Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:05
GREENDOG !
Reading the post 60159 about the truckies weather they will protest or not,
well just to tell you what i heard on the U.H.F on wednesday night is that all border's will be bloked at midnight monday if not late sunday night letting no produce through to the markets.the talk at Yamba is when the word comes through they will just pull a B-DOUBLE Across the highway and that will be it,as i say it's only talk at the moment but it seem's to be pretty strong talk.cheer's GREENDOG
Reply By: EscapeArtists - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:11
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:11
Did you get passed year 9 ?
Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:14
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:14
Well did u,going on you your reply makes me think you failed yr8
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:51
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:51
Escapeartists was that really called for.Your, Grammar is poor, or are the kids loose on the puter.
Pete
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:52
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:52
Might be a good idea if you went out and milked the chooks....
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:03
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:03
MADFISHER
he cant
trussed his spell chequer two fined awl his mistakes! :-)))
Follow Up By: Member - Roger T (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:13
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:13
in reply to escapeartists comment, i was working on the sa railway 3 nights a week at 12 years of age and left school 2/3 of the way through year 8 (1st year high) but i understood Greendog. if you are haveing trouble.tuff.
Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:32
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:32
Don't worry guys,escapeartist has a problem,he just won't admitt he failed yr8,oh and i forgot to mention he's a rude tosser full of he's own crap
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:46
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:46
LMAO , just had an image in my head of the town idiot trying to milk chickens with a blank look on his face .... such a pity i cant draw :)
Boc
Follow Up By: EscapeArtists - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:17
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:17
sorry guys, that wasnt my post. I have auto log on enabled, but not anymore.
Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:20
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:20
Feel really sorry for those people who make their living from driving trucks but it is a harsh economic environment out there and businesses and families are going bankrupt all the time. Sadly many truckies choose the lifestyle over sound business and economic rationalism that they should basing their decisions on.
Trucking is part of the life of our country but at least 50% of road transport should not be on the roads but transported by rail or sea.
I hope they can do something to change the system but I have my doubts about their long term viability regardless of any protests.
Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:31
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:31
Yeah you got that right,i was listening to ABC Radio just last week on the way back from
Mildura and they being the Great southern Rail Cooperation have gone from 4 trains a week to 5 trains a week to
Darwin and keep in mind these trains are just over a kilometre long and when this interview went to air 3 truckin companys that week had pulled the pin in Adalaide.
Follow Up By: SteveL - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:46
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:46
I work for a transport / rail company and the owners say that the only rail route that pays it's way is East coast capitals to
Perth.
Even with current fuel costs it's more economic to ship freight by truck between the capital /regional cities of eastern Australia.
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:02
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:02
The most economic way of moving freight is steel wheel on steel rail.
The fact it is uneconomic is not because of the technology but how it is used or misused by state and federal governments and incredibly inefficient rail systems.
Trucks should be used for short hauls from rail heads to delivery points. Rail should be streamlined and made to be efficient.
Look how the rail systems work in Europe and Japan.
Follow Up By: SteveL - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:16
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:16
Europe has a
population of over 200 million people and still has an enormous amount of freight going by road.I know because I worked for a trucking company in Germany which specialised in frieght going to Southern France.
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:58
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:58
the rail system in this country is a joke
that's why trucks are used as much as they are
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:07
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:07
Exactly ! That is why we desperately need an effective interstate rail system so we do not have to have long haul trucks on our highways.
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:44
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:44
yep, agree - but will it happen?
not while they're more interested in their perks etc
major projects are a thing of the past. Could you see a Snowy Mts Scheme happenining nowadays?
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:36
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:36
We are going to have to make a decision sometime soon.
It is going to be a choice of personal tax cuts V major
infrastructure projects. ( i am going to get political here sorry )
We have had a period of enormous wealth that has been fed back to people as tax cuts, we then get to spend this money as we choose.
To my way of thinking this excess wealth would have been better invested in upgrading national
infrastructure like roads rail and electricity grids to carry alternative power from solar and geothermal fields in outback Australia. Like the Snowy Mts scheme only updated for the new century.
I know there are good and rational arguments both for and against this but in my humble opinion when you get wealth you are better to invest it than to spend it on one off items like imported goods.
Thus endeth the the world according to Doug rant ;-)
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:23
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 20:23
I do feel sorry for owner/drivers......Had one live in my street, I say had as he just moved the family out as the morgage, lease payments, fuel costs ect just got to high. team that with falling freight rates equals NO house for his family.
BUT blocking roads and bleep alot of people off.....will it help their cause????? Oh
well time will tell if it goes ahead.
Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:33
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:33
The reason you see so many b double letter boxes on the highway is they can't use rail because of their turnaround times, you would get your letters and parcels about 2 weeks to late using rail. Hate to see what the veges would look like.
A few years ago my old man had some machinary sent from
Brisbane to Brownsville, 2 rail cars. They went missing for 3 months and were found at
Longreach, OH WHAT A SYSTEM.
I can just imagine getting a special out of WA to Qld how rail could do it I haven't a clue.
Rail is the go, but until the infastructure is put in place trucking is the only alternative on the long haul routes.
Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:46
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:46
just go's to show rail can't compete with road freight door to door and thats were they loose out,it's just the fuel price's that are killin our every day hard worker
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:49
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:49
the other problem is that people cant wait to get stuff if it has to be ordered.
everything has to be overnight these days.
Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:08
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:08
The new laws now are going to make it hard for any thing to over nght as from the 1st of August. I think a driver has to have a 2hr break between 12am and 6am so i guess woolies vegies wont be as fresh as they say
hay
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:24
Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:24
GREENDOG
all this STUPID law will do is force more trucks onto the road during daylight hours.
cant wait for school holidays then :-((((
Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:00
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:00
Just to put a cat among the pidgeons...... IMHO the only way that rail transport will get up and going and do what people expect is for all governments to get out of the game. Transport of goods (and people for that matter) - whatever they are is best handled by the private sector. The trucking industry has clearly shown that. Now that road cost have been driven so high it is especially the time to start selling off the state rail systems.
Reckon old Lindsay Fox could make the system work better than any state government - one decision-maker and no bloody partisan politics.
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:10
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:10
Patrol22,
The more trucks they take off the road the less stop areas will be around. Look at the New England Hwy, when the bulk of trucks started using the Pacific Hwy the roadhouses started to close no parking bays are maintained & I doubt any more will be built, So those of us who like to travel won't have the convenience of 24/7 hot food or showers like we do now.Take tucks off the Hwy's it affects a lot of people and towns,Check the towns going
broke because of Hwy bypasses.
Cheers Dave...
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:00
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:00
You may be right in regards to highway rest areas but the evidence down this way with regard to highways bypassing towns is the exact opposite. In the past handful of years Goulburn and Yass have both been bypassed ditto with
Gundagai - while some businesses have closed many more have opened and these towns are thriving. You only have to check the local real estate prices to see how much.
But I have not preference one way or the other for road transport versus rail...simply stating what I believe the future will look like. I could well be wrong the diminishing oil supplies IMHO will sound the death knell of large road rigs. Just can envision
battery operated trucks.....but then again Collins Class submarines are
battery operated for long periods while submerged so the same setup could be build into trucks.......but that multi-million $$$$ prices tag for the batteries might make a few truckies apoplectic.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 16:39
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 16:39
While we will pay through the nose for it their is no immediate shortage of diesel. CNG and cobalt(hope that is right) can be made into diesel. And we have 100 years supply of this if we do not give it all away.
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:59
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:59
From my very limited knowledge cobalt doesn't occur naturally but can be found in lost of other things - including plants. I think that nice buley/purpley tinge you get around the edge of a flame in the campfire is actually caused by the combustion of the cobalt in the firewood......hence the colour cobalt blue. Don't have any idea if'n you can harvest enough to use it in lieu of diesel though. Have heard about the CNG being converted to
synthetic diesel but would like to read more before forming an opinion on this.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:01
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:01
My understanding is they use the cobalt and cng to make diesel. Read it on this
forum somewhere.
Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:45
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:45
Nup. Cobalt might be used in a conversion process as a catalyst to change the hydrocarbons in the CNG into something that could be burnt in a diesel engine...
But Cobalt is not being burnt/consumed in the engine or in the process of making the diesel like juice.
All sorts of catalysts are used in the petroleum refining process as it is and Cobalt is not really that different.
Andrew.
Reply By: brushmarx - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:18
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:18
I sympathise with the truckies, but fail to see how blocking roads will help long term. All it will do is generate anger with other road users.
Why not blockade driveways or business headquarters of the fuel companies, rip off big businesses, and politicians.
Screw around with the people directly responsible for the drama and the only ones that can do anything for you.
I am in the building industry, and we are getting hit with proposed fuel levies which average $80 for a house load of bricks or roof tiles. Both from a company that I won't name (but rhymes with Boral), and you can bet you baggy butts that the money won't be going to the truckies.
This same unnamed company pushed the roofing prices up a few years ago to try and stop all the contractors going to
Sydney after the big storms. Our prices went up $1200 for a house, but the guys working as roofing contractors only received $300.
The whole levy system could be misused as profiteering.
Sure truckies, be angry, blockade to your hearts content in the right
places, and I'll support you, but screw over normal road users (who are also suffering high costs) with blockages, and you lose my respect and support.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:02
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:02
BRUSHMARX
the stoppage is just going to be a park up, which means trucks will do just that,park up. i have'nt heard any driver (i am one myself) talk about a blockaid.hope this clears that up.
Follow Up By: brushmarx - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:27
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:27
I hope you are right Mark G, but it was on Brissie radio this morning that truckies were going to park a B double across the highway around Yamba.
A park up in the right
places would be OK, but highway blockages would be another matter.
Cheers, and good luck with the protest.
Reply By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:11
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:11
Brisbane is looking like they plan to gridlock traffic in the CBD especially in the Parliament end of town.
I am due to give evidence to a parliamentary enquiry first thing on Tuesday morning I already need to leave home at 6 am to get there at 9am :-(
I hope they only blockade for one day.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:14
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:14
I hope they don't expect to get a
beer at the Vic Hotel LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:39
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:39
I had to do some work in Brisvagas this morning. Half asleep I drove down Edward Street smack bang into a wall of police and fire engines !!!
I prefer to use coffee as a wake up in the mornings :-)
Reply By: T-Ribby - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:11
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:11
The trucks are stopping? I couldn't even get the bar stewards to slow down when I was broken down and dangerously exposed on the edge of the Bruce Highway couple of weeks back. The wash from their rigs no more than a metre away just about knocked me and my disabled van into a muddy ditch. Sorry, no sympathy coming from me.
T.R.