GU chassis cracks

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 16:34
ThreadID: 60282 Views:2581 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
I know there has been a fair bit already on this forum on the spring mounts cracking on Patrol GUs, esp on poor Roachie's wagon.
I have just discovered I might have one appearing on my driver's side rear spring mount (about 3mm long crack at present, if it is one, hope it's not). Does anyone know of a place in Perth who is experienced at inspecting and remedying this problem? (and I don't mean a New Toyota dealer :-)
Am about to head north in a couple of weeks, and need to sort this out real soon.
Gerry

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:04

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:04
Gerry, I'm sorry if you do have a problem. I see you use Polyaires. For what it's worth, some have long warned against polyaires on Patrols (without upgrading springs etc) e.g. Post 16291. These arguements make sense to me so I have kept away from Polyaires. Anyway, good luck with it. cheers JD
AnswerID: 317907

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:05

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:05
It is not just the polyairs, just fitting heavy duty springs will cause it eventually too.
Basically the more shock/load you transmit to the spring tower the sooner it will fail.
Rare to see it happen to one with standard springs and only shopping trolley use.
AnswerID: 317923

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:12

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:12
Thats no good Gerry , I'd return the car to standard and tack the crack before it progresses.

The only chassis cracks I have ever seen and documented on un- modified cars was on the 80 series years ago.
AnswerID: 317925

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:31

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:31
Yeh, Robin, understand what your're saying. Interestingly, I had a fabulous run out of Polyairs and HD springs on the old Mav; never gave a moment's trouble in 250,000, so reckoned that the GU, with almost identical chassis would take them well.
The GU is pretty-well standard apart from the Polyairs, and they are really only to restore standard height when loaded. I have slightly heavier springs in the front to restore the height after fitting the battery, winch and bar, but standard springs are in the back. And I never tow anything, but do load it up pretty well.
The crack (?) is in the lip of the upper spring mount socket, and only appears to be about 3mm, so I am hoping that a weld tack will stop it in its tracks. Hoping that just dropping the spring out will get access for a welder and all will be well, but I really need to find someone in Perth who has already done this work before so I can be sure it's properly done.
Pity I didn't spot this weeks ago as it's now getting close to trip time!
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 584300

Reply By: Member - Happy Gutz (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:16

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:16
Mate here has repaired at least 6 GU chassis cracks, all the same place, most for the same company. He reckons the GU chassis are just too light for what they are doing with them. The steel is 3mm thick compared with the other company which use 5mm. He told me to keep my GQ, he's had no problem with that model. Interesting
AnswerID: 317994

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:23

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:23
Yeh, my old Mav (aka GQ) was the most reliable vehicle I've owned. Should have hung onto it!
Nissan must have reduced the guage of the steel in the chassis with the GU.
Dunno what I'll get next time (Toyota won't fit in the undercroft garage, and I'm not contemplating moving house!)
Gerry
FollowupID: 584388

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:37

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:37
Is this an across the board thing with GU's or is it just certain year models that the spring mounts crack?
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 318075

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:41

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:41
Not sure, Dave.
Mine's a Series I, mfr'd in Dec 99. If Nissan reckon it's an overloading thing, then they probably haven't changed the design since then. Interesting that it seems to be the rhs that cracks. I thought I'd balanced my loading towards the left to counter the sub-tank.
Gerry
FollowupID: 584479

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:49

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:49
Dave, they didn't change much.Mine an '03 ute that had a plate side to side about 10mm x 200mm wide to keep the tops pushed down and even then it bowed upwards in the middle. Whatever you can fit in.
FollowupID: 584671