Looking for info on 4runner/hilux/surf

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 16, 2003 at 16:05
ThreadID: 6016 Views:13254 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Im very new to 4wd's. Ive always had sporty cars..

Can anyone describe - or point me to a site that describes the difference between 4 runners / hilux surfs /sr6? etc..
They all look very similar to me

Thanks in Advance.

Reply By: Russ - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2003 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2003 at 22:04
Mark,
I have a Lux and love it.

Have look at this site from 4x4 mag www.toyotasurf.asn.au and it will give you some feedback on surfs. Look good but there may be some draw backs.

With the hilux you can't go wrong. BUT be wary - in SA it is a commercial vehicle and depending on its weight it will impact on you rego/3rd part ins - I have to pay $840 this year then on top it this is the comprehensive ins.

If it were 20 kg lighter, $100 less. BUT too hard to drop it down.

A start anyway.

All the best.

Russ
AnswerID: 25158

Reply By: Member - Peter (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2003 at 22:23

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2003 at 22:23
I have a 4 Runner and I love it mine is a v6 3lt manual Iam getting aprox 8.2 km to the lt on road and about 7km to the lt off road I have added a few things to it see members rigs Peter(wa) if you are looking at one go for the 4 Runner they are built for our conditions and will go anywhere so far mine has not let me down on hill climbs or in the sand ,I have had no ploblem getting parts have a look at
www.top4runners.com/topsites/html/index.html hope this helps buy the way mine has done 185000 km and the motor is just running in , my mate has a 4.8 Nissan I have no trouble going where he goesBorn to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard
Peter York 4x4
AnswerID: 25160

Follow Up By: Performance - Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 08:57

Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 08:57
So is the surf like an import version of the 4 runner?
FollowupID: 17032

Reply By: Member - Peter (WA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 11:08

Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 11:08
Yes the Surf is the import version but as far as I know they have syopped bringing them in so parts may be a problem ,a few mecanics I know dont give the Surf a good review , they are OK on light stuff but are not built for the Aussie off road scene , I know the 4 Runner is a bit more $$ but I feel for a mid sized 4x4 they will go for ever , still being produced in the USA with heaps of 4 Runner clubs aroundBorn to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard
Peter York 4x4
AnswerID: 25183

Reply By: wizzer - Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 18:46

Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 18:46
Mark,

Had my surf 3.5 years now with no problem. When I was orginally looking I was comparing the 4runners with the surfs. The surf I bought has all the electrics, recaro seats and more and this was all standard. Also all the same year 4runners had 30 - 50000 more ks on them. This is what swayed myself in the end. I have not had a problem getting any parts for my surf. I personally get around 11-12lts/100kms either city or hwy. Check out this site http://www.fds.com.au/toyotasurf/. They are built exactly the same as a 4runner including suspension so I don't know what not being built for the conditions means. Funnily enough toyota now bring a turbo diesel in for the hilux. If you want performance go for the new V6 SR5 dual cab hilux

wizzer
AnswerID: 25212

Follow Up By: matttg - Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 20:15

Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 20:15
hi.
i would totally agree with Wizzer. I have had mine 4 years and no more or less problems than any other vehicle.
Check out that site as it is full of alsorts of info.

Matt
FollowupID: 17065

Reply By: al - Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 20:49

Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 20:49
The only gripe i have about my '93 v6 is that the fuel tank is very small at 64litres or so .If you can get one thats had a bigger tank installed ., that will give you about 115 litres or has a 60 litre aux tank where the spare sits underneath. The only other problem is thee,s not much underbonnet space for a second battery etc,but these are not insurmountable . Otherwise the 4runner is a great truck that will get you anywhere.
AnswerID: 25224

Follow Up By: Werner - Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 22:49

Thursday, Jul 17, 2003 at 22:49
Hi Al and Mark,

I have a 1994 2.8L diesel 4runner. I have done about 79000km in 2.5 years without a problem. I have had a 113l fuel tank replace the old 65l tank. The exhaust system had to be modified , so a 2.5" system with extractors was fitted. Increased power and better fuel consumption. Also put hi lift heavy duty springs on to help with the extra weight. Under the bonnet had a second battery fitted behind the passenger head light. Moved the air filter to the rear and had the intake modified to take piping from a snorkel. I wasn't happy with the quality of the work done but it is now operating OK with the exception of loud induction noise resonating through the snorkel. I think I am slowly winning the battle with the noise problem. Apparently the 2.8l diesel motor is notorious for it. Since nobody knows the answer to this problem , it has been a case of $ and trial and error. On a 60/40 city/country run I am getting about 9.5l/100km, while fully loaded on the highway I am getting about 10-10.5 l/100km. During a trip across the Simpson Desert in 2001, I managed 11.8 l/100km (at this stage the long range tank hadn't been fitted). Hope this has been of help.

Werner

FollowupID: 17080

Reply By: shorsfall - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 13:54

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2003 at 13:54
I would get the Surf before the 4Runner. Make sure you get the 3ltr. I bought the 2.4 and have done 30,000Kms no problems. Parts are exactly the same as the 4Runner/Prado anyway. And the diesel engine is the way to go over the petrol.
AnswerID: 25688