Rear storage Stage 1(restart), Stage 2...getting there.......

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 17:38
ThreadID: 60171 Views:4359 Replies:11 FollowUps:26
Thank goodness for MDF. One can re-use it time and time again.

I now have capacity for 200 litres diesel and 70 litres water for extreme trips. Space can be used for whatever when extra fuel is not required.

Still have to remake one more storage bin and sleeping area and some rewiring has to be done as I have moved the fridge to another location.

Compartment next to fridge holds 3 boxes of tools, Trolley Jack, Aircompressor, First Aid Kit

Might have to wait till Monday to get some more MDF to finish the job off(nothing open in the Borough on a Sunday...lol).

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:08

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:08
Gidday Willam

Couple of questions:

1. What are you doing to hold the containers together over rough country. Ratchet strap?

2. Are you putting a sleeping extension out the back of Car? Does'nt appear to have much room to stretch the legs while sleeping.

I'd send you photographs of my rig, but I damned if I can figure out how to post photographs on this site.

What your doing is very similar to my set up.

Kim

AnswerID: 317350

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:11

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:11
Buggar. Carn't get seem to get that name right. Ment to say Willem.
FollowupID: 583665

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:32

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:32
G'day Kim

Forgiven...lol

The fluid containers will be secured via Bungy cord. It works on other aspects of my set up.

I used to be 190cm tall. Probably shrunk a tad now. Nevertheless, there is 2.00 metres space from the back door to the front seat and if the latter is tilted forward even slightly more space.

I now have my vehicle set up for vehicle only bush travel for single fella or with a passenger(the latter sleeps outside...lol). OR travel without having to use the fuel space for fuel OR travel with trailer in tow with more camping gear for extended stays

Putting photographs on this website

First off you have to have your photos in your puter.
Now make a file called Photocopies and copy the photo over to this file.
Then you need a program to make the photo EO website compatible. In other words, shrink it from whatever size it is to 600 x whatever pixels.
Then Save the photo.
Then go to Insert Image below Follow-up box here on the Forum.
Go to Browse and take resized photo from you Photocopies File. Name the file in the box below if you wish and then click on Load. Then it all happens.
Simple when you know how to...... and frustrating when you don't ...lol

FollowupID: 583667

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:53

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:53
Hi Willem,
Just a suggestion, why not cut the sides for your fluid containers down a bit? Make it easier to lift them out and the bungies will keep them upright.
Dennis
FollowupID: 583674

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:04

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:04
Hi Dennis

I looked at that for a while and came up with the right 'mix' as I see it. If need be I can pump the fuel direct from the jerry to the tank without having to take the container out of the wagon. It isn't a problem for me at this stage(tall and strong...lol) but if it were I would go with your suggestion.

FollowupID: 583679

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:53

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:53
Willem,
did you figure out which jerry leaks?
the fumes aren't really pleasant after the first few hours
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583748

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 07:28

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 07:28
Nick,

They weren't the ones that were recently borrowed were they LOL

FollowupID: 583775

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:28

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:28
Nick

Yes. One of the three.

Jerrycan has small fracture at base...probably from bouncing along merrily on steel mesh frame of someone's camper trailer.

I wouldn't fret about it....LOL

Sir Kev

YES!.....lol

FollowupID: 583783

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:38

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:38
Guys, if you say to much Willem will probably pull it apart and start again, again. lol.

Mate, I reckon its a clever arrangement. Just hurry up and finish it so you can come and do mine. I've got all the materials.

FollowupID: 583809

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:18

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:18
We'll have another go and get the spelling right this time

Buggar. Can't get seem to get that name right. Meant to say Willem.

Kim
AnswerID: 317352

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:33

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:33
Bloody hell Willie, you sure know how to "pack it in" hahahaha

Lucky you've got a diesel!!! Imagine those jerry's if they were filled with unleaded??? KAABOOOOOMMM!!!!!!!

Yes, I like working with timber too. I'm just designing and building a new interior fit-out for my cargo box (in readiness for the re-juvinated-chassis'd Patrol in god-knows how long???!!!)

So far all I've been able to do is make a base frame which will hold the air compressor & tank (10kg) and the 2 batteries (60kg) and my tools (about 20kg). All this stuff will be as far forward as possible. The fridge will also be mounted further forward.

All these changes are able to be made now that I've taken the decision to do away with the heavy steel ute tray and the 70 litre LPG tank which took up a huge amount of space within the box and forced me to have a lot of heavy stuff further towards the back than I would have preferred.

Anyway, sorry to bore you with my doings......keep having fun sorting out your finer details....

AnswerID: 317357

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:51

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:51
G'day Bill

Yes, I wondered what you would come up with next after the mishap. The great thing about being 'hands-on' with this stuff is its fun to work it all out. Getting the gear off the garage floor in to its new position and finding something else that needs a place...or SWMBO walks by for an inspection and declares "Where is my toilet bag going to go now?"...Derrrrrrr...bugga...more MDF, woodscrews and angles.....lol. Everything is so piable though and MDF has multi-uses.

I don't envy you though as you have to conside 1 driver and 4 passengers and not just 2 and a dog, like me.

One has to have the Thinking Cap on fairly and squarely

FollowupID: 583672

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:48

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:48
"All this stuff will be as far forward as possible"

Roachie,
Thats music to my ears :-) The other weight you may want to reduce is the towball weight - lets face it, its a long way behind your rear axle, and is pretty good at levering a chassis apart. Maybe install some extra stuff behind the axle on the Ultimate if that towball weight is an issue ??

I trust whoever is doing the chassis work in Adelaide is doing good work.

phil
FollowupID: 583715

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:52

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:52
bill,
You going to put another driven axle under while you are getting the thing engineered?, weight will be less of an issue then!!!
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583746

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:00

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:00
Phil, Yes I've tried to get the balance of the Ultimate as good as possible; when I weighed it a few months ago, ball weight was 100kg; so just under 10%. The towbar on the trol is in the standard position....not extended. When the box goes back on (without the head-board of the tray), it will be about 50 to 60mm further forward too, thus bringing a small amount of weight transfer forward as well.

Once I get this part of the job sorted out, I may still have to consider getting Al Grierson to extend the length of the wheelbase, but use the extra length ONLY to move the load forward (NOT to add more chit on the rig!!!)

Mad Cowz, Whilst I'd dearly love to convert it to 6x6, the cost is just too prohibitive at around $32K.....simply cannot justify. I could get a lazy under it for about $9K, but not all that keen on that idea either.

FollowupID: 583751

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:19

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:19
G'day Bill,

Our Patrol Ambulances in Vic are extended chassis. Completely stuffed a good 4wd for off road use. The extra added buggered the rampover angle and the module weight was an issue also.

Dunno if I'd go that way.

FollowupID: 583765

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:35

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:35
Thanks for that advice Dave,
I was probably only going to look at around 300mm increase in wheelbase and with 4" lift and 35" tyres, I reckon the ramp over would still be pretty reasonable.

But, it's got to be taken into consideration all the same.

FollowupID: 583767

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:49

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 00:49
I'm not sure if ours are extended 300 or 500. But no lift & standard rubber doesn't help.

It's surprising how little extension makes a big difference.

FollowupID: 583768

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:35

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:35
That setup looks great Willem...if you give the mdf a coat of polyeurethane..cabots and wattyl have a water based version that dries like a rocket...it will help consolidate it and also make it more moisture resistant as mdf can be like blotting paper to any fluid spills. You've been busy by the looks of things...like they say...necessity is the mother of all invention. :-)

All the best.
Fred.
AnswerID: 317359

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:57

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 18:57
Thanks Fred

In another life, some time ago, we made a lot of use of Cabothane with regards to MDF. Its a great product. Water makes MDF rise and disintegrate but diesel spills just seems to stain the fibre board with no ill effect.

FollowupID: 583677

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:09

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:09
Looks good, WILLEM. I have given up putting stuff behind the front seats as I sometimes need to put the seats back slightly.
The MDF boxes look very similar to the ones I built for the old FJ55. How do you join the stuff together so that they survive, use brackets? I seem to remember that stuff made from MDF is fairly heavy. Hmm....I guess sleeping next to the fridge could be handy if you have a thirst LOL
AnswerID: 317364

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:24

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:24
G'day Footy

I have positioned the containmers so that I can drive with maximum lean backwards on the seat.

I use 50mm steel angle brackets and woodscrews to secure all. They seem to survive the worst off track driving I can muster.

Yes, MDF is heavy and I would estimate that my total MDF weight to be about 50kg!!!

I turn ther fridge off when I go to bed. Always have my bottle of water, my V8 juice bottle, a time piece, place for me glasses and a hanky, handy for nightly pursuits.....LOL

FollowupID: 583687

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:22

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:22
Gee you guys get suckered in quickly, Its storage for his home brew !

lol

Cheers Will
AnswerID: 317366

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:25

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 19:25
Hahahahahahaha...yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 583688

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:02

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:02
Willem,
Mate, PLEASE put a cargo barrier up between your load and front seats!
Given that diesel is weighs 975 grams/litre and water is 1000 gm/litre, the weight you have behind your front seat is in excess of 265kg - not including the jerry cans you have it in. Plus your tools/spares and fridge you are looking at 350+ kilos.

Imagine that lot flying foward in a prang! The emergency services will be pulling the steering column out of your spine - from the back.

Why? Have a look at the brackets that hold the 2 halves of your seat together...... You reckon they'll stop the weight? The brackets (and you) will fold up in any significant crash. Remember, that 350 kg has a huge effect when you try and stop it at any speed.

Years ago, a mate had a simple 1.2kg fire extinguisher become airbourne in an minor accident. Not a big impact speed, but the exinguisher made it's way from it's home on the cargo barrier in a wagon (he made the common mistake of mounting it forward of the barrier) and it punched a nice hole in the windscreen on it's way out the car. It came to rest 35 metres down the road! The Ambo's were astounded that it didnt actually hit anyone. The passengers side headrest looked pretty secondhand apparently too. Luckily there were no passengers.

I'm as ingenious as the next bloke, but these days I think as much about what my actions could cause, as much as I do about doing the job. I guess I dont what some bugger to sue me!

Cheers, Matt
AnswerID: 317388

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:05

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:05
Matt

Thanks for your concern.

Yes I intend to have a steel brace welded up and bolted to the floor to safeguard forward movement of the fuel supply when it is in use. A cargo barrier is not practical in this application as the dog needs access to the rear of the vehicle via the front seats. The fire extinguisher lies loose on the floor behind the drivers seat

The rear framework is bolted down to the body and the fridge will have a restrainer. All other gear carried is stored in an enclosed, secured space.

The fuel will only be carried from the closest sales point to the area of travel. The main concern with the weight factor is when cresting a dune and finding free space in front of the vehicle. It is not likely that the containers will be full when driving on busy roads. The chances of having to brake in earnest are low but one has to be ever watchful of that chance.

FollowupID: 583779

Follow Up By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:27

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:27
Willem.
Sounds like you have done your homework. That's what I was concerned about.
Dunno about you, but my head would make a lousy bonnet emblem in a prang!

Good luck with it.

Cheers, Matt
FollowupID: 583922

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:03

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:03
Willem, Your misses must be shaking her head!!! I bet she cant wait to see tomorrows configuration!! LOL!! Michael
AnswerID: 317389

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:35

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:35
Michael

Having made stotage changes to around 20 4x4's over the years with a multitude of configurations, nothing phases Judith. It's my hobby and she is OK with that, as long as I leave her 4x4 alone!!!....lol

FollowupID: 583785

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:28

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:28
Willem,

Thats good - got the weight in a better place now and you're less likely to be sniffing diesel all night. I enjoyed your joke about the Bungy Cords to hold the jerries :-)

I was guessing you'd have a 2 piece lid to cover it all - the rear piece glued and screwed solid, and the front piece would be hinged over the jerry cans, so you'd get easy access. And I guess you have the whole kipandkaboodle attached to the floor.

In the past I've used 100x100 steel mesh to cover the jerries. You can see through it, attach straps to it and get your hand through it without having to open it.

The other thing I've used is a simple syphon hose system to access the water without getting out the jerries. Here is a photo:
Image Could Not Be Found I use drinking water hose, and it goes into the bottom of the jerry; the 1/2 inch angle is incorporated into the cap. And the cap also has a small breather. At the end of the hose has one of those 1/2 inch valves to turn it on or off, and the water just syphons out. If you want, I'll send you one already made up, email me.

Have fun tomorrow

phil
AnswerID: 317394

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:09

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:09
Gday Phil,
I carry a few (10 to Innamincka) square 25 litre containers for water and i got sick of removing them from the trailer when just overnighting so i bought a caravan sink pump,,, about $23, pushed a piece of clear PVC on the suction barb, turned a hole in a spare screw lid and assembled the lid and pump. works great.. I find now i waste a lot less water and dont have to operate those stupid taps on the bottom or tip it up to get water out and spill more that i use... Michael
FollowupID: 583735

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:58

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:58
Gday Michael,
I had a couple of those pumps too, as it turns out, I gave them to Willem :-))))
Mine used to be installed on the back door of the Prado, only problem I had was they would syphon through a bit on steep slopes, and I couldn't mount them much higher than the water. Traytop has an undertray tank and remote tap, so I had no need for the pumps.
FollowupID: 583750

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:02

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:02
Hey great idea! Looks good.. I found that when you get into your 2nd half centuryin life, those 25 litre containers start to get heavy, lifting them in and out.. A simple pump made for the Job!! Michael
FollowupID: 583752

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:25

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:25

Some yesses and some no's.

I still have the the two pumps you gave me. Thanks. They are no longer in use however. I use an electric shower pump ($20 from Jaycar) and it works a treat(have a spare one as well). Thanks for the offer of a siphon but I will not need one at this stage.

To put your mind at rest.....a ratched type restraining tie-down will be used to keep the jerries in place. Tie down hook points will be part of the cargo restraining frame(answer to MattH question above).

I have to make a hinged cover for access to all stored items which will also serve as the base for my bed. It will open sideways along the length of the vehicle(if you get my drift)

All of this is for one or two extreme trips I have in mind over the next 5 years( vehicle longetivity, my aches and pains, good health, and manageable fuel prices prevailing ). The majority of the time the jerries will be languishing in the shed and the water will travel in the trailer when on normal trips.

FollowupID: 583782

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:38

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:38
Willem,
When I used to use jerries I got some old truck inner tubes and cut sections that would slip over the cans. Not perfect because of the curve, but free and stopped the rattle noise and protected the cans from rubbing and minor bangs.

May help make your setup quieter especially when empty.

alastair
AnswerID: 317431

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:46

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:46
Willem

You are doing a great job and I am watching with interest as my Troopy needs to be reorganised.

How do you secure the MDF on the corners? Are you using glue and also angle iron for strength. A few close up pics of your corner joins would be appreciated.

Dick

AnswerID: 317490

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:12

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:12
Dick

I use 50mm steel angle brackets and Phillips Head woodscrews. Use as many as needed. The angle brackets have proved their worth over the years and once you have the storage compartments made and filled there is very little movement. If you enlarge the last photo in my original post at the top of this page you will see an angle bracket holding two pieces.

FollowupID: 583909