Submitted: Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:02
Gary n Kerry
Has anyone been into
cactus beach? I have heard the road in is suitable for 2WD and caravans, I have a 23 ' van and was wondering if I could get in there OK.
thanks
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:16
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:16
Been a few years since I was there, but I reckon it will be no worries getting a 2wd / van to the
camp grounds. From memory, the grounds themselves might be a bit tight for such a large van but I reckon you'll get in somewhere. Don't forget the Bushmans, aeroguard and anything else - those damn flies just about ate me.
Reply By: wendys - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:29
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:29
Been in there a couple of times - road ok for conventional rigs not going too fast. You may need to back into a "site" - they are clearings in the low scrub. That said, we had no trouble getting medium sized rig in and out. Unique place -
well worth a visit.
Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:07
Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:07
Its a great place for a swim ----- until you see the memorial
cairns.
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:46
Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:46
Should be right, as others have said though, backing into a spot might be a bit tight.
What a great spot! Don't forget your surfboard, one of the best
places in Oz and a really interesting history of surfing there. Was nearly bought by a big surf company I believe (
Billabong or the like), but now owned by a real surf enthusiast who keeps it as it is mainly for dedicated surfers.
Do the walk around the headland, just great scenery.
Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:04
Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:04
Garry & Kerry, what I think Bob of Cactus is saying is that Cactus has a reputation of being home to serious White Pointer sharks - so swim, surf if you want but be aware!
All the best, RayJen
Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:05
Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:05
sorry, i meant Bob of Kaos!
Follow Up By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:49
Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 13:49
Its OK- I am Cactus
Reply By: Gary n Kerry - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:14
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 18:14