowupID: 583623

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:42

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:42
Sorry rail has no compition against road, look at the Adelaide Darwin rail, freight is being moved back to road as it is quicker and less breakage on freight. I live FNQ and the rail has carted the suger syerup untill this year where rail jacked up the price and now trucks carry 25% of the freight as rail put up the price out of the mills budget, next year the % will go up in the roads favour. Col
FollowupID: 583669

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:26

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:26
Reckon the future might be the only arbiter here Col - when diesel gets o $2+ per litre I'm guessing that we will see the Pareto Principle come into play - 80% of the freight will sift back to rail....and I'm also guessing we will start to see large trucking companies like Fox start to run rail companies and state governments will withdraw from this area of business. I will after all be all about profits in the long run and in a post oil/post greenhouse environment that ain't going to be on the roads.
FollowupID: 583690

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:30

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:30
"when diesel gets o $2+ per litre I'm guessing that we will see the Pareto Principle come into play - 80% of the freight will sift back to rail...."

Interstate trains are powered by Diesel engines !
FollowupID: 583766

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 07:48

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 07:48
Yep but you can haul a bloody lot more tonnage of freight per tonne of diesel with a double or triple header. Besides just as it has proven cheaper to electrify the coal and iron ore trains...so to will it be for all other freight.
FollowupID: 583776

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:31

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:31

I hope they do make a Stand, I for one will assist in any way that I
can, we are fed up with the way Truckies are treated, some people
haven't a clue how there Food / Fuel / and every day requirements
are delivered to Supermarkets / Factories / Clothing Stores ect, we
just take these things for granted,
If they can get a better deal re there Rates and Fuel Costs ect,
there will be less risks taken on the roads, they wont have to push
to get to a Delivery Site at a certain time, I hope they stick at it till
they get what they want.

Daza
AnswerID: 317322

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:15

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:15
Yeah Yeah Daza!
I'll drink with you on that!!!!
FollowupID: 583760

Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:35

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 14:35
There is huge support in the industry for action over fuel, timing of rest stops and the availability of rest stops, and rego increases.

In Qld there has been problems with over zealous application of laws, IE: spelling mistakes in log books/minor infringements of overloading (load placement), some drivers being booked for load restraint infringements when challanged the answer is go to court if you don't like it. One driver was told his truck had been doing 200k/h. Now I could believe 199k/h but 200 never.

Don't get me wrong many of the inspectors are good, it just seems like there has been a directive to take a hard line with trucks.

Lots of people will say rail is the way to the future reducing the truck numbers and reducing fuel, this is true BUT rail has to step up and be competitive and efficent before they try to reduce freight on the roads.

Have a look in Queensland at the sub standard rest areas or the lack of them all together. Drivers being hounded because they are out of hours but have nowhere decent to pull up and have a shower and a feed.

Yes the strike will hurt the public/drivers and owner drivers and buisness. Only so much can be talked about around a table and if no out come, something has to give.
AnswerID: 317323

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:05

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:05
here,here!!
FollowupID: 583624