what distance from cairns to top
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:22
qubert
Hello we are going to the cape in october. And i would like to know if anyone has an idea of the distance from
cairns to the top so i can calculate fuel. thanks
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:29
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:29
Buy a Herma Road Atlas. All distances marked.Too easy
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:31
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:31
Hema
Distance about 910km
Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:52
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:52
Willem, straight to the point again. keep it up.
Follow Up By: Moose - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 14:06
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 14:06
G'day Willem
I find it absolutely amazing some of the questions posted. One would think that a reasonably adventurous trip would entail a little more detailed planning that what appears to have occurred in this instance. My first thought on reading the question was same as you - look at a map. Perhaps in this age of technology such basics as maps are no longer used!
Cheers from the Moose
Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:29
Reply By: Member -Signman - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:52
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:52
There are a few variations on tracks- direct or the " scenic' route..
My Hema guide shows 1039km from
Cairns to
The Tip- but dunna which route- I guess the shortest ??
Reply By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:15
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:15
You have your info but I can't help telling you the real distance.
Series 2 landrover in 1975 about 110000miles and my bum is still getting over it.
Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 22:26
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 22:26
110 000
miles? Did you drive around in circles for 6 months or are Landrover speedos not very accurate?
Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 06:53
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 06:53
Mate it was just a guess I might have exaggerated by 15 or 20
miles definitely no more. Speedo didn't work and brakes were an optional extra, even had different diameter tyres front and back but she did get us there.
Only made a joke of it cause the post had been answered with the correct info, then again my info would definitely be correct give or take that 20
miles. My recovery winch consisted of a roll of #8 fencing wire and a set of wire strainers so
well prepared all round.
Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:11
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:11
110 000
miles is 176 000kms. That's like driving around Aust 7 times. I assumed you'd added too many zeros to your mileage figure.
My response was purely meant as humour and not a dig at you.
Graeme
Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:42
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 09:42
No worries Graeme I could never add up.
I didn't take it as a dig at all but I can tell you driving an old series 2 landy up and back did feel like 7 times around Australia the world or any other big place.
Have a good one
Reply By: Member - Netnut (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:46
Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:46
Hello Qubert,
Try Google Maps and its search options. First, select
Cairns as your default location and then use the Get Directions link and conduct the search. It comes up with 1019 km to
Bamaga. Add approximately another 35 (and 100,000 corrugations) to The Top.
I did the trip in a late model TD Hilux in 2006 and I bought fuel in
Cairns,
Cooktown,
Coen and Bramwell
Junction on the way north. No need to stress about supply; only the price !
At sensible speeds, even doing the Old Telegraph Track and its
creek crossings, expect your fuel use to be moderate. My fuel use was around 10l/100km.
Try searching the Trek information on this web site and you'll get an idea of fuel usage for your vehicle.
Enjoy the Cape experience.
Netnut
PS: If you drive too slowly, your vehicle will drop down into the corrrrrrrugations and it will take much longer and cost more to get to
Bamaga. LOL
Reply By: Angler - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:20
Reply By: Cape York Connections - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 06:54
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 06:54
Its about 1000ks but if you trying to work out fuel cost remember that the tyres are at a lower pressure.
On what way you go via the otl on prevailing winds. etc etc.
I calculate on my diesel 60 series 15lt per 100.
all the best