Blue Mud Bay decision by High Court

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:02
ThreadID: 60332 Views:4292 Replies:15 FollowUps:49
From ABC News:

The Federal Indigenous Affairs Minister says it is too early to say if the Federal Government will pay compensation for anyone who is adversely affected by this morning's High Court Decision on Blue Mud Bay.

The High Court has upheld a decision awarding traditional owners exclusive access rights to more than 80 per cent of tidal waters in the Northern Territory.

Indigenous Affairs Minister Jenny Macklin says the Federal Government will work with its Northern Territory counterpart, the fishing industry and Indigenous people to achieve a positive outcome for all parties.

She has urged all groups to work together to ensure that sustainable fishing arrangements can continue in the Northern Territory.

But Ms Macklin says it does not look as though compensation will become an issue.'
As much as I support Indigenous Peope in their strive for equality and rightsI think that the High Court has set a dangerous precedent here. Whilst everybody seems upbeat about the commercial ramifications to the fishing industry the amateur fishing people are left to pnder what the hell is going to happen next. More permits? and at what cost?

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:29

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:29
Thanks for the update Willem.
What a croc of chit!!
This may just go a long way to destoying the tourist market for the top end!
There are already good fishing reg's in place. What will this achieve?
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 318202

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:32

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:32
Yet another wedge driven between people who are, essentially, all Australians.

IMHO it does not do much to encourage reconciliation.

It will surely encourage resentment.

Perplexed.

AnswerID: 318203

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:50

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:50
Totally agree. It's not just this issue that does that, sadly.
Too much sun and bulldust in a lot of eyes I rekkon.
FollowupID: 584623

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:18

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:18
Too true.

I the blackfellas of Blue Mud Bay want to feel ownership over the area and the NT coast thats great.

If the locals are prepared to act as custodians or rangers that is even better......How good for aboriginal moral and tourism would it be to roll up at a place to go fishing and have a couple of local blokes come up for a chat (who have some authority over the place), give some local advice and maybe even tell a yarn or two?

Compared to....handing over ownership to a group of people because of their race? And saying if your white you need a permit to come on our land.
One huge leap backwards for reconciliation I reckon.

And before anyone says its sour grapes.....I can usually get access to most Blackfella land through mates, so it wont reall affect me.
I just think its a bad move.

FollowupID: 584711

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:52

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:52
I wonder why a land claim on Canberra hasn't been successful ?
AnswerID: 318209

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:54

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:54
Hi Willem

Please dont think that my reply to your Thread is by any means
Malicious, I have often wondered if any other Nation had Discovered
and settled in Australia, instead of the British, and over the years
the whole of the Continent was settled by those particular people,
what would be the out come today, Would they have treated the
Original Inhabitants in a more Humane way, or treated them worse,
it seems that in some things, we are learning by our Mistakes of the
past, and acknowledging where we have gone wrong, but how far
do we as a Nation have to go, My family was lucky enough to have
been involved with that great lady who went by the name of
Kath Walker, the Aboriginal Poet,who lived on North Stradbroke
Island, I was only a Kid at the time, and we used to spend a great deal of time as her Guests, and she used to say we dont need your Charity we only need your Understanding.

Daza
AnswerID: 318210

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:11
Gday Willem,
I thought we were supposed to be making things equal...not drawing an even bigger line down the middle?
It Ill do more damage than good I reckon.

AnswerID: 318211

Reply By: qubert - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:18

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:18
my thoughts are that 'aboriginal' land should be recognised , but still be able to be shared for everyone to enjoy, 'cause thats what its for -enjoying
AnswerID: 318216

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:22
Hiya Guys

The white man wants to lay clay to everything he set's foot on and more,Why shouldn't the ORIGINAL inhabitants hav a right to it ????...

Noticed the Maori hav been awarded a bleep load of forest back after being screwed at the The Treaty of Waitangi...Oh and hav a guess by who !

AnswerID: 318220

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:36

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:36
Didnt the Maori's eat the TRUE 1st inhabitents of NZ until extinct?
FollowupID: 584640

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:41

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:41
Well i suppose you have a point, perhaps lets flatten every building in oz, jump on a plane or boat and leave them too it????????
Can anyone tell me, per person, do the black fella's own more land than white's? I think they might?

FollowupID: 584643

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:41

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:41
Lol Mate behave yourself or i'll send a Posse around your Joint !

FollowupID: 584644

Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:50
Good luck to them all.
Perhaps we should give the whole lot back and just leave?
Have neighbours who had friends move overseas (i wont say where as will start a big debate) and they say they are much happier than they were with the way it is now in Australia. They neighbours are now selling their property and also shifting over seas.
I think people loose their conection with reality when they are removed from the basics in life, where they never do it hard, they have a guaranteed income, are not exposed to a punch in the nose if they get too stupid. they become so embraced in their own self importance and the addiction of power. Plus they are "the untouchables" living away from the people they affect with their decisions that do so much damageand.
I have met some great aboriginals and recon they are a great asset.
Obviously their are some bad examples too, but plenty of white fella's also no good.
I remember being in NZ and seeing how well the whites and the Maori got on every where, but that was when land rights was just hotting up and even the Maori that i spoke to were against it as it would benifit few and they said it was driving a wedge between them and the whites.
So where is the motivation? Well i wonder who will own the companies that will do the deals with the locals to run this land?
mmmmmmmmm In effect, giving out the land rigts is like giving it to themselfs
Simple realy.
GN
AnswerID: 318224

Reply By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:00

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:00
I got totally bleep off when people came on my land to go fishing. If they asked first and cleaned up after themselves I had no problem, if they just walked on and left a mess I got upset.

I see no problem with the owners of the land having rights to say who comes on and how they behave while they are there.

Would you mind if I camped in your backyard without asking first?
AnswerID: 318229

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:42

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:42
Fair call Doug, but what if you threw a 1000 times the crap on to your property than the visitors did?
How would you expect them to treat "your county",after that?

FollowupID: 584665

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:43

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:43
Just make sure you leave your camp fees in the letter box

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 584667

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:56

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:56
D200Dug

Maybe yours was a management problem you couldn't remedy

This backyard thing is a typical answer one can expect from a Land Council. I received such a letter once over something that was a management problem on their side.

We are going back to the feudal system of the Middle Ages by stealth perpetrated by purists in the law who may have little understanding of human relations and interaction.

Read this and see for yourself Site Link
FollowupID: 584674

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:42

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:42
If it is my land than I have the right to do with it as I please.

This is a complex problem and there is no simple answer the best solution I have heard came from a man who had spend decades working with western desert Aboriginals.

His solution was " We need to give them 5 to 6 generations of care and assistance to learn to fit in to society, but we also need to allow them to keep what is good of their culture'

FollowupID: 584715

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:22

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:22
What happened to riparian rights around rivers/watercourses?
FollowupID: 584745

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:09

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:09
>> If it is my land than I have the right to do with it as I please.

thats funny!
FollowupID: 584854

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 08:48

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 08:48
Why shouldn't the original inhabitants have title to and control of lands that they have occupied, in some cases more than 20,000 yrs up to 40,000+ yrs.
White settlement occurred just over 200 yrs ago and their philosophy was 'claim it for the Crown'. Perhaps what we are seeing now is common sense and justice prevailing and simply restoring rights to those who can prove 'ownership'. Get over it as I'm sure there will still be plenty of fishing locations available for those inclined that way.
AnswerID: 318257

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:33

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:33
Climb back under a rock you iDIOt.
FollowupID: 584701

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:47

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:47
Sorry I should have explained myself......
Its brainless comments like yours that refer back to the days of captain cook that continually stand in the way of reconciliation and equality for ALL AUSTRALIANS, black, white and pink & frilly ( in your case).
As long as twats keep saying its their's or our's because someone recognises them for being there first nothing will improve.
Australian is for Australians and anyone born here is indigenous!
And as long as fu#$wit polititians keep make rules to divide black and white the gap will get even bigger.
If you feel so fu#$en strong about being an intruder, why dont you just FU#K off, or get off your lazy arse and come and live and work in a place where these stupid bloody rules and comments affect you and you might see the blatent racism it generates.

eat $hit and die you wanker...

Sorry everyone else!
FollowupID: 584707

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:05

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:05
Now don't beat around the bush Hairy.

Say what you really think !!

LMAO

FollowupID: 584719

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:12

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:12
Gone Bush, ya beat me by **That much**................

C'mon Hairy, say what ya _really_ think!!!

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 584722

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:22

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:22
Hahahaha.....

Dont temp me I will!!!!
I was holding back ya know.

FollowupID: 584726

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:43

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:43
lol I was going to comment much earlier when Doi put the comment up but could not find the right words.

But what Hairy said :)

FollowupID: 584766

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:37

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:37
I think some of the comments here could possibly be summed up as "I want to be able to go wherever I want whenever I want and no one is going to tell me what to do"

I personally find this a very selfish and narrow point of view, I expect this kind of thinking from a child up to about the age of 5 but after that I would expect that they would learn that other people have rights and emotions as well and we need to respect them.

We may or may not be happy with the decision it was never going to please everyone I think the important thing is to recognise that a decision has been made and agreed to so we learn to live with it.

My bet is the sky will not fall just yet.
AnswerID: 318272

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:08

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:08
D200Dug,

I'll listen to your argument once you can show me even ONE square metre of soil where Aborigines must apply for a Pass because they are NOT white.

Go on. Find that piece of ground.

FollowupID: 584721

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:20

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:20
Doug,
Picture this...
Im not sure where you come from so Ill just use sufers paradise for an example...
From what I understand has been granted would be the same as this.

Would you agree with...
Every freehold property along the foreshore of Surfers is now allowed to extend their fence line out to the low tide mark. Any one wanting to walk along the beach must apply to the owners for a permit????

Correct me if Im wrong but I reckon doing this at surfers would be a small scale of what they are doing here???

FollowupID: 584723

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:20

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:20
It is not a matter of black or white it is a matter of ownership of land.

There are many places where Australians need to buy a pass to access the areas owned by others.

If Aboriginals from the Western Desert came to visit the people of Blue Mud Bay they would have to ask permission from the owners to walk on their land or take their fish.

This is how the system works, If you visit someone's property you ask permission before you enter it.

I would have thought that would be a simple courtesy everyone would understand?
FollowupID: 584724

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:25

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:25
Ownership of land at surfers extends to the boundaries of that land as given by the title from the government by law, to the fence line.

Ownership of the land at Blue Mud Bay is as is given on the title of from the government by law, to the low water mark.

The law is made and is there to be obeyed.

it is quite simple.
FollowupID: 584728

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:28

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:28
Found that piece of ground yet Dug?

FollowupID: 584729

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:35

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:35
Yes. as explained.

FollowupID: 584730

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:39

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:39
Doug,
First of all, your comment about people from the desert going to the coast will have to ask permission is crap.
The system does not work like this! Maybe on paper but not in the real world. Most of the people who have been given land at the "Golden mile" (Alice Springs) are not native title holders but just Aboriginal (prick relations at best). Its too hard to prove and doesnt get followed up.
Anyone (aboriginal) will be able to access this land without permits because they know some...it happens every where else ,so what makes you think this will be any different?

As for The surfers example...The government has just "extended" the land boundrys at Blue Mud Bay, just like they could do at Surfers. No different I think.
The beach is for Australians...ALL AUSTRALIANS
I reckon if it was you "back yard" you might think differently.
FollowupID: 584732

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:14

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:14
It was my back yard that the government took on your behalf.

The government decided they needed my backyard more than I did so they just wrote words on some paper and took it. They were going to build a railway but then they decided not to so the land is now empty and covered in weeds.

I lost about $100,000 of land in the 1970's to the Joh government, Don Lane told me "we all need to make sacrifices for the good of Queensland" this was before he went to to jail for taking bribes.

I know what it is like to have people come and take your land from you.

If any of you have had land you have owned and that belonged to your family taken from you, I am happy to listen to you.

You know how it feels, the rest of you are just going on like spoilt kids who have had a sweet taken from you after you took it from someone else.

Grow up and get over it.

FollowupID: 584743

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:46

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:46
Hahahaha.....
You explain to me then, what government hand outs has done for aboriginal people and how it helps reconciliation?
The truth of the matter is , it Doesnt!
A lot of bad $hit has happened all over the world for thousands of years and that doesnt make it right.
But
Drawing a line down the middle of the country and having one rule for aboriginals and one for everyone else wont make it better.
Maybe you need to take a little of your own advice and "get over it"...move on and look forward, stop the poor bugger me thing and try to resolve some issuses slowly rather than going backwards.

FollowupID: 584748

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:55

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:55
Great idea I could not agree with you more on this one.

I think we abolish private ownership and adopt the tradition methods of Australia were ownership of everything is communal.

True communism.

When you run for parliament let me know.

I think there will be a LOT of people who object to the extinguishing of all private ownership and of all government benefits.

Either you have it one way where people can own property and restrict entry or the opposite where no one owns property and we can go where we like.

Either the government gives benefits to those who are in need or they do not. I can think of a few multi million dollar industries that still survive on government handouts and do bugga all with them.
FollowupID: 584750

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:12

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:12
Now we are getting somewhere.......

Hairy for PM!!!

I would be quite happy to go back and live the way you suggest...sounds great to me.

But I must add I was never given the land I know have...I had to pay for it.

I would stop the dole and all other welfare payments unless life threatening.

And definately stop all hand outs to the big companies and politicians ( including myself as PM)

FollowupID: 584756

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:19

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:19
Yep no dole or government handouts to anyone.

But you will be expected to feed them from what you have earned when they drop over to live in your house, not that it will be your house because you will no longer own it it will be community property and anyone will be able to live there whenever they want and help themselves to any food and booze stocks without asking.
FollowupID: 584760

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:29

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:29
Wow......Your loosing me know!
I know what your on about, but I aint going there....getting way too far of topic and hitting another level.

FollowupID: 584762

Reply By: tobster - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:27

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:27
This decision matters little, the entire situation in the territory has been well out of control for a long time. One example i will make here.
If you Contact the northern land council today and ask for a permit to traverse from gove(nhullunbuy) to jabiru, going through or not many of the towns ramingining, openelli, maningra etc (basically to travel across Norther territories northern coast) it is impossible, no such permit exists, you CANNOT TRAVERSE THE NORTHERN COAST !!!
It is a distance of some 500klms of northern territory coastline, that as a non indiginous white Australian you will NEVER be allowed to visit, this is a FACT AT PRESENT! You cannot even go to Ramingining to see art unless you have organised it with the art centre and have paid accomodation prior to permit application & absolutely no camping !!! FACT
All other communities work the basically the same, and definately if you just wish to travel through this region to see our beautiful Australia it is a %100 percent NO answer ! Even if you pose as an art dealer your only access granted is by chartered flight ! no vehicular access !!

I am a proud Australia, im not racist, I am of ethnic origin, I am willing to pay for the right to see this coast and i have been refused access, my taxes have been used to grade the roads up there that im not allowed to use, I wont go into the benefits/non benefits these people have but to say the roads are only for the indigenous inhabitants of the region! Sorry no entry for me, WTF !!

Im not asking for any of you here to believe me out right, try the system for yourselves !! when knocked back, complain!!, inform the media & our govenment representatives ! let regular Australians know the real situation.

There is a communist state well and alive within our own country, and we have to correct this situation and bring equality back for each and every Australian, Indigenous or not.
AnswerID: 318276

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:39

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:39
I can name many properties in Australia where you would not be allowed to drive through because the owners did not want you on their land.

What is the difference ?

I have a fence round my property to keep people out and laws of trespass protect my rights to say who can and who cannot come onto my property.
FollowupID: 584733

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:43

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:43
Oh Just by the way

If you ask nicely the people up there will welcome you into their land and be very hospitable while you are there.

It is just a matter of being polite and following their customs, no great problem.
FollowupID: 584734

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:50

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 11:50
Doug,
You say you can name properties...Ok
Name me couple of properties where the roads, houses, school, power and water supply, shop, medical and any other infrastructure are paid for and maintained by tax payers, are fenced off and canot be entered without a permit (if lucky enough to obtain one) and is not Aboriginal Land........

Im interested to here of them
FollowupID: 584735

Follow Up By: tobster - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:02

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:02
Doug,
Yes i have asked nicely and have been granted permission to other areas in the past, however !

Is this not the entire premiss of the permit system, Not to randomly enter ones land(disuading randoms from doing so imposing penalties), to ask permission, to even contribute to its maintenace and upkeep etc

In addition if granted access via a local land owner/ inhabitant, and then subsequently found on indegenous land without correct permits approved by the northern land council you can instantly have your vehicle impounded and hefty fines imposed.
I want a permit so i dont take that risk , is that to much to ask !
FollowupID: 584737

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:02

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:02
As explained where people own the land they have the rights to say who does and who does not enter that land.

I would also say The immigration detention centers built by the Howard government have most of the features you name and you cannot access them without a permit, that is for sure!
FollowupID: 584738

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:03

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:03
A lot of remote defence facilities like Pine Gap have similar facilities and you do not want to be found there without a permit either.
FollowupID: 584739

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:09

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:09
Doug,
I take it that you cant find any ?
Detention centres Government properties and even national parks are Government owned and Government maintained.
Not privately owned and regulated, and government maintained.
If you see a detetion centre as a valid argument I reckon you should give up and just say NO I dont think there are any???
FollowupID: 584741

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:17

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:17
The degree of ignorance astounds me.

"Name me couple of properties where the roads, houses, school, power and water supply, shop, medical and any other infrastructure are paid for and maintained by tax payers, are fenced off and canot be entered without a permit"

That was your question I named 2 properties where a permit is required and you are still not happy.

stop acting like a 5 year old kid.
grow up and get over it.
FollowupID: 584744

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:27

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:27
So......
You cant answer with any degree of inteligence so you resort to insults!
Maybe I should have added " PRIVATE" property or a owned by a group other than the Government.
You know exactly what Im asking...Like the question asked by Gone bush before...you havent got a sensible answer, your know backing yourself into a corner so you resort to insults.
If Im wrong explain it to me....Ill get over it and appologise.
If you are, at least show the same desency instead of acting like the 5 year old you are accusing me of being.
FollowupID: 584746

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:36

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:36
I answered the question asked you then chose to change the question.

Again the behavior of a child.

There are many mine sites in Australia were there is significant infrastructure supported by government benefits that require permission to enter. There are many properties where schools exist and shops exist where you require permission to enter, they get government assistance to create power and other infrastructure.

How would you like to change your question this time?
FollowupID: 584747

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:59

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:59
Duck and weave all you like
But

If I may add, your holiness.......

To my knowledge,

Mine companies no not stop people entering because of their race,
They are not built and maintained with tax payers money , unless of course they are part owned by the government or have some sort of invested interest in them. (hardley similar to an indigenous community)
They are not pieces of land handed over to a select group as freehold land but a lease which they pat huge royalties for the use of ( usually to aboriginal people around here) and are cleaned up and handed back after the lease runs out.

If I come across as such a child I am sorry...Maybe you can educate me by explaining a few of your points a little more simply rather than the reply of a ploitician.
FollowupID: 584752

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:13

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:13
Duck and weave ?

Sorry but I don't quite understand you on that one.

You ask a question I answer it to the best of my ability and then you change it to another question that I answer then you change that to another question yet again and you say I am ducking and weaving?

As you want a simple non political answer that you can understand.

I will put it this way.

The grown up have sat in a big building and made a rule.

Like it or not you have to obey that rule.

this is what we call "The Law" if you do not obey "The Law" then the police man will take you away.

When you are more grown up perhaps you will understand.

FollowupID: 584757

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:18

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:18
Stop going back to the "changing my question thing"
Im sure I have fixed that minor hicup...
Anyway what is this...Bloody question time?
May I only ask one question and not elaberate on it!

Try answering it.... Im sure you can see what Im asking?
FollowupID: 584759

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:22

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:22
Ok no problem I understand you are having difficulties with this concept. I will say it again.

As you want a simple non political answer that you can understand.

The grown up have sat in a big building and made a rule.

Like it or not you have to obey that rule.

this is what we call "The Law" if you do not obey "The Law" then the police man will take you away.

When you are more grown up perhaps you will understand.

FollowupID: 584761

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:29

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:29
Dug you're missing the point with your silly examples.

EVERYBODY has to apply for a permit to enter a detention centre.

The requirement for a permit is NOT based on race or ethnicity.

It IS with Aboriginal land.

Now that is rascist

You STILL have not produced that square metre of soil I asked for earlier.

Try harder or concede that it does not exist.

FollowupID: 584763

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:33

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:33
Well done Hairy, Your on the money.
You get my vote.
GN
FollowupID: 584825

Reply By: Kroozer - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:56

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:56
Whinge, Whinge, F@cken Whinge. Life must be pretty sad to worry about pissy little things like that. Remember back in the days when the Aboriginals werent even allowed to come into town, well i guess thats how you feel now. bleep en put tall the negative and racist bull bleep behind you and think about the real facts instead of the brain dead excuses you use. Aboriginal people have lived here for bloody 40,000 years and in the last 200 there world has been tipped upside down and turned inside out. They need time to adapt to these changes and it could take another fifty years but it will happen. Lets just do play our part in living together and reconciling, and let the rest unfold to a better Australia. Everyone should know that in the past we have had it way too easy, now they are have started making a stand for themselves to gain proper recognition.

And no i dont believe in not being allowed on certain property, unless it is of strong cultural significance. But i bet if you were found on a pastoral property up north here, i dont believe the station owner would be too easy on you. Look at El Questro by there rules you need a permit to travel from the Wyndham end of the Gibb River Road to the Pentecost River, and also need to pay camping fees if you wanna camp along there. How full of sh*t is that. The government maintains that road yet they cash in on it.
AnswerID: 318289

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:38

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:38
" put tall the negative and racist bull bleep behind you and think about the real facts instead of the brain dead excuses you use"

So this isnt Australia? We arent all equal?
Fine by me.
Lets bring back bounties.
FollowupID: 584860

Reply By: tobster - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:08

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:08
There is a massive gap between what is law and what is actually occuring, I see no difference if you took the gold coast shire council (whatever its called) an imposed a supposed permit system there, reality being that no other Australians can enter because we are not goldcoastians or(traverse through) sounds as if you would probably enjoy this Doug ! even though the facilites have been paid by all Australians.

Perhaps we should call Arnhem, Australia 2 they can have their council, govenment, immigration system, twenty foot high walls and machine gun sentries. Oh I forgot this is already nearly the case, there is an invisible fence running around Arnhem a pristine part of australia that blocks me out because of my race, even if it doesnt state this in black and white, this is the case !!
AnswerID: 318294

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:28

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:28
Guys
Lots of passion in this but if the bad language (and implied bad language) does not stop now I will be forced to remove the offending posts.
I am sorry but If I have to remove one I will have to remove all to be fair.

I am getting complaints from other readers.

Technically I don't have to justify or explain, but this is as fair as I can be.

so be good!!

Kerry W
Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

AnswerID: 318403

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:56

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:56
Sorry readers if any of my thoughts offended you, but i find a few of the users on here slightly racist. They cant see things as being fair if it isnt all in there favour. Its plain simple, as The Aboriginal population are the true owners of this country regardless of the laws that are in place. They were here first so lets just give them recognition and get on with life. Most aboriginal people arent after the land to stop people from accessing it (if there is no cultural significance). They just want to be recognised as belonging to a certain place and be able to say with pride that thats where they are from. How would you like your house taken from you and then be thrown into an alien world. So come on guys and girls, lets keep this site racist and sledging free, and try keep the disagreements away from the forum, we are all here to help one another out. It is by far the best forum in the world, and easily the best website on the net so lets keep it all friendly. Maybe there should be no more postings of threads that could resolve in racist comments or ethnic differences. Lets keep it all Happy Days, so we can all come on here and smile and have a laugh and help a fellow out. Especially on subjecst such as these where it dont matter what you think, either way it wont change the way the government thinks. Keep Exploroz fair dinkum.
FollowupID: 584881

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 17:05

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 17:05
>I am getting complaints from other readers.

You could tell them to stop reading the thread.

If I go to see a film at the cinema and find it offensive I walk out - I do not go back to see it a second time and subsequently complain about the bits I didn't like.

FollowupID: 584975