Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:32
patrolmann
Hi guys,
My everyday driver is a 96 gq patrol 2.8 td. She has only done 233,000 ks and runs
well still. I am doing more and more off road trips and my concern is one day she will let me down or just need major repairs. I have looked at a 2005 patrol ( $28000) change over and am thinking is this the way to go. Or keep old faithful and cross my fingers. Any thoughts on what you would do would be welcome
Reply By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:00
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:00
Mate it is a problem a lot of us face, so here goes.
I opted to keep my old troopy cause over the years I had looked after the old dear (1989 vintage). The only problems I have had are niggley ones like things that pass their use by date. The old girl has never let me down and always got me home, sometimes limping though, only time I got really sh#itty was at the Plamer River when I had to cut a piece out of one of my double pluggers to use as a shockie bush. GRRRRR.
You have a good offroad vehicle in the patrol (settle down cruiser owners) with low klms. The only things that will bring you undone are if you haven't serviced it regularly or replaced parts that need replacing.
If it hasn't been done your alternator will probably need bearings and your
water pump/ radiator/ belts/ hoses may need replacing.
Nissan gearboxes/diffs are great (down and get behind owner you fellow cruiser owners) just watch for cracking in the chassis around the rear spring towers.
This may help, but in the end it is a toss up of the dollars for a new vehicle + accessories or a smick up of your old dear (I can give you the name of a good plastic surgeon)
Reply By: Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:59
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:59
I still use a 1985 60 series and I wont be changing.
I had the some thought of updating but couldn't find a good enough reason.
She has only done about 275,000 k
Some say just run in.
Reply By: patrolmann - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:18
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:18
Thanks guys, I know she had the head and injectors and radiator done at 185,000 and i have had brakes and clutch done since i have had it She does need a lift kit, dual batteries,
snorkel and long range tanks if i keep her ??? maybe $4000.00 to spend
does that change the thoughts ?
Think I might take her in and get her checked over my a mechanic and see what the report comes back with.
Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:24
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:24
HI Patrolmann,
I would keep what you got - you know its history and what has been done to it.
Mine is 8 years older than yours - so what you already have is "new" to me.
If you have $28,000 cash spare to upgrade I would invest that at 8% interest and get over $40week interest to use for extra fuel or maintenance. I do not know what Ks you can expect from the 2.8 td but I suspect its got a lot of life left in yet. The depreciation curve is flattening out after about 10 years so the most economical years of use lie ahead.
Just my opinion but if its been a
well cared for and serviced vehicle there is no way I would sell it with those K's on it.
GPM
Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:20
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:20
Hi Patrolman,
Problem I see is the new Patrol may no more reliable then yours. Unless the newie is a 4.2. As you say it is relatively low ks and I do not think the 2.8s had much in the way of electronics which is a plus.
Good luck which ever way you go Pete
Reply By: Nutta - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:43
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:43
Its always the way with cars, my 03 patrols got 92k on it now, paid off in 5 months.
I know it'll be great for a few more years yet but little things will let me down like elec windows or alternator or radiator etc, all that small stuff that starts to sh! t you after awhile.
Or update to a newie at 4 or 500 a month (with trade) and no dramas for another 5 years, bliss.
At the moment i'm getting to be in the same boat as you, but if i can afford an update i'll be jumping on it because i cant stand all those small annoying things that are going to start letting me down in the next few years (experience), or having the time to drop it in and get it fixed when it does.
The best thing i ever did was buy a new truck, no hassles for years!
If finances are under control update it, but if not keep the oldie and hope you dont have to much drama, good luck either way.
Cheers, Wayne
Follow Up By: westozal - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:25
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:25
Just a thought in that the 2.8 is a bit hard to source parts for from my friends experience. They tend to have head problems from what i've been told so bearing in mind these issues maybe it could be a good idea to update. The 2.8 also had a lightweight gearbox which does not handle more power
well.
You may take my thoughts with a pinch of salt and i'm happy to be contradicted.
Another source of information could be the Patrol
forum, heaps of info on there.
www.patrol4x4.com
Regards Alan.
P.S I'm not knocking Patrols as I have one myself.
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:42
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:42
G'day Allan
The box is from the 300ZX, yes its lighter than the 4.2 one, BUT still a good strong box.
Heads go if not looked after, but as he said it was done only about 30000 or so kays ago so thats all good.
Patrolman, as you said get a health check done on the ol' girl and take it from there
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:42
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:42
G'day Patrolman, I cant see any problem arising that will take
anything like $28k to cure. You have beaten the depreciation demon, the highest cost item with newer rigs, you know the car,
I would stick with it. ....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: patrolmann - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:36
Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 13:36
well thanks guys,
i have taken all your thoughts on board and have booked her in for a complete health check.
When i get the results i will decide if i should spend the $3500.00 on LRT dual batt.
snorkel and lift kit for her or to update her
Thanks again guys