The Cost of our Pastime

Submitted: Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 23:24
ThreadID: 60268 Views:3748 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
I kept a fuel log for our recent trip from Perth to Melbourne up to Broken Hill then Innamincka for the Gathering, back down thru the Flinders then to Port Lincoln, then up to Ceduna and home to Perth.

9500kms

$3700 just for the fuel (diesel).

Now that will certainly make me think very carefully about long trips. What a killer.

Someone suggested having Gatherings in each State instead of a National one. I think we'll be forced into that situation.

I know it's not the same but $3700 would buy two return airtickets and a lot of hotel time somewhere.

Now where's that Lotto ticket ??

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 23:33

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 23:33
Struth mate, my ol' MQ would have used about 1900 ltrs ULP to cover that mileage.

Give or take a few ltrs, I'm just wondering if there is any real benefit in deisel over petrol these days.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 317792

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 23:42

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 23:42
Yep, Lionel, you've got to wonder. On LCOOL someone posted the fuel consumption figures for their PETROL LC200 and boy did it make a few diesel owners drop their lips.

I was towing my full height van but I just checked my figures and I averaged 20 litres per 100ks.

Not great. But I guess if you want those ponies to work you have to feed them.

FollowupID: 584135

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 02:07

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 02:07
GFB and Lionel,

Just did a trip up to Coober Pedy then the Anne Beadell, through to Pilbara, Exmouth, then coast to Albany, Esperance and home... Total 11,255k's

Driving Petrol / LPG Mitsubishi Auto with oversize tyres and towing an overweight Jayco. Van had 250ltrs of water on board and 60ltrs of fuel. (never got to run top gear)

Total fuel cost was $3245.00 that is also including the $435.00 of ULP purchased at Ilkurlka, to get us through to Laverton and also having to us ULP instead of LPG at both Meekatharra and Tom Price due to damaged LPG pumps.

I done the maths 2 yrs ago and sold our Diesel to go back to duel fuel, this was based on dearer services etc also, I thought I made a good choice at the time, now I know I did.

This was on a trip where I had probably the lowest possibly use of LPG..
FollowupID: 584152

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 02:10

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 02:10
Sorry GB and Lionel, mind u Gone F Bush may be a betta nickname LOL
FollowupID: 584153

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 10:21

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 10:21
G'day GB and Blaze, I am interested GB in the direct comparison to air fares and I guess you are thinking that when you get to the other end, you don't do anything. Sit, prop on the beach as there isn't the allowance to do much after the air fares. Don't forget to add in your hotel accommodation cost for the period too. It is a lot more than just a fuel for air fares argument but I am sure you are aware of that.

GB a friend had the petrol 200 as a work car to give it up and will be driving the 76 wagon soon. I guess there were other decisions in all of that.

The 200 diesel apparently, isn't really any more economical than the 4.2 100 series when I hear from owners who are travelling with friends in almost identical configured vans.

Blaze, GB, may have Gone for Bush but it would mean a change of number plates.

GB, have just done the fuel figures including the desert at 19.1. Some has been at over 100-105kph too
FollowupID: 584174

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:25

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:25
Gday John,

I sure wouldn't do the plane trip way, unless it was to just have a look at a small part of the country, in a small time frame. I said to a mate the other day, if I was to want to do say the GRR again, now I would prob fly to Broome and rent a Britz Yota.. Havent done the figures but it must be close and if your on restricted time, it would have to be the way.

I averaged about 23ltrs per ton on our trip, with the slow part being on the desert (and it was rough) speed was around the 25 to 30k mark. Even though it was slow going because your on and off the throttle it still burnt about the same. Blacktop was around 100kph for a fair amount of the time and over 3,000k's at around 110kph. so at 23ltrs per100 it is a higher usage with petrol / LPG but I now talk in how many K's to the dollar not how many K's to the litre and I beat the diesels easily on the combined fuels. Even went close with just ULP. But of course some people just love the flare of their nostrils when they fire up their rice burners... LOL
FollowupID: 584188

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:08

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:08
Blimey, Just did some quick figures and the same trip would cost me $2300 @ $2 per litre. I carry 310l plus a full tank when I leave a major city.
AnswerID: 317796

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:12

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:12
It's towing the van that does the damage.

Without the van my Cruiser consumes just about exactly half that figure.

FollowupID: 584139

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:29

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 00:29
Hi Gone Bush, wasn't it you who had a tail wind going accross the Nullarbor, that would have helped a little. LOL

Thanks for the figures, I shuddered when I saw your figures as we are headed out that way in a few weeks but not towing so can relax, I' ve also noticed the cost of diesel over here hasn't come down since the price of crude has dropped.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 317798

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 01:06

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 01:06
Just did a trip.......a distance of 5081 K's....used about 1164 litres of diesel at a cost of $2344.92.

Av.........4.3(23/100k) towing a 2500kg 22ft full van.

So I'm not far behind you....lol
AnswerID: 317801

Reply By: lizard - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 05:31

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 05:31
Yep - I get 22 l/100km in our GU Ute towing Van (all up over 5 tonnes) on my last two trips to Kimberley & back .... oh for my 4.5 litre petrol GU wagon again (get to pass those road trains) it used to get 25 l/100 km pulling same van !
AnswerID: 317804

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 06:44

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 06:44
Gone Bush
Look out old mate I'm on the attack again now, .....lol
Last year when I moved over to Captain Bligh's state of incompetance I was towing a 20ft van, I left Southern Cross with 360 Lts of Diesel, I got to Pt Augusta and still had a couple of teaspoons left....2000Klm , / 2000 X 4 = 8000 kLM, X todays price 1.80 Cpl would equate to $2592.00 , what the hell were you doing ???? lead footum.....hole in tank.??? maybe evaporation... . or maybe even some type of person suckum some out for his use when you were gawkin' at bloody tourist attractions,
Ave a good one today mate .

AnswerID: 317806

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 10:44

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 10:44
G'day Doug,

I heard that you had a crush on Bligh. Is that true? You ol' pirate.

The fuel consumption/price killer was the return trip west over the Nullarbor. We were punching a WA Cold Front from Ceduna to home. I contacted the Weather Office at Eucla and the wind got up to 80kph on the day we drove thru. Combine that with my speed of 80kph and I had a closing speed of 160kph on my van.

That produced a fuel consumption of 30 litres per 100ks.

And that made me stop at Caiguna for fuel at $2.28 per litre. Ouch !!

FollowupID: 584180

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 08:51

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 08:51
I have just completed a trip to the Flinders Ranges via the Darling River ,Menindee & Broken Hill.
Returned home via Renmark, Mildura & westernNSW.
I covered 5200 k's & average consumption was 11.09lt per 100k(towing a off road camper).Diesel average cost was $1.99 a lt.Dearest fuel was in Wilcannia.
Outback temperatures were certainly colder this year & it is good to be back in the warmer climate again.
Vince
AnswerID: 317812

Reply By: sfletch - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:08

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:08
Just getting back to that Petrol v Diesel again,went past the local servo this morning and Diesel was 31 cents dearer,it obviously adds up for you guys on these long trips.
AnswerID: 317829

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:29

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:29
Gone Bush

Whilst self funded retires and working families(as our Prime Minister calls them) have to budget for these sort of journeys, spare a though for the pensioners who also aspire to travel this great land. We are all going through a stage of great financial adjustment.

AnswerID: 317836

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:48

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 11:48
That's right Willem.

I guess it's easy for us to think about going to a Gathering in QLD or Cape LeGrand but finding the means in our pockets is a whole new challenge.

FollowupID: 584192

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 15:11

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 15:11
Hi GB,

I didn't keep a record as such (I didn't want to know hehehe) but I did work out at a couple of fills, that I was running 22.5lt/100km so I would have had a more expensive trip over the same roads if I followed you and I would rather be pulling your van with your rig than mine LOL!!! (You can have the kids for a stint too if you want hehehehe).

I knew something was wrong with my truck before I left....now I know something is wrong, I just have to find what it is. In past trips even flat to the boards, I would only chew through 20lt/100km MAX!!!.

Thanks for making the effort to come over I enjoyed the time we spent together and the conversations we had.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 317889

Follow Up By: CLC50 (QLD ) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:58

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:58
This might interest some of you my MQ 3.3 Turbo diesel Weight 3.75 Tonne
We my Fuel Cost from 1-1-2008 to now
Travelled 7050 Kms
Used 1159.15 Litres of Diesel
Travelled 6.083 Kms per Litre
Average cost Fuel $1.47
Cost average to travel 100Km = $ 24.20
Average fuel used per 100 Km =16.44 Litres
Total fuel Cost $1706.04 for 7050Kms
Hi Trevor sorry I missed gathering it sounds like you all had a great time , but the doctor had other ideas I had a heart scare .
I won .LOL old age is a S@#$%^&.
FollowupID: 584294

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:03

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:03
Hi Col,

I was looking for you out there and only today thought of sending you a MM but didn't due to time restraints. Now I don't have to. I told you to put your face on before looking in the mirror each morning didn't I, that'll do it to even a young man's heart hehehe. Good to hear you won this round but not so good to hear you were in the ring in the first place.

At 219c/lt out at Innaminka you would have quickly upped the average on your fuel costings had you made it out there.

Catch up with you at a more local gathering one day soon I hope.

Stay safe and best regards,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 584345