Finally leaving........

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:05
ThreadID: 60183 Views:2689 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Well after a 1 day delay we are finally almost ready to head off.

HF radio is finally working and behaving itself, looks as though the issue was being caused by the control cable.

Car and trailer were packed this afternoon, tanks and jerrys filled. The woman at the servo must have thought I was crazy, diesel, LPG and unleaded.

Just have the fridge to pack tonight and the routes to upload to the PDA for running Ozi and we are done.

I did decide on the Coleman dual fuel stove, couldnt resist at the price I got it from at BCF. Picked up a tin of the coleman fuel as well as the unleaded so I have both just in case.

They definitely dont make cask wine bladders like they used to. Purchased a few casks 2 days ago, and just with the running around on the blacktop at home, they decided to leak. Problem solved with a number of 5 litre water jerrys....LOL

Will attempt to post an update of the trip when we get into Alice in about 12 days time.

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:09

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:09
G'day Richard

I wish you and your family a great and safe trip, you lucky buggers...lol..

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 317404

Reply By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:14

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:14
Yeah my thoughts are with Richard.YOU LUCKY BUGGA All the best mate take care and have a great time.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 317407

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:19

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 22:19
orright mate,

now. is She happy?

yep? have a ripper (and get a small funnel for the coleman if you don't have one already eh?)

get out there and good on you Richard.
AnswerID: 317409

Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:12

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:12
Yeah you could say she is happy, although looks as though she is coming down with a cold. Such is life.

Have a small funnel for the coleman, so all should be good.

FollowupID: 583756

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:03

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:03
Have a great trip Richard, if you find yourself near us (upper end of Yorke Peninsula, SA), please don't be a stranger..... send me a MM if/when you get close ro us and I'll give you my details.

AnswerID: 317414

Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:13

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:13

Probably not on this one, as once we hit the centre we are heading north. There will however come a time we pass through your way and will definitely look you up when we do.

FollowupID: 583759