White smoke from exhaust

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:10
ThreadID: 60168 Views:14423 Replies:17 FollowUps:12
Hello,
Justa curiosity question, I saw some pics on a club web site of a 3ltr Patrol which had copious quantities of white smoke coming out its exhaust.
Obviously there was a major problem as it was driven onto a flatbed truck. Just wondering what would cause all the white smoke?
Thanks Alan.

Reply By: Dunaruna - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:16

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 15:16
H 2 O
AnswerID: 317327

Follow Up By: westozal - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:58

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:58
If your interested in seeing what im talking about ;
www.westcoast4x4.com.au
click on trips
march 21-24
pics by Rusty
you will see a few pics there.
Alan.
Hope im not offending anyone by posting this ,if i am ..sorry.
FollowupID: 583720

Reply By: CRD-01 - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:37

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 16:37
Yep H20 (water) will certainly cause this problem. either water in fuel, wet air filter or head gasket.
However excess fuel due to a state of non-combustion will also give the same appearance. reasons vary from lack of compression through to injection timing out that far, ignition fails to occur. To many other possibilities to mention.
AnswerID: 317338

Follow Up By: westozal - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:01

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:01
Hello,
The Nissan had been towing a caravan along a bitumen road at the time,appears something went astray, I just had not seen this before hence my curiosity.
Thanks Alan.
FollowupID: 583650

Reply By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:11

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:11
White smoke would usually indicate oil rather that fuel. Fuel will burn black.
Lake Eyre 2011

AnswerID: 317342

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:16

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:16
I thought they blow white smoke when they hole a piston.
AnswerID: 317343

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:08

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:08
Yep thats what I think it is!!

FollowupID: 583764

Reply By: kiwicol - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:21

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:21
the smell will give an indication off whats burning, white is usually oil. col
AnswerID: 317353

Reply By: lizard - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:01

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:01
I saw a 4.2 litre Nissan GU blow a heap of white smoke - which was cured once the tiny mesh filter within the fuel pump was cleaned .... it was starving for fuel at higher revs ....... I don't think that applies to the 3 litres though (more serious I think)
AnswerID: 317361

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:50

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:50
Yep agree with this. When my fuel pump died on my 4.2 i had a heap of white smoke and couldn't get above 15km/h.

I thought black smoke was from too much unburnt fuel.
FollowupID: 583786

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:55

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:55
waynePD - just curious - did you diagnose the fuel pump yourself - or was it the mechanic ???

did he check the little tiny filter inside the pump first ???? - i have heard stories of mechanics rebuilding pumps thats didnt need to be done , simply because the tiny filter was totally blocked causing fuel starvation ....

Boc
FollowupID: 583800

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 16:14

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 16:14
I had him check the filter under the banjo bolt but he said it wasn't in there so someone must have removed it previously.

Being a 2nd hand car it was a possibilty and by this time the car had well over 250000k's on the clock so it was feasible that the pump had died. I trust my mechanic, been going to him for 15 years or so.
FollowupID: 583845

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:30

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:30
engines been cooked. white smoke is half burnt diesel. klack of compression cause rings are stuck together
AnswerID: 317370

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 04:36

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 04:36
Not sure if you are back from China yet but that same 'person' is posting with your details again, the swine!!
FollowupID: 583770

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:32

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:32
Dont know about Nissans but Scania buses blow a heap of stinky white smoke when they blow a turbo.
Lots of fun cos if you dont turn them off quick enuf they will run on the oil until it runs out and then they seize
AnswerID: 317371

Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:39

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:39
Same as a GM 2 stroke diesel. When a supercharger oil seal leaks they keep on runnin'. They just keep on goin and goin and goin (cause it's sucking oil through the seal). Many stories told about them old power plants . Simple engine ,but effective........
FollowupID: 583695

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:59

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:59
Had a MQ diesel that used to blow white smoke whnever the fuel filter needed changing. That's how I knew when to change it.
AnswerID: 317377

Follow Up By: qubert - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:42

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:42
maybe. Usually white smoke on starting means glow plugs are bad.
But nissan maybe different
FollowupID: 583713

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:29

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:29
White smoke is unburnt fuel,,,either by lack of compression (Most common on 3 litre patrols) or bad glow plugs not allowing ignition (most common on 2h landcruisers)....also an air filter restriction can do it...
Black smoke is excessive burnt fuel...
Blue smoke is oil burning
Andrew 95 landcruiser 80 t/d
AnswerID: 317395

Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:29

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:29
White smoke has something to do with Pope I think. When white smoke comes out of the exhaust pipe it means the cardinals have interfered with another alter boy. I'm not religious, and I could be wrong, however. Black smoke means something else again.
AnswerID: 317416

Follow Up By: westozal - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:48

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:48
Hi Bob,
I think those of us who do drive 3 ltr Patrol's do need some divine intervention to keep the wheels turning, so if it's something to do with the Pope then it's all good.....do altar boys make good fuel??
maybe their responsible for the white smoke following your theory......
Regards Alan.
FollowupID: 583836

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:41

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:41
OK, most guessed wrong (especially those predicting another 3L holed piston) but the ones who picked a blown turbo were on the money!!! This vehicle is owned by a fellow club member of WC4X4 and its now back on the road.

AnswerID: 317419

Follow Up By: westozal - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:44

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:44
Hello Captain,
Thanks for clearing it up for me, I have a Patrol 3 ltr as well and was wondering if it happened to me what the cause could be.
Hope I didnt upset you by posting the club site ,which by the way would have to be the best around, what actually caused the problem? Towing the Van?
As mine will tow a van all be it somewhat smaller is there some preventative measure to avoid what undoubtablly was an expensive repair.
Thanks Alan
FollowupID: 583835

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:16

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:16
Hi Alan,

Not sure what actually caused the failure, but towing a van of that size certainly takes some work. I had a GU3.0TD for 5 years and reckon the best thing to do is block off the EGR. Fitting an EGT gauge is about the best insurance for any turbo diesel vehicle, plenty of info in old threads about it. The doomsayers are quick to can the GU 3.0TD, but as long as you have a series III version (late 2002 onwards) I reckon they are a very reliable vehicle.

FollowupID: 583914

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 01:52

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 01:52
white smoke = undefuellng Ive seen it when
- starting with stuffed glowplugs
- Trying to start and run a ute thats out of fuel
- running a ute thats got completely blocked fuel filter
AnswerID: 317421

Reply By: Tasrat - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:01

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:01
mine was blowing white, shortly after a new fuel pump was needed. Acombination of lack of fuel (blockage) and water.
Cheers Paul
AnswerID: 317442

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:12

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:12
last time I had white smoke it was my head gasket blown, a VERY expensive day................
AnswerID: 317465

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:13

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:13
Sorry that should have read HEAD not gasket, still a memorable day though LOL..............
AnswerID: 317466

Reply By: garryk - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:36

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:36
G'day Alan
Theres some wrong info in some replys you have recieved
The rules for smoke are

Blue Smoke = Oil burning
Black Smoke = Excess Fuel
White Smoke = Cold smoke / or incomplete combustion
most commonly seen on start up when glow plugs ( in older style engines ) are not working properly
BUT in this case could be any number of things
in particular cracked head ; blown head gasket ; or the blown piston issue
but anyone who says they are certain of cause without seeing the vechile in question is full of ****
Garry
AnswerID: 317509