About Membership Feedback

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:13
ThreadID: 60181 Views:3257 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
I was at Dalhousie Springs 3 week ago and when I got home noticed a rash over my body,I believe I picked up a bug from the wter. Has any one else had a similar experience and what is the remedy to get rid of the rash.

Reply By: qubert - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:44

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:44
How much time betwen drinking the water and getting home was there........
AnswerID: 317401

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:59

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 21:59
g'day,

could be something to do with mosquito larvae mate. you'll be right.

eat some fresh garlic, sip some gin, no worries.
AnswerID: 317402

Reply By: qubert - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:06

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:06
HMMM ...........ARE YOU DRUNK
AnswerID: 317403

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:15

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:15
"About Membership Feedback"

What the hell has a rash over your body got to do with the above???

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 317408

Follow Up By: qubert - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:24

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:24
OH ... JUST WORRIED ABOUT THE GARLIC AND GIN THING.
FollowupID: 583740

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:53

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:53
qubert

I wasn't having a dig at you mate...lol...i was actually asking fireflash what a rash over his body had to do with his post heading.

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 583749

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:05

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:05
Perhaps it is a benefit of membership?
FollowupID: 583754

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:21

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:21
Or a prerequisit :-)
FollowupID: 583793

Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:59

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:59
FF

I think a bug from the water is the least likely cause of your rash. Without a description of your rash it could be anything from secondary syphilis to tinea versicolor or pityriasis rosea.

A photo might help.

AnswerID: 317418

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:40

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:40
pityriasis rosea. is what i picked up , they dont know what causes it - and no real cure - you just let it run its coarse - it kind of looks like ringworm but just a hell of a lot more than a few spots ....

i work in food industry and its always VERY humid - untill i worked in this enviroment - i had never got this rash before .... maybe its linked ???

went away after a few week - but if in doubt you should consult a doctor

here is a link from wicapedia - about it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pityriasis_rosea

Boc

FollowupID: 583797

Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 07:21

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 07:21
Hi fireflash,
I was there two weeks ago, didnt get any skin complaints, (five in party).
But my daughter picked up an ear infection after swimming in the springs.
Not a pleasant trip across the desert for her.

When we are swimming in the springs that is after all bore water and a lot of animals drink it and their excrement would wash into it as well.

Having said that there were a hell of a lot of people camping there.

William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 317427

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:44

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:44
If in doubt about some water you may want to swim in ..... you can take industrial ear plugs and use them when you swim - they prevent water getting into your ears ..... we used to use these when waterskiing in dodgey water such as the hawkesbury river

may look a little silly - but at the end of the day - you wont be the one in agony for the next week .....

Boc

FollowupID: 583798

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:05

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:05
I get chronic "Swimmers Ear" and have learnt the hard way to use Aqua Ear after every shower to dry them out properly.

FollowupID: 583875

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:08

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:08
Go seek medical advice. You won't get any on this forum.
AnswerID: 317435

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:20

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:20
The iDIOt strikes again!
FollowupID: 583792

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:24

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:24
DIO, you should change your screen name to DIKHED.
FollowupID: 583806

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:27

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:27
Take some of your own advice iDIOt!
YOU, sure as $hiit could do with some medical advice.

What a total tosser!!!!

FollowupID: 583807

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:33

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:33
As much as DIO may at times say foolish things he's probably right this time. You'd be far better getting a medical diagnosis about a rash from a doctor than from a 4wd forum who haven't even seen it yet somehow think they are qualified to recommend a cure ;-)
If you've had a rash for 3 weeks & are worried about it see a doctor.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 583821

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:49

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:49
Crackles, you're right you know. We probably didn't see any value in what DIO posted because he is normally full of chit. lol.

DIO may have reached a milestone... lol
FollowupID: 583822

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:30

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:30
Fireflash, I got a rash some years ago caused by constantly showering in bore water that had (so we found out later) an organic contaminant. Harmless when drunk but caused a wicked irritation. My sweetheart bought some cream from the chemist and it fixed it up within a couple of weeks. We also had a UV filtration unit put on to solve the bug issue. I can't remember the name of the cream but it started with Q. There is also Pinetarsol. We used it on our kids as a soap alternative. Its an anti-itch soap alternative.
AnswerID: 317448

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:52

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:52
Louie

I don't like that Pinetarsol stuff you suggest. Sounds too much like taking an enema.....................................................LOL
FollowupID: 583811

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:08

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:08
I've not used it on myself (Pinetarsol) but it worked on the kids. But the other stuff worked good.

I've never had an enema so I'm not sure what they sound like. lol.
FollowupID: 583813

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:44

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:44
Might pay to repost your question with a different heading as there has been lots of people who have had the same problem and it might get their attention, also try a search.
Ive heard people blaming it on high sulfur content in the water, mites and mozzies but wouldn really know what causes it.
Try asking DIO.... he reckons he knows everything.

AnswerID: 317452

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:42

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:42
This is what caused my skin problem. Was it ground water or your own water? In our case it was solved (in the water supply) by rapid overpumping and shock-treating the bore with a high concentration of chlorine solution.

Iron bacteria are bacteria that get their energy to live and multiply by oxidizing dissolved iron (or occasionally manganese and aluminium). The resulting ferric oxide is insoluble, and appears as a brown slime that will stain plumbing and clothing or utensils washed with the water carrying it, and may cause internal corrosion of pipes and fixtures. It can also cause skin irritation. They are known to grow and proliferate in water containing as low as 0.1mg/l of iron. At least 0.3 ppm of dissolved oxygen is needed to carry out oxidation. The growth of iron bacteria can also increase the chance of sulfur bacteria infestation.

Common effects - a reddish-brown color, stained laundry and poor tasting coffee, skin irritation, upset belly & the shytes. Iron bacteria are a natural part of the environment in most parts of the world. They combine dissolved iron or manganese with oxygen and use it to form rust-colored deposits.

I always carry some of this.
AnswerID: 317461

Follow Up By: deserter - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:05

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:05
That stuff is wickedly expensive at my local water filter place. Can I ask where you get it and what you pay please.
FollowupID: 583826

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:10

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 12:10
Buy online here. Don't use it often - if water taken from creek or bore.

$27.50 + postage
FollowupID: 583827

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:41

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:41
I think our friend fireflash has been reading the About Membership Page and has posted his question about the rash in the Feedback Box at the bottom of the page.
The system obviously post's such Feedback questions and comments to the Forum unless the box is ticked to only send to the Exploroz team.

I think its just a point of the poor bloke not knowing how the site is set up or works, a simple mistake on his behalf.
No need to hang him out because the heading and the topic don't make sense.

AnswerID: 317486

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:42

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:42
I think our friend fireflash has been reading the About Membership Page and has posted his question about the rash in the Feedback Box at the bottom of the page.
The system obviously post's such Feedback questions and comments to the Forum unless the box is ticked to only send to the Exploroz team.

I think its just a point of the poor bloke not knowing how the site is set up or works, a simple mistake on his behalf.
No need to hang him out because the heading and the topic don't make sense.

AnswerID: 317488

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:44

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 14:44
Bugga that server issue :-(
I really didn't post twice on purpose :-(

FollowupID: 583840

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:58

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:58
G'day John
After reading your reply l think you may be right..if so l apologise to fireflash for my reply....but it still annoys me the way people ask a question on here , get plenty of sometimes good replies , and don't ever seem to bother to follow up with a thanks or any bloody thing else, and a lot of times you never even hear from them again....My rant over...lol..

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 583940

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:23

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:23
Yer I heard that from a few ppl that had swimmed at Dalhousie

AnswerID: 317973